We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first night in Tokyo”

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
Ranked #3 of 743 Restaurants in Nishiazabu
Price range: £6 - £47
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu, on the corner of Nishi-Azabu Crossing, is located just 10 minutes from Tokyo Metro Roppongi, Nogizaka, and Hiroo stations are open until 3 am. Known for being the location of former-US President Bush and former-Prime Minister Koizumi’s Izakaya Summit, and even more famously known for its scene in Quentin Tarantino’s 2004 film Kill Bill, Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu’s nostalgic atmosphere brings you back to a Japan of a bygone era. To this day, Gonpachi’s fresh soba noodles, grilled skewers, tempura, and more are popular amongst both Japanese and foreign customers alike. We use carefully selected, regionally-sourced ingredients in everything from the fresh buckwheat that our chefs grind into a flour and use to make our famous homemade soba noodles to our tempura fried to crispy perfection. Whether for lunch or dinner, a date or any special occasion, if you live in Tokyo or are just passing through, we offer an unparalleled Japanese dining experience.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

Awesome atmosphere
Fun place - feels like a market place inside with festooned lanterns across the restaurant and a balcony that goes all round the scene downstairs
The food is the full Japanese mix : sushi, sashimi, tempora, yakitori, wagyu Kobe ... and very good
Cocktails are ok
You go for the fun vibe and it really is a great place for night one to get your Japan vibe on
Only draw back is It is full of foreigners

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank cathontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

the sushi is very good and far more sophisticated than most restaurants, the miso fish dish was superb and the simmered pork was great.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 195tals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

I have been to this restaurant several times. It has a good atmosphere, good food and good service. Everyone I have brought to eat here loves this place.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MM0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

If you are cashed up, have exclusive superior tastes, or crave quiet sophistication, don’t bother with this place! If on the other hand, you are young at heart, like noisy atmospheric restaurants and are intrigued by the inspiration for the movie Kill Bill, then the food and wine are adequate whilst not spectacular. We took the set menu at JPY 4,500(approx), and an exquisite bottle of Shiraz (from California). The wine was superb, the food just right, and the value factor was good for central Tokyo. It turns out that the “entertainment” is only on Sunday and Wednesday, so you decide if you need loud drums for 2x30 mins, or not. We had a Tuesday evening there, which was calm and relaxed, with good conversation. This is our second time, so it must be doing something right?

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 66grahamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

A must to do in Tokyo if you can afford it, it is a little pricy but the atmosphere was great. The food was perfect I had the set middle priced menu (about $85 Australian) which was fine portion size for me and ever a little much and every serve was great. My partner had the Kobe beef which was to die for, very expensive but he had to try it as we leave tomorrow. I had the beef in Kobe which was amazing too.

Date of visit: April 2019
3  Thank 881kathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.