We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food made us sick”

Gonpachi Nishiazabu
Ranked #3 of 744 Restaurants in Nishiazabu
Price range: £6 - £49
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu, on the corner of Nishi-Azabu Crossing, is located just 10 minutes from Tokyo Metro Roppongi, Nogizaka, and Hiroo stations are open until 3 am. Known for being the location of former-US President Bush and former-Prime Minister Koizumi’s Izakaya Summit, and even more famously known for its scene in Quentin Tarantino’s 2004 film Kill Bill, Gonpachi Nishi-Azabu’s nostalgic atmosphere brings you back to a Japan of a bygone era. To this day, Gonpachi’s fresh soba noodles, grilled skewers, tempura, and more are popular amongst both Japanese and foreign customers alike. We use carefully selected, regionally-sourced ingredients in everything from the fresh buckwheat that our chefs grind into a flour and use to make our famous homemade soba noodles to our tempura fried to crispy perfection. Whether for lunch or dinner, a date or any special occasion, if you live in Tokyo or are just passing through, we offer an unparalleled Japanese dining experience.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Oh how I wish I had taken seriously the reviews that said the food was horrible. it was HORRIBLE. Avoid this. People say tourist trap and I was thinking this place has a thousand reviews and overall is decently rated - wow was that wrong. Go anywhere else to have a better experience with food that won't make you sick. The tuna tartare was brown. BROWN. Disgusting.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lexi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2024

Gonpachi Nishiazabu offers a quintessential Japanese dining experience with a modern twist. Located in the vibrant Nishiazabu district of Tokyo, this renowned izakaya captures the essence of Japanese culture and cuisine.

The restaurant's rustic yet stylish interior features traditional wooden furnishings and paper lanterns, creating a cozy and inviting atmosphere. Guests can choose to dine at the lively bar counter or in private tatami rooms for a more intimate experience.

The menu at Gonpachi Nishiazabu showcases a wide range of Japanese dishes, from sushi and sashimi to tempura and grilled skewers. Each dish is expertly prepared with fresh, locally sourced ingredients, ensuring a delightful culinary journey for diners.

One of the highlights of the restaurant is its extensive drink selection, which includes a variety of sake, shochu, and Japanese whiskey, perfect for pairing with the flavorful dishes.

Whether you're looking for a casual meal with friends or a special night out, Gonpachi Nishiazabu offers an authentic and memorable dining experience that celebrates the best of Japanese cuisine and hospitality.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jensen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

Good for tourist, nice environment.
Food is good enough, but you mainly go there for the friendly and noce looking environment

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Rossosax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Overcrowded, really lacking service. You might have to wait 10-15 minutes for a waitress to come

The food was mediocre, some dishes were served cold (see above). Nice to visit one time (I mean Kill Bill), but definitely doesn’t live up to expectations

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank JustSome1Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

Had no other place that was open on New Year’s Day so went there with whole family. Severs were all non-Japanese and customers were all tourists with no place to go. The food was way over priced and horrible. It is not acceptable. Don’t want people to think Japanese food is this bad.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank manabunagaoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Gonpachi Nishiazabu also viewed

 

Been to Gonpachi Nishiazabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.