We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Ours

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'Ours
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chippenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We decided to take refuge at the this hotel for my husband's cycling trip across the Pyrenees. It was raining heavily and we decided against camping. What a delight, the owners could speak English and so our needs were meet easily, the room was what it should be clean, good size with everything working as was the en-suite. We also decided to have full board and the food was good and plentiful, too plentiful for a non cyclist and they also served one of my favourite desserts beautifully roughly translated is floating island.A lovely stop for two soggy travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kempen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were 8 cyclists. And we had a great time.
The diner was very good. Regional products that taste excellent.
And the drinks including the Tinto Verano was superb!!!
We slept very well and with a hugh breakfast we cycled to Luz St. Saveur.
We like to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryenKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

very warm welcome - this hotel is run by a charming French couple who speak
excellent english.
They treated us like old friends - the tartiflette was unforgetable - we will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan8564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

Just about acceptable. Dinner was not good value - best to eat in village ( 3 mins walk from hotel). Church clock makes sure you are awake at 6.30.
However there are not many options the French side of the mountains - almost worth staying in Oloron St Marie - only 15 minutes further away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0tpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldelours, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de l'Ours, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Google Translation
L'hôtel, le restaurant et l'établissement en entier à changé de propriétaire le 5 décembre 2010. Le restaurant est désormais ouvert à tous le monde et pas uniquement aux pensionnaires de l'hôtel comme cela était le cas avant. Notre cuisinière aime mélanger tradition et innovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arette
13.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Etchemaite
8.1 mi away
Alysson Hotel
Alysson Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel des Eaux-Bonnes
Hotel des Eaux-Bonnes
#1 of 3 in Eaux-Bonnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hotel HG Apartamentos Isaba
8.4 mi away
Couett'hotel Oloron Sainte Marie
Couett'hotel Oloron Sainte Marie
#6 of 8 in Oloron-Sainte-Marie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Ayguelade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Ours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Ours

Property: Hotel de l'Ours
Address: 8 Place de l Eglise, 64570 Arette, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Arette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de l'Ours 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a central position in the village of Arette, close to the ski station of La Pierre St Martin and close to the famous Cols of the Tour de France, the hotel enjoys a quiet, friendly family atmosphere. The Hotel de l'Ours has accommodation to suit all 15 tastefully renovated rooms, secure accommodation for your skis an cycles. We are able to provide you with meals in the dining room or terrasse, enjoying views of both the garden and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Ours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing