We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walker's dream holiday!”
Review of Diva Espana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Comares
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Diva Espana
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A walker's dream holiday!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We are just back from a week's stay in the beautiful Diva Espana. On our arrival, we were met at the Airport by Kathy, who drove us directly to our destination. Along the way she happily chatted, answering any questions we had. A very friendly, open and honest welcome.
Our flight from Glasgow was a late one, so the beauty of the surroundings and location was hidden from us until the next morning. As the room was so clean, we knew that we were in for a treat, but nothing prepared us for the outstanding accommodation. We were even more impressed to find out that the renovation work was completed by Linda! What a fantastic job!
Diva Espana is in the hills, and has the most wonderful views of the surrounding valley and mountains. Not happy to just relax and enjoy the sights, my partner and I ventured on walks up into the hills, or down onto the river bed, armed with the detailed, hand-drawn maps provided by the owners. What a treat!
I have to say that I have just returned from one of the most enjoyable, relaxing holidays that I have ever been on. It was our choice to go walking in the heat of the day, but it was wonderful to know that the gorgeous pool was waiting for us at the end! On the days that we did not walk, we spent hours sitting in the shaded hammock chairs, overlooking the view, planning our next outing.
We will definitely be back, not only to enjoy the warmth of the Spanish sun, but also the warmth of the hospitality that is shown by Linda and Kathy. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter. We were shown all of the rooms and they were all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldStar2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
124
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

As the sun rises over the hills and mountains of this Andalucian gem, you immediately feel the stress and strains of life fall away from your shoulders. All is well in paradise.
The heat of the climate is matched by the warmth and hospitality of Diva Espana's Linda and Kathy and their graceful, affectionate dog Spice.
This was our fourth visit in the last two years. We were not disapointed by the delectable, tasty evening meals from Kathy, who pours herself into creating multiple taste sensations for all the guests to savour, 'A good cook is like a sorceress who dispenses happiness' Elsa Schiaparelli.
The rock salt swimming pool reinvigorates the body, and the hot tub relaxes you, while gazing out at the panaramic views.
Linda's great sense of humour and quick wit ensures that that evryone is put at ease and relaxes during their stay.
We have already booked to return next year to this stunning home from home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have just got back from our third visit to Diva Espana, and we'll be back! Our first trip here was our honeymoon, so this will always be a special place for us, and deservedly so. Kathy, Linda and Spice are wonderful hosts. Whether you are travelling as a (female) couple, single woman or with friends or family, this is the perfect place. Diva Espana is beautifully located in the mountains, close to the picturesque village of Comares; there is plenty to do if you are so inclined but we find it is equally great to just relax! Linda and Kathy work really hard on the upkeep to keep it at a high standard- for example the pool area still looks new, and the rooms are extremely clean. We always get a great night sleep here as the rooms can be completely blacked out- in fact we have to set an alarm for the last breakfast sitting at 0930! The food here is great, and as there are a few rooms it is never overcrowded and always peaceful. Having had too many holidays of rushing around, this is the perfect antidote to any stresses and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laydeedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Just back from our fourth visit and already planning next year's holiday! If you want to relax and 'get away from it all', then this is the place to come. From the fantastic welcome and great hospitality, to the delicious home cooked food and very comfortable rooms, this really is the place to unwind and chill out.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi are footsteps away from your room, and there are plenty things to do around the area if you feel like venturing out. We had a massage whilst we were there which was great value for money and was excellent.
Cathy and Linda are great hosts (not forgetting Spice the gorgeous friendly dog) and really do make your stay 'home from home'.
Can't wait until next year.!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was the fourth visit for my friend and myself and the first for my mother-in-law and sister-in-law - we will all be back (I am planning to go back next year with a group of friends to celebrate a big birthday).

Kathy and Linda are just the best hosts ever and make you feel welcome from the minute you are picked up at the airport to the minute you are dropped back off. We go for a three night mini break to escape our hubbies and kids and find this is just the perfect place for doing this. The weather has always been glorious, the food gorgeous (I am the marketing manager of a 4 red star hotel with 3 rosettes for food so I know good food!) - and good food Kathy produces. The rooms are beautiful and spotless and exceptionally well maintained. The pool and jaccuzzi are just what you need and if you want a massage or manicure this can easily be arranged - we of course did!

Normally we don't leave Diva but this visit we managed a walk in the hills and a trip to the local village where we bought local almonds from the front room of one of the villagers, visited the calm and peace of the beautiful cemetry and rounded it off with a beer at the local hotel which is just a glory.

As ever three nights was not enough - but hey we left our beach towels and toiletries to be stored away for next year and are now planning our birthday trip.

One last thing - can't not mention my friend Spice the dog. Just the most gorgeous dog ever. Sat with me on my sunbed and took in a few rays.

Only came back on Monday and feel like it's now a lifetime away. Perfection is Diva - for all women!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186394NickyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Diva Espana is a delight in every way. The service provided by Kathy and Linda was faultless. Their open warmth, welcome and willingness to ensure that everyone has exactly what they need creates a perfect atmosphere to relax in and enjoy the beauty of the place. This includes stunning mountain views, walks, pool and jacuzzi. A space that is spotlessly clean and comfortable with exceptional food that leaves you looking forward to the next meal!! The communal sharing of which provides a time for great meetings with others. Definitely a place to return to with much to explore in the region or simply to lie back, recoup and absorbe the sun, wonderful air and nature's presence. Recommended without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Diva Espana has it all, the hosts Linda & Kathy have created an amazing place. We hired a car as we wanted a mixture of things this year. We took days out to explore El Chorro, El Torcal & The Alhambra Palace and in between relaxed around the pool with its stunning views, eat some amazing food and chilled out in the Jacuzzi under the stars at night. WOW! what more can we say, apart from 'we'll be back again next year, we just cannot get enough of the special place'.

Room Tip: Both double en-suite have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallybee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Comares hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel- Restaurante Molino de Los Abuelos
3.1 mi away
Casa Colina
Casa Colina
#1 of 9 in Comares
168 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Atalaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Andalouse
#6 of 9 in Comares
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Diva Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diva Espana

Property: Diva Espana
Address: Casa D39, La Loma de Masmullar, 29195 Comares, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Comares
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Comares
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing