We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Authentic, Charming, Quirky and Quaint”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sakura River Inn 1

Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger. Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
First room.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
Warning: professional photos taken with wide angle. Everything seems bigger.
3D map of the apartment.
View from the room! Can you see the river under the balcony?!
Reading e mail from the balcony! Priceless!
Balcony under the Sakura!
Enjoy feed the ducks from the balcony!!
Takasegawa
You will arrive from there!
French restaurant 5 meters from the apartment
Entrance of the apartment!
Bedroom 2
New summer futons sheets from muji
Mirror in a toilet
Finally new gas stove!
Useful table under gas stove!
Water filter!
Japanese cups
New Kitchen stuff.
Corridor
Shower room.
Washing machine and soap
Marriage ceremony from balcony (with zoom)
Mayumi with our first guest. 21 march 2014
view from balcony
Just in case!!!
Don't miss to sign our guest book!
Bedroom 2
Living room.
Aroma Therapy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shimogyo, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SydneyEmi...
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, Charming, Quirky and Quaint”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were met on the corner by Andrea who helped us with our luggage and immediately informed us of the neighbouring restaurants, shops and streets that were essential to visit. The listing description was accurate and we loved the layout it was very authentic and charming. The apartment was very well located with lovely streets to walk around at night and tiny alleyways for spotting Geisha!
It was a very authentic experience and the view onto the tiny river was very special to wake up to each morning. Andrea and Mayumi's advice about where to go in Kyoto and the time they spent with us describing the best methods of transport (plus tips about bus fares and peak visiting times) was invaluable and greatly appreciated. They were extremely hospitable, friendly, knowledgeable and polite. The apartment was quirky and quaint and we felt close to lots of sights and good eateries, we also loved using the bicycles to get around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location. Friendly hosts with lots of information. Very clean and comfortable. Great to have bikes accessible and also bus stops within walking distance. Wonderful to explore the areas and small streets surrounding the apartment at night too.
Liked least: Relative to other accommodation in Japan and particularly Kyoto; it was a little bit expensive. Also the buckwheat pillows were very hard! Would be good to provide option of Western style pillows. The table is very low- must have good knees!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Kyoto”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Andrea and Mayumi's apartment is just perfect. It was clean, comfortable, and exactly as described and represented in the photographs. It's situated in a very charming part of Kyoto with easy access to all of the major tourist sites and countless restaurants and bars. The apartment comes with 2 bikes which is a great benefit as well. And, as others have noted, it's fun to feed the ducks in the morning.

Our interactions with the hosts themselves was flawless. Andrea was generous with his time and knowledge, sharing information on some local dining options and attractions. And they have prepared a very useful notebook full of information about Kyoto. The hosts also prepared a welcome package of teas, snacks and cute origami! They were also very prompt in responding to all of our e-mails. Andrea was very patient when we arrived late. (Note: the apartment is only 10 minutes by bus from the station but make sure you take the bus going the right direction! One of the bus lines goes in 2 directions)

We felt more like we were staying with friends than paying customers. Rent this place from Andrea and Mayumi and you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia T
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed one night at Andrea and Mayumi's apartment and we left wishing we could staying longer, much longer.

It is in a great location, in the heart of Kyoto. The apartment is by a river so we had breakfast on the balcony and fed the local ducks. There are loads of restaurants, bars and supermarkets close by. It also comes with 2 bikes so we rode them by the river to the Imperial Palace. Bikes in Kyoto are such a great way to see the City.

The place is full of charm with a very traditional feel. It is spotless and looks as it does in the pictures, if not better. It comes with everything you need and much more.

Andrea and Mayumi are wonderful hosts. They were very easy to communicate with from start to finish. They provided us with detailed instructions on how to get there and meet us on arrival showing us around the place.

This is the best airbnb experience I have had to date and the reason why I choose airbnb over staying in hotels. I hope to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed and was full of charm
Liked least: That we only got to stay for one night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing apartment and hosts”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were absolutely blown away with the welcome by Andrea and Mayumi who had waited for us to arrive so they could settle us into their amazing apartment. They gave us recommendations on where to go and how to get there plus some places to eat/drink in the immediate area. The apartment is great and located within short distance of great restaurants and bars but just far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leny T
1 review
“Perfect place in Kyoto with young children”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Andrea and Mayumi are great and very welcoming. They helped us even before we arrived. We needed bikes with child carriers and they helped us by arranging bikes for rent in the nearest bike store.
It has always been easy to communicate with them as they replied very fast.
Before our arrival, they sent us email with direction on how to get to the apartment. Upon arrival, in addition to welcoming us, Mayumi shared recommendation on what to do, where to eat, and other tips about Kyoto.
It was great that there are a lot of brochures and newspapers about Kyoto available in the apartment. Thanks to those brochures, we were able to eat great ramen and joined 1 day tour to Nara.

The location of the apartment is very convenience, close proximity to the downtown area, i.e. nishiki market. It is located in a nice neighborhood, next to a very nice river.
The apartment is very cozy and child friendly. The bathroom is small, but I guess it is common in Japan. :)
Anyway we had great time in Kyoto and will definitely book this apartment again if we come back to Kyoto.

Thank you for hosting us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: small bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massa1983
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If someone asked me where to stay in Kyoto, I would reply, without thinking of it, "Andrea & Mayumi's Kyoto Nice"! The apartment is very nice, clean, full of comfort and in a perfect spot. Andrea and Mayumi are two wonderful hosts and they helped us a lot showing us the area, answering almost immediately to every question at every time and suggesting us beautiful restaurants, new dishes to taste and awesome places to visit. Thanks to them we've been able to get used immediately to the new city avoiding to waste a lot of time that we've used to discover this beautiful town. It's also because of them and of their apartment that our visit in Kyoto has been unforgettable and will remain forever with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riesha
1 review
“Kyoto done right!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved our stay at the riverside apartment in Kyoto! Andrea and Mayumi are lovely hosts! They are friendly and welcoming. Andrea was there to greet us at the bus stop even though he had given us directions to the apt before arriving. On arrival everything was clearly described. Mayumi sat down with us with a map to explain how to get to all the local attractions. It was very kind and made our trip so carefree.

The apartment is central and is an easy walk to most attractions. Mayumi will clearly describe how to get to a few farther areas for a day trip by bus.

The apartment itself is cozy and the beds are very comfortable. Enjoying the river from the balcony in the morning is such a treat!

If I'm ever back in Kyoto I will be booking this apartment again. Andrea and Mayumi are genuinely great people and went out of their way to make our experience special. Thank you for everything!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing