We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Good Amenities, Convenient Location and Reasonable Rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Express Hotel Chengdu
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Shuangliu County
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Good Amenities, Convenient Location and Reasonable Rate”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a very good airport hotel. My husband and I had an unplanned stay here on our way home from Tibet due to VISA travel issues with Chinese immigration at Chengdu Airport. We could not leave on our original flight, and we realized that we needed to stay the night to resolve our Visa problem. The airport information desk suggested two hotels, the 5-star Chengdu Airport Hotel and the 4-star Chengdu Airport Express hotel. We choose the latter and were very pleased with our decision. Here’s what we like about the hotel:

• Great Staff: The hotel staff was upbeat, professional and caring. We needed a fax from our Tibet travel agent to resolve our Visa problem and the hotel provided us with the number. When we found out that the fax number on the hotel’s website was different from the one given to us, the staff was very patient in ensuring us that the fax number given to us was indeed the correct one. When we had problems with the room wifi router, a young man from IT came to our room to help resolve the problem. When we had problems with the router again because I misunderstood the password, both the night manager and the young man from IT came to our room to ensure that the problem was solved. However, the English ability of the staff is limited though the manager can speak good English.

• Nice Range of Amenities:
o Free Hotel Shuttle to/from airport. From the airport, you need to ask the airport information desk to call the hotel for the shuttle. From the hotel, the shuttle leaves on the half hour and the hour.
o Free Ethernet and Wifi Internet. Each room comes equipped with one Ethernet cable. We inquired about wifi access, and the hotel provided us with a wireless router for our room so we could connect our various devices.
o Clean, quiet rooms with comfortable beds, nice bathrobes, fluffy towels (thicker than the ones at the more expensive hotel we stayed in Lhasa), nice slippers and a good range of toiletry products.
o Lobby Convenience Store. This little store was greatly appreciated as we arrived late and the hotel restaurant was closed. And the prices of the various items were very reasonable, similar to that of a regular outside convenience store.
o Good Chinese restaurant. After having a tasteless, fatty meal at the Lhasa airport, we made sure we had dinner at the lobby Chinese restaurant before heading back to the airport. The restaurant on the hotel’s first floor made some of the tastiest food we had on our trip and the potstickers (if you like chives/pork filling) were the best we have had anywhere.
o Free Breakfast. We did not have a chance to sample the breakfast buffet because we went to the airport early to ensure that we could rebook the last few seats on the return flight home.


• Reasonable Room Rate: The hotel rack rate for a standard room is only 458 RMB, about US$75 per night. This was very palatable for an unplanned incurred expense. I am sure that prebooking the hotel will yield substantial discount. When we checked out, we explained that we had rented a wifi router and also had an incoming fax as well as several incoming calls from our Tibet travel agent. However, the assistant manager told us those were all gratis and we only paid for the room.

• Convenient Location: the hotel is only 1 km away from Terminal 1 (International Terminal) and about 400 meters from the Long Distance Bus Terminal. We did take the bus to see the UNESCO World Heritage Dujiangyan Irrigation Project. Trip took about 1.5 hours and cost only 26 RMB each. We did take a taxi back and the journey took about 45 minutes and cost 280 RMB.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virtual_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had some problems getting the shuttle bus. If you come out of the arrival hall at terminal one gate one, turn left, there are some free paying phones there. Dial the number of the hotel.make sure you have the gate and terminal ready. The phone call Is free for only three minutes and it takes about a minute before you are put through. The bus will wait outside the gate. There are three zebra crossings and three roads . No signs where the shuttle bus will wait. The first road is for taxi. The second road has two lanes . Wait for the bus at the zebra crossing. Do not cross the second road. Our bus apparently circulated three times and we had to put in three calls before we found the bus( can take about 12-15 people).
The hotel is good with aircon that does not switch off in the middle of the night( quite common with China hotels). The shower has good strong water..beds are comfortable and we were not disturbed by the noise of traffic or planes. Breakfast is mainly chinese but with bread rolls and butter and some cakes. There is also a fried egg section and bacon. No wifi except in hotel lobby.
All in all a good stay. Will stay here again for transit. Airport bus to the airport runs half hourly. No problem with that.

Room Tip: Get the name of the hotel in chinese. Most people do not know Chengdu airport express.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Quick layover between flights, free shuttle (just ask at information desk and they will give them a ring to send the mini bus). 2 minute drive to the hotel. Swift check in, spotlessly clean incredibly quiet room. Full amenities including slippers and robe, good selection of toileteries and fluffy towels, everything a weary traveller needs! Also really nice selection of in-room teas and coffees to choose from, completely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineandlaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Free shuttle to/from airport or short walk through the car park.

Staff very helpful. Room nice and comfortable. Clean too and modern. Can hear the planes faintly outside but nothing that would keep you awake. Traffic is louder but not too loud.

Can't really fault it, so if need to stay near the hotel, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hotel is about 1 kilometer from the airport but was very quiet. Friendly [little English spoken}, comfortable rooms, small store for snacks, breakfast included, airport shuttle. Restaurant attached, no English menu but illustrated with large photos of the dishes. Booking on ctrip website saved about 1/3 off rack rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel is located less than 5 minutes drive from the terminals and have free shuttle bus service every 30 minutes. Very good service, when we we were first rebooked we rang the hotel to let them know that we needed a room. They immediately sent a bus to pick us of but when Air China took 2 hours to get our luggage the driver first waited for quite a while and later came by to pick us up. A room is quite cheap - we arrived at 11pm and left at 7.00 and payed Y360.

No breakfast provided and only wifi in the reception.

We found this hotel as it is the only one provided on the airport's homepage - accessible freely via the airports wifi (you need a Chinese phone no. to get access to ordinary internet - very annoying when delayed indefinitely due to thunder storm in Beijing).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortenbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shuangliu County
0.3 mi away
Chengdu Airport Hotel
Chengdu Airport Hotel
#34 of 2,706 in Chengdu
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chengdu Konggang First Class Hotel
Chengdu Konggang First Class Hot...
#47 of 179 in Shuangliu County
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chuan Gang International Hotel
Chuan Gang International Hotel
#74 of 179 in Shuangliu County
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Civil Aviation Julong Airport Hotel
Civil Aviation Julong Airport Ho...
#1,080 of 2,706 in Chengdu
14 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
Dorsett Grand Chengdu
#12 of 2,706 in Chengdu
326 reviews
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chengdu Gulou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Express Hotel Chengdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Express Hotel Chengdu

Property: Airport Express Hotel Chengdu
Address: 500m Before Airport Terminal Building, Shuangliu County, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Shuangliu County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Shuangliu County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Express Hotel Chengdu 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Airport Express Hotel Chengdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing