We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$865
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$618
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$442/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$325
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$799
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aman Tokyo(Otemachi)
US$2,276
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$454
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveller rating
1,043
226
36
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
226
36
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand kitchenthe club loungeotemachi stationbalcony roomlarge balconyroyal barsushi restaurantrooms are spacioushighest qualityturn down servicemandarin orientalwonderful hoteltempurabuffet breakfastjet lagrestaurant reservationshigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The original Palace Hotel was established in 1961, it was a modern hotel for its time. The new rebuilt hotel carries on its un-mistakenly Japanese traditional hospitality of refinement and serenity within this modern architecture set on its original scenery. It retains the significant postal address being the very centre of the capital Tokyo facing the imperial palace.

The drive in entrance is recessed by granite columns and low horizontal ‘Aji’ stonewalls arriving under a large mirror stainless steel ceiling sculpture with a greeting counter + a backlit onyx wall.
Guests are led through a seating area with view to the bar, lobby lounge on the left, walk by a large display cabinet of gold leaved paper cut, face the floor to ceiling glass window looking at the waterscape + greenery view, turn right through the lift lobby before getting to the reception desk. If the guests wander off behind the concierge desk, there is this elongated lounge with the continuing waterscape + greenery view and stone sculpture pieces.

The new interior design weaves this original scenery of water, greenery and natural light with the contemporary threads of stylized flowers + leaves pattern, green apple color, ebony veneer, warm grey stone, traditional white tile work depicting the blossoms, minimal bronzed pendants and the many artwork pieces through out guest areas as well as guestrooms.

I have stayed twice in this hotel this year. I prefer the guestroom that has a more formal plan of fully enclosed bathroom and opens into a balcony with a floor lantern. The color palette of dark walnut veneer, gloss white + butter color fabric wall panels, taupe leaves pattern carpet, striking mirrored sun flower yellow gloss bar unit + accessories and cream stone in the bathroom is surprisingly comfortable to my eyes.

I have enjoyed the Japanese breakfast room service looking at morning skyline, the first Spanish ‘fideua’ I had at all day dining terrace at dusk and the convenience of getting across the road for morning walk around the imperial palace moats as well as the greeting citrus scent of the guest lobby and its attentive front office staffs helping to book train tickets and tables at outside restaurants.

Room Tip: The guest room with fully enclosed bathroom is smaller but has the balcony with one chair and one table. Standing there looking at the skyline is so open yet private, evening comes the floor lantern adds the ambient.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been here on business and later with my family (2 little kids). This place is pure excellence. Spacious lobby, smooth check-in, great breakfast buffet, very kind staff, large rooms, absolutely clean everywhere. The location is very convenient, just a short stroll away from Tokyo Station. Lovely to walk in the Imperial Palace gardens (entrance on the other side of the road). I was surprised by the quietness inside despite the location in a crowded noisy district like Marunouchi and the proximity to a very busy main street. We liked this hotel very much and would go back at once.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here three nights at the beginning of our two week trip to Japan, and this hotel really set the bar high. We stayed in a club level room and were very pleased with the size of the space and the high quality of all the finishings. The room is enormous and if that wasn't enough, there was a rather nice and spacious terrace to take in the amazing views of the palace (partial view but that's ok) below. The bed was extremely comfortable and was the only non-rock hard bed we had our entire time in Japan. Everyone who works here is extremely helpful and they rush to make sure you have everything you need at all times. The club level was great with breakfast and light afternoon drinks/food included. Having that there just made the whole day convenient and the food was also quite tasty. There is also a nice patio off the club and we had wine brought out to us while the sun went down, which was really nice. Originally, we weren't too sure about the location but we actually found it very convenient with the subway right around the corner. It was also nice to take a walk around the palace at night with the legions of joggers. I could have stayed another week at this hotel just to soak up the luxury and maybe try out the spa which looked really nice when I scoped it out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked 2 nights at The Palace Hotel, Club Level room prior to our Silversea cruise from Tokyo to Hong Kong. All I can say is what a way to start our vacation! Initial impression upon walking in the door was "Wow! Modern, sleek, beautiful!"

Upon arrival, we were greeted by staff at the door who took our hand luggage & escorted us to the check-in desk. The desk clerk noted our Club Level reservation & said we were to check in on the 19th floor. A bellman escorted us up the elevator where we were greeted by the Club's concierge. We were given a welcome drink & were asked to be seated in the lounge while they completed our registration. The bellman took our bags to the room while we registered.

Afterward, we were escorted to our room by the concierge--wow! How beautiful--same as the lobby. This room has everything you could want! The bathroom is very spacious, the shower is amazing. We had a fabulous view of the Imperial Gardens from our window. Every amenity you can think of is here.

We enjoyed the breakfast, afternoon tea, & cocktails & canapés in the club lounge. The staff there are very attentive & friendly. Last night, we enjoyed a cocktail in the lobby bar where they had piano/sax playing. It was a very busy spot (@ 10pm), but the staff were friendly & attentive.

It was a very wonderful stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FitTravellerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. The location, across from the Imperial Gardens is superb, and it's right next to a centrally located subway stop. The building itself is just gorgeous. The rooms were beautiful, serene and so comfortable. We had a lovely terrace that was a great spot to have a cup of coffee in the morning or just to sit and read. And the bathrooms! Wow! I felt so spoiled,, they were spacious and elegant. We were there for 5 days and I would have been content to stay for 2 weeks. The staff is terrific. They work really hard to make sure you are comfortable. The concierges spoke fluent English, although the google translate app was a lifesaver ! We had the buffet breakfast every morning. It is just delicious with a wide array of choices both western and Japanese. My only complaint is that although there is a ton of staff in the morning, they seem very disorganized, particularly for Japan, it took forever almost every morning to get coffee. I always complain about the kiting in rooms as it never seems to be what I want. For example, the lighting over the closets was really dim . But, these are minor annoyances for a true five star hotel. I hope I get to go back there soon!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have balconies, but for the best views, pick rooms that overlook the "moat", on a clear day you may be able to see Mt. Fuji.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksonHoleSkiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews