We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveller rating
1,646
583
117
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,646
583
117
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frank lloyd wright main building hibiya park old school impeccable service ginza area tower rooms parkside diner walking distance japanese service business trip bit dated breakfast buffet train tracks fish market imperial floor level of service
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

This is The World 5 stars Hotel.
Best hospitality. The service is one of Japanese product, then here is the place you can feel Top of the OMOTENASHI.
Also this Hotel is oldest western style hotel in Japan.

日本を代表するおもてなしホテルの代表格。
日本で最高級のサービスを受けられます。
日本で最古の西洋式ホテルとしても知られています。

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shinji Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Imperial Hotel is the grande dame of Tokyo hotels. It has a long history and one of the earliest top level western style hotel. Till today it is still highly prestigious. It is very popular among the business elites, well heeled locals and weddings. You can say it is a mecca of sorts for local elites. Unlike some other grande dames who lived off her past reputation but long overrated - Imperial still maintain the highest level of excellence in service, hotel maintenance and room comfort. In addition the hotel also houses a few excellent restaurants (both Japanese and western and patisserie).

We stayed at the Tower Block which is the newer block compared to the Main Building. Our room was at the 30th floor, so it has a commanding view of Ginza below us. The room is not big but decent size by Japanese standards. Wi fi works well. There is not shortage of amenities that we needed for a comfortable and restful stay. Our room came with complimentary continental breakfast and non alcoholic beverages from the mini bar. We are late risers so it was great when we could order our breakfast for 11.30 delivery!. With respect to service level and responsiveness, it was excellent and most of the staff speak decent English. An acid test for service level for me is how many rings it take for someone to pick up the phone when we needed assistance. Here is never went beyond the 3 ring!

Before I arrived, I communicated with the Concierge to help with several restaurants bookings. This was promptly attended to. All requests and queries were attended to within 24 hours. They tried their best to accommodate to our ever changing timing and dates, and had initiative to recommend us alternatives when our first choice were not available.

In terms of location - it is possible one of the best in Tokyo. For the shoppers, Ginza is practically at your door steps. For the foodies, there are lots of good eateries within walking distance (including international fare, from casual izakaya to fine kaiseki diners), the 2 metro stops (Ginza and Hibuya) are within easy walking distance. Tokyo station is a mere 6-8min away by cab. The Imperial Palace grounds are also within walking distance. Central business districts for the business types are also nearby. So it is as good as you can get. And for other places, it is easy to get there from the underground.

So if it was that good why not 5/5 rating. Well there is no other reason but for my personal preference for smaller and more intimate hotels (Imperial is HUGE) and larger rooms. I do have a biased towards newer and more modern properties in city areas. So it is no fault of Imperial. To that end, I would rate a Peninsula a 5/5 (just a block away) and Imperial a 4.5/5.

Room Tip: Tower block high floor
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

The hotel is gorgeous, from the moment you walk in the door, everything is to please the eye. The staff is wonderful, so friendly and polite. Our room was nice, with view of city. The location is great for walking and discovering all the awesome eatiers (must eat under elevated trains-awesome!) and shops (must see underground!)

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catinthehat336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It's really worth joining the hotel's loyalty membership before your stay and for its international members, we had the opportunity for a late check-out until 6:00 PM local time. We were upgraded twice - once to a deluxe room and then we were upgraded to a suite! We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return to the Imperial. We will also consider staying at their sister hotels in other parts of Japan in our future visits. The staff and service were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AG1781rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

What a beautiful hotel! The moment you step out from the car onto the entrance of the hotel, you know that you are in for a treat!
Excellent service throughout our stay. The hotel rooms were exquisite with all the lovely details which makes Japan what it is.
The location is perfect - close to the underground and public transport.
Perfect start to our unforgettable trip to Japan!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChrisGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews