We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Italian style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Masseria Montenapoleone
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian style”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were impressed right from the start with the warm welcome we received from Giuliano one of the family he, guided us thru the Masseria and we were immediately struck by the style and attention to everything. Not slick just real Italian style we knew we were onto a winner here. Our room was in the main family building we loved it. The beautiful colour of the stone, lovely shutters, nice couch, and big comfy bed, combined for understated luxury. The place felt relaxed and roomy. All the common areas were brilliant. The pool is big, and beautiful, with unique sun gazebos. We wished we'd had longer here, pictures do not do this place justice. One day we hope to go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    18
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
120
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved it! So very welcoming of our young family, they provided a very large and comfy sofabed plus a real cot for our 4 and 1 year olds. The communal kitchen with its's homegrown olive oil, garlic and chilli was a godsend for early teatimes (Italians do not eat before 8pm), other guests only seemed to use it for coffee so it was like an extra room for us. Really great breakfasts, loads of cakes, fruits, breads, ham/cheese, eggs. Easy to be greedy.

Surroundings are stunning, we all loved the gently sloping pool with it's shady canopied loungers, discovering a secret cave onsite and the many animals - nicest "farmstay" ever! You can very happily never leave the grounds,

Rooms are all beautiful, quiet and (with shuttered windows) completely dark at night. We had a private walled terrace which was like another room and safe for the little ones. No baths though.

There are some great drives within 30 mins. We thought Ostuni a bit too full of souvenir shops, and it's nicer to spot trulli in the fields rather than the town of Alberbello. Really liked Savelletri though, there's a small park with slides etc on the northern edge (and an acqua park further up the coast) and we had a lovely cheapish lobster meal by the little harbour. Several small, deserted (May) sandy beaches around there too.

Room Tip: Maggazino has a private walled terrace which was like another room and safe for the little ones. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_m_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed at many agriturismos throughout Europe and this is by far our favorite. I did a lot of research prior to selecting this place and it seems Puglia takes their agriturismos to a higher level (call them Masserias for one thing). This masseria did not disappoint. The grounds were exquisite and the pool was amazing. We regret not trying any of the lunches offered but did eat dinner on the night it was offered. I can't even describe how good the food was. You are further from some of the towns but it really is not a terrible drive to some very good restaurants.
Honestly your search can stop here. You will not be disappointed. The one quirk of this place was the egg situation in the morning. A few eggs were typically displayed in a basket in the breakfast room. It wasn’t clear if they were decoration, hard-boiled, or just a subtle indication that eggs were available. I don’t think it was ever made explicit but we came away thinking that these eggs, like most of the other food, were products of the Masseria. And while they seem to have a lot of chickens, maybe they go through occasional droughts, and eggs are used in a lot of derivative foods so in any case they are a limited resource.
An unexplained basket of eggs… what results is a depressing allegory. People innocently adopt the decoration interpretation until a soul who has tasted the apple (saw someone with an egg the day prior) makes his request. The run on the basket begins. Cultural differences manifest. Belgians and Germans queue up. The clueless American arrives and to everyone’s horror orders two, sunny-side up. The staff cannot believe this display of gluttony and protest, “Signore, due?!”

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Visitors to Puglia in southern Italy are often drawn to the coast but, by moving a short distance inland, can enjoy the attractions of the beach without oppressive holiday crowds.

The Masseria Montenapoleone ( near the village of Pozzo Guacito and small town of Pezze de Greco) between Bari and Brindisi is a castle-like country house surrounded by olive groves on a large acreage. It offers comfortable, air-conditioned rooms and suites of character with stone floors and lovely rustic features,Wi-Fi and secure onsite parking. A number of the suites have walled gardens with cascading bougainvillea and shady vines, the entire property is attractive and welcoming.

There is a large landscaped pool with space to properly relax, ocean views and a most appealing and airy dining room where a delightful lunch and other meals are available. A substantial buffet breakfast (one of our best ever) is included in the tariff and served either indoors or from a shady terrace at a most civilised time. Enjoyable cooking classes are also available for interested guests. We attended one and enjoyed ourselves very much. (Still waiting for my husband to try out his pasta making skills !!).

The nearest beach at Torre Canne is a ten minute drive and good restaurants are also located close by in Pezzo de Greco, Speziale and in towns along the coast.

Essential visits to the "white town" of Ostuni, pretty Locorotondo, the wine area around Copertino, the fascinating trulli capital of Alberobello and stately Lecce with its shopping, fine churches and grand public buildings are all in easy reach.

Access to this warm and sunny part of Italy is via airports at Bari and Brindisi, which are serviced daily, and a railhead at nearby Fasano. Guests arriving by car will have an easy drive from either airport but a navigator is advisable as the masseria is not well signposted.

A stay at Masseria Montenapoleone is made more special by the bubbly, engaging, helpful and hard-working Doriana Cavallo, who runs reception, and her personable and knowable colleague Guilliano. There is much to see and enjoy in this region and both are pleased to offer their assistance in ensuring the best possible experience.

Terwencus, Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terwencus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were a group of 16 people and we were all treated as family by the owners, Dino, Cristina, their son, Giuliano.. Doriana in the office was extremely helpful as was the kind staff. .
We were greeted with a sumptuous dinner the first night, Dino helped suggest meals and even offered to drive us to the butcher for the meals that we prepared in the communal kitchen.
Every bedroom has special creative touches. The breakfast room and patio are very welcoming .
We did not want to leave. Words cannot express the warmth and beauty of this Masseria,. You have to go and experience it yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvogliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was at the Masseria Montenapoleone from 19 - 26 September. I had long wanted to go to Puglia because of its reputation for food and wine and to see the olive groves and the trullos. I found a holiday based at the Masseria with a company (via a national newspaper and on a website specialising in activity holidays) that promised 'hands on cooking' and accompanying a chance to eat in good restaurants and drink good wines. The cookery course was a joke, the very talented hotel chef not having the space or resources by the holiday company to give the type/quality of tuition promised; the trips/restaurants would have shamed the cheapest package tour. The only good thing was the young woman who with little support from the company did the day-to-day work with the group.
The hotel however was lovely, lots of space, comfortable beds and rooms - I liked the rustic touches given the scenery and area where I was staying. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfasts excellent and I would recommend staying there.
I would however avoid any holiday using the hotel as its base until the proprietors have considered very carefully, who they allow to use their facilities for activity holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for four nights, second week of September, paid 215 euros per night for the suite.

First off, it is an absolutely beautiful property: the room, the common areas, the pool, all of it. The breakfast is truly excellent, with excellent and friendly staff. Same goes for the pool/bar/lunch area. Our room's furnishings were overall very good; we appreciated the screens on all windows and doors especially. (Even though the artistic copper plates on the bed made a lot of noise when we turned in our beds.)

But. In terms of hospitality, the owners seemed more preoccupied with their own guests (friends and family): late night talk and laughter, cars coming and going right outside our bedroom window after midnight -- this while B&B guests are supposed to park their cars at some distance away from the property. Wifi in the room is basically unusable, but repair is not a priority. No dinner available in the four nights that we stayed there. Cost of additional services is unclear -- except the pool towels, which for some reason are charged at 3 euros a pop. Pop music is played in the common areas outside as well as in the breakfast room (nothing like a bit of Prince to wake you up I guess) and sometimes even by the pool.

So what I'm saying here is: maybe it was due to the end of season, but despite a nice welcome with a glass of wine and a brief chat, I did not feel that the family that runs this B&B cares that much about our actual experience of the place as guests. Sorry, but we will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pezze di Greco
4.2 mi away
Masseria Torre Maizza
Masseria Torre Maizza
#1 of 6 in Savelletri
545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Canne Bianche Lifestyle & Hotel
4.4 mi away
Masseria Torre Coccaro
Masseria Torre Coccaro
#3 of 6 in Savelletri
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,254 reviews
7.9 mi away
Masseria Cervarolo
Masseria Cervarolo
#1 of 21 in Ostuni
520 reviews
10.8 mi away
Masseria Salinola
Masseria Salinola
#1 of 68 in Ostuni
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria Montenapoleone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria Montenapoleone

Property: Masseria Montenapoleone
Address: Via delle Croci 8 | C.da Bicocca, 72015 Pezze di Greco, Fasano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano > Pezze di Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pezze di Greco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria Montenapoleone 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masseria Montenapoleone is located in Puglia, in southern Italy somewhere between magic and forgotten. The region is rich in history and culture, yet has remained remarkably untouched by mass tourism, and therefore retains a charm seldom found in these well-travelled parts of Europe. The Masseria, was refurbished and renovated not to stand out, but rather to be part of the nature around it. Some of the rooms are even original caves and dwellings of the first settlers in the area hundreds of years ago. Each room, corner and secret area has been redesigned or embellished to encompass the natural beauty, which it already possesses. When you open the door of one of the suites, you are carried away to a world of serenity and unique rustic beauty. Each suite has been designed differently with revived artifacts, which are both a journey into imagination, and a memory of a time gone. An endemic nostalgia transports you to a time that you now belong to, all the while surrounded by all the modern amenities you need. Be nature's guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Masseria Montenapoleone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Montenapoleone Pezze Di Greco, Puglia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing