We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hani rice field terrace is nice, but it's too long way to reach”
Review of Hani Terrace

Hani Terrace
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hani rice field terrace is nice, but it's too long way to reach”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our company tour was four-days. 2nd and 3rd days were assigned to see the terrace. On and return travel time was 5H each. Most of all our guys said the landscape there was nice but not enough to spend total 10H travel. Actually I agree one and the other may have different opinion to the view of the place even though myself were impressed. I see someone feel so boling view here. The time was correct, each terrace had water whose reflection of sunshine generate more beautiful scene than the periods of not having water. What I can say is actually more than half of my tour party did not think it had value to come here spending several days. They thought Yunnan province has more approrpiate places to visit than here. I disagree this idea, but i was minority. Our tour included 19 Chinese and 3 Japanese.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Zhubaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Photographer's Dream!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Yuanyang Rice Terraces are a Hani ethnic minority’s masterpiece of ingenuity. In unique shapes and sizes with more than thousand years of history and 1000 and 2000 metres above sea level, they are a mosiac of colourful and breathtaking landscape of natural beauty. A UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage site, the 3 Must-See scenic areas are Duoyishu at sunrise, Bada in the day and Laohuzui (the Tiger Mouth) at sunset. For a vintage point of the magnificent view of shimmering gold, silver, black, brown and green, a 2-hour lead time and a camera tripod are important!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleenlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

As I was planning my family trip, I was debating whether the rice terraces of Yuanyuang were worth a visit. We were really glad that we did not give this heavenly place a miss. As our private tour guide Henry (of yunnanxanadutours.com) told us, in the winter months the rice terraces were a sight to behold as the terraces were filled up with water and shimmered like mirrors im the sunlight. We stayed a Jacky's guesthouse located in a small village admist the terraces. A must for photographers and scenery lovers. Jacky and his mum and helpers cooked us a great dinner. The children were able to run around outside the guesthouse in the morning.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Speis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“viiews and more views”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

amazing views, great trekking, charming villages. If you're lucky you may see spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the terraced rice fields

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gazzkatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing yuanyang trip”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Sunrise and terraces seen from Jacky's Guesthouse were so fantastic. But the weather was so changeable. Sometimes was too foggy to see the scenery.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank franc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hani Terrace also viewed

Yuanyang County, Yunnan
Yuanyang County, Yunnan
 
Yuanyang County, Yunnan
Yuanyang County, Yunnan
 

Been to Hani Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing