We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best motels we've found”

Helensborough Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balclutha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Helensborough Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Balclutha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Clean, comfortable and ticking all the boxes. We travelled around New Zealand for 7 weeks and this is one of the best motels. Simple things: comfortable, spacious, good shower, good heating, lots of light, good kitchen facilities, etc.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great little motel in Balclutha. We stayed in a studio unit for a night which was clean and comfortable, it had a a small kitchen unit, comfortable bed. We stayed in unit 11 which is near the rear of the property so no road noise from the highway. Would recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATDAV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We've now stayed at the Helensborough Motor Inn twice this year and it's great. Very friendly and helpful hosts, clean, fast and easy wifi. The only reason I haven't given them 5 stars is that on our last stay we were put in a room where someone had smoked. When I asked for a different room they said, yes we know it's smokey. I wish they had thought of that before putting us in there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: nach hinten raus, nicht am Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ute51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag een kamer in het achterste deel van het complex; het verste weg van de SH1 waaraan dit complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gerrit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturliebhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Helensborough Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helensborough Motor Inn

Address: Main North Road, Balclutha, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Balclutha
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Balclutha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing