We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kill Bill Restaurant”

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
Ranked #3 of 740 Restaurants in Nishiazabu
Price range: £6 - £48
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu, on the corner of Nishi-Azabu Crossing, is located just 10 minutes from Tokyo Metro Roppongi, Nogizaka, and Hiroo stations are open until 3 am. Known for being the location of former-US President Bush and former-Prime Minister Koizumi’s Izakaya Summit, and even more famously known for its scene in Quentin Tarantino’s 2004 film Kill Bill, Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu’s nostalgic atmosphere brings you back to a Japan of a bygone era. To this day, Gonpachi’s fresh soba noodles, grilled skewers, tempura, and more are popular amongst both Japanese and foreign customers alike. We use carefully selected, regionally-sourced ingredients in everything from the fresh buckwheat that our chefs grind into a flour and use to make our famous homemade soba noodles to our tempura fried to crispy perfection. Whether for lunch or dinner, a date or any special occasion, if you live in Tokyo or are just passing through, we offer an unparalleled Japanese dining experience.
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

The famous restaurant of Kill Bill, the location is super nice and we really enjoyed it. The service was really good as well and the waiters have been really friendly and helpful, guiding us in the choice of the specialties of the restaurants. The food was good but nothing special, I had some cold soba that were just okay. The only exceptions were the gonpachi pizza and the chocolate fondant that were delicious. In any case if you come to Tokyo you should visit it.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Gabry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2019

All we could think of while eating here was "Kill Bill" the movie which was filmed there. Could almost picture Uma swinging her Samarai sword! We were seated at the counter overlooking the chefs at work. Multiple courses came out in no particular order. Periodically a drum show would burst out followed by someone playing a flute...like Bill played. Kinda touristy but we were the only non-Japanese customers.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2019

This restaurant has such a buzz, it’s a great atmosphere. We had booked through our hotel concierge, and had seats at the counter, which was great, as we had a great view of the chefs and also of the rest of the restaurant. We had beers while we looked at the menu, there was no pressure at all to order quickly, and the food once we’d decided was really good.

A highlight was the mushroom skewers with miso, also the desert which was a chocolate fondant with black sesame ice cream. As a number of reviewers have commented, a lot (but not all) of the diners were tourists, but we had a really great evening. Definitely worth spending an evening here if you’re looking for a lively atmosphere and good food.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HuddersT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Famous for the film Kill Bill scene shot at this location. The overall ambience of this exciting restuarant is great experience. Full of activity with the kitchen on display, engaging and friendly fun staff all add to an excellent dining experience. An extensive range of Japanese small dishes shared delivered great, interesting flavours. A must for visitors to Tokyo.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gary712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Cool space with friendly, fun staff but it feels a bit touristy and the food was nothing special (and quite expensive). Be brave and go somewhere less Western and you'll get better food, a more authentic experience and spend less.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KiwiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.