We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best nights in Tokyo”

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
Ranked #3 of 743 Restaurants in Nishiazabu
Price range: £6 - £47
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu, on the corner of Nishi-Azabu Crossing, is located just 10 minutes from Tokyo Metro Roppongi, Nogizaka, and Hiroo stations are open until 3 am. Known for being the location of former-US President Bush and former-Prime Minister Koizumi’s Izakaya Summit, and even more famously known for its scene in Quentin Tarantino’s 2004 film Kill Bill, Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu’s nostalgic atmosphere brings you back to a Japan of a bygone era. To this day, Gonpachi’s fresh soba noodles, grilled skewers, tempura, and more are popular amongst both Japanese and foreign customers alike. We use carefully selected, regionally-sourced ingredients in everything from the fresh buckwheat that our chefs grind into a flour and use to make our famous homemade soba noodles to our tempura fried to crispy perfection. Whether for lunch or dinner, a date or any special occasion, if you live in Tokyo or are just passing through, we offer an unparalleled Japanese dining experience.
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

I was lucky to have meetings a very short walk from here and my hosts had arranged dinner here afterwards. I had not heard of this place and was pretty excited to hear it was used in the Kill Bill movie. From the greeting at the enterance to the good bye at the end of the meal, the service was exemplary. We had an upstairs booth and my host ordered a plethora or Japanese entrees washed down with Kirrin Ichiban beer. In the dozen or so trips I've had her this ranks up there as one of the best nights I've had in Tokyo.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank grantm264
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2019

Gonpachi is the well known Japanese restaurant where lots of foreigners and westernised Japanese go. It’s packed, buzzing and seems to attract people who want to go to a famous place. It’s on 2 levels and has fast prompt service though its a tad too noisy for a Japanese restaurant. It’s associated with a few scenes in Kill Bill and for a US Japan Summit dinner.
Among the delicacies we tried were:
Ground chicken stick tsukene
Tanuki chicken and shitake mushroom on a stick
Sasami piman chicken breastwith green pepper
Zaru tofu fresh
Shrimp tempura
Dashi tamago rolled omelette
Sunagimo chicken gizzard
Asparagus maki bacon
Spicy tuna sushi with green chilli red pepper cucumber and sprout
Each was a treat and we had to choose between ordering more of the same or more variety!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geeess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2019 via mobile

English speaking restaurant for tourists. We went mid afternoon , so place was empty, tried a couple of small dishes , they were good. Multiple levels including tatami style upstairs .

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Edgar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

In a recent visit to Japan, this was far and away the biggest letdown. I was expecting some genuine Izakaya type place, or at least something authenticity. Any place where when you enter is predominantly packed with tourists is never a good sign.
From the whooping of the staff as each new customer entered, so the musak in the background to the over familiar greeting from the perfect english speaking staff. This was more a theme restaurant from the American mid west then a genuine Japanese dining experience.
Food wise - passable skewers, but at inflated tourist prices. And on ordering cocktails, I have never received one in such record time. Obviously not mixed to order. Stressed out the waiter though, as we didn't realise our table was booked for the next punters and no sooner as I'd finished my drink, and with my wife in the bathroom, we were asked (albeit politely) whether we could wait to the side.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2019

Gonpachi is one of my two favorite restaurants in Tokyo, very suitable for Western tourists. The fit-out is Japanese but also has a feeling of the old West. The music is class rock. It definitely does feel like a place out of a Quentin Tarantino movie, with the level of detail that you would expect. I feel so relaxed in Gonpachi, like I can just sit back and enjoy. The service is outstanding and attentive, and speak English very well. They take your order by tablet, and everything we ordered arrived within 1-2 minutes of placing the order on the tablet. I’ve never seen anything like it.

The food was great except for the sashimi which was just average. There is some kind of fried calamari which is really delicious.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SaigonExpat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.