We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden green sanctuaty”

Hill View Camp Site
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Camp Site
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden green sanctuaty”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I've been sent here by a rendom trevaler I met at Mt. Aspiring and I thankfull for it. A wonderfull place just next to Nugget Point. The owener, Kevin, helped me a lot. Nice people, great location, free WiFi and only for 5$ a night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nir_ktr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

After a glorious day in exploring the region, we stumbled upon this place by sheer accident while trying to navigate to a DOC site. Kevin and Sue have a no frills campsite that can provide electricity to charge items, has a clean shower, and a minimal menu to order from if you don't feel like cooking yourself. Kevin gave us free cider, great conversation, and a warm welcome. A nice change from the pricey holiday parks, and overcrowded doc sites. IF you are exploring the Catlins, this should be your base from which to do so. Best bang for $5 pp of our whole South Island trip

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HartlenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collonges-sous-Saleve, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here after passing by on the way to view the penguins at Nugget Point, attracted by the very affordable price and free WIFI. We were not disappointed. Owners were very friendly, and even brought us lollies (sweets) after dinner! They offer food, and showers for a reasonable price, although we didn't need them. Lovely location next to the sheep in the rolling hills of the Catlins. Shame we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissK30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Greta place to stay in Catlins.Free WiFi,good site.We had power for another $5.oo.Great views and really nice friendly owners.The place was not far from the shops.The night we first pulled in there was one other caravan but within a couple of hours the place was packed.Great place for packpackers as well.
Julie and Brian Maple
Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

great place to stay clean bathrooms and free Wi-Fi and the owners are so nice they are now putting cabins on site and to top it all they are so cheap don't rob you like other camp grounds $5 a night WOW we will be back many thanks thanks Clair (UK)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed twice now, once in our own van and the second in the newly built cabin. Facilitys are clean and hosts are so friendly they really make you feel like they will do as much as they can to make you as happy as possible. Camping was $5pp and the new cabin $50 for us both. The cabin was super warm, had a great TV, Coffee and tea (and biscuits), there is free wifi throughout the camp also, you can order pizza for dinner and breakfast which is delivered to your van/tent/cabin at a really reasonable price. Its near to local attractions- kaka point, nuggets, seals and pengiuns, horse riding, a super place to base yourself. We will be staying there again later this year. Thank you!

Room Tip: Try out the new cabin its super comfy and warm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolAsneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just spent the night in our small campervan at Hill View campsite! What a find in the Catlins!! Really good location close to Roaring Bay to see the yellow eyed penguins at dawn/dusk. Major bonuses of the campsite= cheap price, FREE WIFI (fast), FREE DVDs to chose and watch in the van. Although we didn't eat here or use the showers, food is available and pictures look good! Showers I believe are $3 & reviews on Rankers say theyre nice & hot which is great!! Kevin couldn't have been more helpful & friendly & even burnt some DVDs onto a disk for us for the rainy nights in the campervan!!! Would not hesitate to recommend this campsite!! Also or those travellers looking for a bit more comfort Hill view are in the process of building a 'cottage' to sleep up to 4 people with tv, heater etc...campsite caters for everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJayne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balclutha
3.6 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
4.2 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
50 reviews
11.6 mi away
Rosebank Lodge Motor Hotel
Rosebank Lodge Motor Hotel
#2 of 3 in Balclutha
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Camp Site

Property: Hill View Camp Site
Address: 185 Ahuriri Flat Road | Owaka, Balclutha 9271, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Balclutha
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Balclutha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill View Camp Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing