We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
98
303
179
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
303
179
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location ichiran ramen clean rooms tenjin station reasonable price mall shopping canal city wifi japan stops
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Booked this hotel for only one night without knowing much about Fukuoka. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the main train station and even further from the downtown area, so its not in the best location for sightseeing or for transit. It is however in the best spot for shopping, being located within the Canal city shopping complex.
Rooms are clean but quite compact. I found the most uncomfortable thing was the air conditioning, it felt quite stuffy inside the room. Apart from that no complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgia4868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FukuokaWH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for staying with us and sharing experience at Canalcity fukuoka Washington hotel.
We are so sorry that making you feel uncomfortably during your stay.
We will try our best to provide you better service next time. We look forward to seeing you again.
We wish you all the best.

Canalcity fukuoka washington hotel
Front desk manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Room was small, as expected in Japan. Setting was minimal. Room was very clean.

Bathroom was superb. Clean, Heated toilet seat (as usual), great amenities, superb water pressure! !!

Wifi was great.
Breakfast started quite early. 6.30. Selections and taste were good.

One minor thing : we stayed in 7th floor, and the hallway got this smoking smells. However and fortunately the room did not have the smoking smells. Maybe someone smoked in the hallway.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Indramin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FukuokaWH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear. Indramin

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you brining these details to our teams attention.
Our team is pleased to learn that you enjoyed your guest room.

And we are so sorry that making you feel uncomfortably during your stay.
7th floor is a smoking floor.
We will try our best to provide you better service next time.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you again for your opinion.
We wish you all the best.

Canalcity Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile


Drunken guests wake me up at the middle of night around 2:30 am to 3:30. Two gentlemen were walking from one place to another , talking and laughing so loud in the corridor .

This kind of guests should be able to be captured by cctv if the hotel is fully secured by the security person.

The night made me wonder and even frighten what kind of security they applies.

The safety is basic necessary than anything else. Pls take it for seriously as I noticed the hotel can allow anyone into any floor without room key which means shopper has access to the floor without identifying themselves.

Is it safe? I don’t think so.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Obaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FukuokaWH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking your precious time to write a review of Canalcity fukuoka Washington hotel.
We are so sorry that making you feel uncomfortably during your stay.
We will have tighten security and try our best to provide you better service next time.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Canalcity fukuoka Washington hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This wasn't my first choice of hotel, but it's offered by the Fukuoka Marathon as a room+shuttle package so I took it. It's "centrally located" between Hakata & Tenjin station, which means you will walk pretty much same distance from either station. Hakata is the JR/Subway station, while the Tenjin is subway hub. I would prefer to stay neat Hakata for it's two stops from the airport and you have access to both JR & subway. Easier if you plan to travel to other part of Kyushu using Fukuoka as base.
However, this hotel is part of the Canal City shopping mall, with tons of shops, restaurants, movie theater and a beautiful canal that you can walk around. And a small stage with jumbo screens offering live entertainment, i.e. singing, magic show, clown..etc. My first meal was at Ichiran Ramen and THE one serving ramen in a square shaped bowl not rounded one :-) They have all the shops you can find in an American mall, plus duty free shops for souvenirs, makeups, drugstore...etc. Cross street there is H&M, Zara..etc. More shopping.
Room is small, and I anticipated that. However, the noise from the mall really bugged me because the live entertainment went on all evening, and during break there was recorded music and high pitched exciting announcement. I had to use ear plugs the night before my marathon.
The hotel is clean, facility is nice and modern, and staffs are very professional, not to mention the good looking staffs at front desk :-)
If you are in Fukuoka and plan to stay in the city for shopping & eating, then this is perfect location for you, nicely priced with good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to be at higher level and away from the "canal" where the live entertainment take place.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FukuokaWH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear. Michele S

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you brining these details to our teams attention.
Our team is pleased to learn that you enjoyed your guest room.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you again for your opinion.
We wish you all the best.

Canalcity Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I spent one night here, my first night in Japan on this trip, and would describe this well located hotel and fine for a short stay. The cost was reasonable - £79 for a night - but the room was very small and cramped, although clean and the bed comfortable. The wifi worked fine, and the breakfast was a pretty good buffet. Lots to do nearby, with many restaurants and night life, although the actual street of the hotel is quite quiet. So, it was fine for my short, solo stay, but that was about it!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 June 2017

Dear. Robin H
Thank you for staying with us and taking your precious time to write a review of Canalcity fukuoka Washington hotel.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed fukuoka city.
We will try our best to provide you a pleasant stay on your next visit.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you again for your opinion. We wish you all the best

Canalcity fukuoka washington hotel
Front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews