We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience ”

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
Ranked #3 of 741 Restaurants in Nishiazabu
Price range: £6 - £47
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu, on the corner of Nishi-Azabu Crossing, is located just 10 minutes from Tokyo Metro Roppongi, Nogizaka, and Hiroo stations are open until 3 am. Known for being the location of former-US President Bush and former-Prime Minister Koizumi’s Izakaya Summit, and even more famously known for its scene in Quentin Tarantino’s 2004 film Kill Bill, Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu’s nostalgic atmosphere brings you back to a Japan of a bygone era. To this day, Gonpachi’s fresh soba noodles, grilled skewers, tempura, and more are popular amongst both Japanese and foreign customers alike. We use carefully selected, regionally-sourced ingredients in everything from the fresh buckwheat that our chefs grind into a flour and use to make our famous homemade soba noodles to our tempura fried to crispy perfection. Whether for lunch or dinner, a date or any special occasion, if you live in Tokyo or are just passing through, we offer an unparalleled Japanese dining experience.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

Horrible service, food took two hours and the lost half of the order. Would not recommend the place

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Mårten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2023

I've lived in Tokyo around 10 years and Gonpachi used to be a great spot to take people from out of town. But now it is a tourist trap -- be warned!

Specifically:

-The atmosphere is not very Japanese anymore; they blast western pop over the speakers. Normal Japanese izakaya has no music or perhaps quiet Japanese traditional music. Almost all the customers are foreign tourists.
-Service is unfortunately now poor compared to a typical Japanese place. Most servers non-Japanese (which is okay) but service is poor.
-Food is very salty -- this is not Japanese traditional taste but made salty for foreign tourists tastes
-The Food is overpriced compared to similar places

I will not be going back unless they make major improvements and going back to the way it used to be.

There are so many better and more 'authentic' izakayas in the area. I'd recommend probably most any of those over here.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Aa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

We're not sure why there are so many negative reviews as we really enjoyed our lunch here. Sure, it won't be the most gourmet meal of your trip, but the food *is* tasty, the staff is really nice, and the ambiance is wonderful. If you are a fan of 'Kill Bill' and are wondering if you should make the trip here, the answer is yes! Bonus: Lunch was super affordable. We would visit again.

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank WorldTraveler639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

Awesome atmosphere! We are visiting from San Diego and were looking for a fun restaurant to grab dinner. Food was incredible and not very expensive. It was fun and lively, I’m really glad we came! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023

Absolutely brilliant dinner here , as Kill Bill fans this was a must for us. Ordered tempura calamari, tempura prawns , skewer chicken , seaweed and fried chicken . All food was totally delicious . Service and location were fantastic and along with two beers each we only paid 6500 yen. An absolute must visit in Tokyo and a brilliant start to our holiday .

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lmcjaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.