We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very beautiful waters

No doubt the islands are worth a look, however there are very limited services and beach access. I... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
Ken G
,
Margate City, New Jersey
via mobile
Incredible place

Great place. Clear water, amazing food, scuba diving or just snorkeling. Recommended for singles... read more

Reviewed 26 August 2018
Gianluigi M
via mobile
Read all 1,061 reviews
  
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
17
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews last summer great place beautiful sea blue water ferry euro boats swimming shore choice refreshing rocks august
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

No doubt the islands are worth a look, however there are very limited services and beach access. I have been to several rocky beaches that are able to allow bathing in a dignified way. Here bathers are sausaged into a small beach on San Domenica or forced among the comings and goings of water taxis on San Nicola. Of course there is the round the island tour and zodiac rentals. The locals from my observation were not especially hospitable. The water is incredibly beautiful and as far as my observations go I was there for about 7 hours so take it for what it’s worth.

Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Great place. Clear water, amazing food, scuba diving or just snorkeling. Recommended for singles, couples or families.
Rent a zodiac for a day and explore the islands from the sea, then walk around and explore them by land.
Board one of the many boats offering full day and enjoy a relaxing time.

Thank Gianluigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

I went to the Islans the last summer and I have a very amazing experience about every aspect of that place: the sea, so transparent and clean, the food very good, the people really kind, the house where I stayed, fresh, quiete and calm, immersed into the pinewood... all all all perfect for me! Go and enjoy!

1  Thank Floriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

5 little islands, beautiful sea, wild Mediterranean woods all over giving shadow while walking up and down from one side to the other. The best way to visit them would be by boat, but if you don't have it, there are boat trips bringing you around San Domino and San Nicola. Summer is behind the corner and islands are preparing everything ready. I imagine it quite wild also in August, but surely overcrowded of people and boats. I appreciate the choice of leaving shores free of touristic buildings. If you love rocks and trekking is the best place.

3  Thank MariKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Loved this place the 2 hour boat trip was fabulous and the swimming on the island just amazing
. The boat trip with prosecco and appetitive all for 20 euro
There are plenty of restaurants and bars and you can have a shower or toilet for 3 euro
You pay 20 euro for an umbrella
Highly recommend this trip especially if you love to swim in clear refreshing sapphire waters

Thank hercules800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

The ferry to Tremiti from Vieste is about 2 hours. Medium size boat has fairly stable ride. Main cabin no a/c. Topside seating has virtually no shade. At Vieste you transfer to smaller open boat. If you need a bathroom break there's time before getting into 1 of 3 smaller boats. Definitely jump in the water when the boat stops. Shore swimming only available from northern island. Wear some sort of throwaway shoes to enter the water from the beach as rocks are everywhere!! Your blue ticket has three stubs, the third stub is for smallest taxi boat so use that to run between islands. Most of all, enjoy the incredible blue water!

1  Thank waldokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Le Isole Tremiti are an archipelago of 3-5 islands (depending on the tide!) and are part of the Parco Nazionale del Gargano and have been a protected marine reserve since 1989. The islands have been inhabited since the 4th century BC and are steeped in mythology and have a long history as a place of exile.
San Domino is the largest island and has most of the facilities and also the only sandy beach Cale delle Arene. The island is full of beautiful rocky coves to explore and swim-but don't go barefoot. My friend stepped on a riccio di mare (sea urchin)!
San Nicola is where most of the 400 permanent residents live. There is an 11th Century Benedictine Abbey and church of Santa Maria del Mare, which seem to rise up out of the limestone cliffs. The church has a beautiful mosaic floor and Byzantine painted crucifix.
Capraia is uninhabited except for birds. The only way to go is to hire a local fisherman to take you. Cretaccio is basically a block of clay between San Domino and San Nicola, and Pianosa is 11 km away and sometime covered by waves. It is only accessible to marine researchers anyways.
I've been to Le Tremiti 3 times and look forward to going again! Even thought there are a lot of visitors, it isn't overrun with tourists the way Capri is. The majority of the tourists are Italian. The islands are accessible by ferry from Vieste, Peschici, Rodi Garganico, Manfredonia and Termoli, but I have always gone by helicopter. Alidaunia operates 2 flights per day from the airport in Foggia to San Domino. The adult fare is about 100 Euro return and you get to stay on the islands all day so it is totally worth it. Unless you are staying the night, taking the ferry only gives you a few hours to explore-no where near enough. The helicopters are 8-12 seaters, but are not for everyone. As you can see from the photos, you can see the bottom of the sea from the air!

5  Thank Unpodipepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Impressive water... so clear and blue!
You feel surrounded by marine nature... perfect if you love sea place and if you like swim.

Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

Beautiful beaches and blue water. It was very busy as it was high season. We boarded my cousins boat for the day and it was absolutely beautiful. The water was amazing. We swam at the small beach on San Domino. Very refreshing.

Thank italchica17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

The main attraction of the Tremiti islands are their stunning beauty and the more genuine feel that you won't find on islands "invaded" by mass tourism such as Capri.

Made up of four small islands, the Tremiti offer contrast:
San Domino with its pine forest, grottoes, coves, only sandy beach, and modern tourist infrastructure and luxury homes such as that of famous-singer Lucio Dalla;
San Nicola where most of the population resides with its fortified Abbey of Santa Maria, the church, the tomb of Greek God Diomedes and other medieval buildings and the impressive rocky cliffs is the historical one - amongst other things it served as an internment camp for political prisoners during the fascist era.
The other two islands are uninhabited (one is just a large block of clay).

We toured all of the islands by boat (there is also a pit stop for bathing close to one of the uninhabited islands), we walked and saw of all of San Nicola sites, we bathed in the islands crystalline waters, we walked through the pine forest of San Domino on a warm sunny day. We also appreciated the scarcity of cars (allowed only on San Domino) and the laid-back atmosphere.
On the islands there are bars, restaurants and cafés.

Getting to the islands is not difficult nor very expensive. We paid 50 Euros each, for both the return fast-jet ferry passage Termoli-San Domino(50 minutes) and also the boat of the islands. The islands can also be reached from some ports of the Gargano peninsula.

This was truly an awesome one-day excursion

3  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews