We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,039)
Filter reviews
2,039 results
Traveller rating
226
842
710
177
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
842
710
177
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily martmain buildingrooms are smallunderground walkwayminute walksouth exitconvenience storetriple roomair purifiertop floorwalking distancetrain stationhotel lobby isstayed for nightsairport limousineramengovernment buildings
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 2,039 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We expected the rooms to be small. This was indeed the smallest room I've ever stayed in (even smaller than a small cruise cabin or liveaboard room). Perhaps I could have lived with the size of the room except for the fact that it was SO hot! The windows did not open and despite air con being a listed amenity on the site we used, they do not have air con but rather have the temperature controlled centrally for the whole building therefore leaving our tiny, hot room also feeling incredibly stuffy. I looked forward to getting out of there every day since I started feeling claustrophobic (and I do not suffer from claustrophobia). If you can't sleep in a hot room without any ventilation, this is not the place for you. I should mention, they did provide us a fan, but it simply wasn't enough especially since it shut off automatically every couple of hours (and you have to manually restart it) which is not ideal when trying to sleep. Perhaps it wouldn't have been as bad if the windows were able to open, but this stay was awful. I would never stay here again... and the bed was uncomfortable as well. There are likely better budget options in the area and I would strongly recommend you go with one of those instead.

On a positive note, the staff was friendly. They do deserve credit there...but this place was so uncomfortable that even they couldn't salvage our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank saenzl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you for staying with us and we are really sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations.

In fact, we always try our best everyday to make progress for all the guest feel more comfortable and satisfied with our services.
Unfortunately, it seemed like you had experienced trouble inconveniences during your stay.
We would like to offer our deepest apologies for the trouble you had to experience with our hotel.
Our rooms are originally created for Japanese business people and for that the size of standard room is just typical.
Since we have different types of rooms, we recommend to those guest with a family or couple who would like to have more spacious room to consider book a superior one.
About the air conditioning settings, we currently set our air conditioning temperature depending on the season.
As winter season in Japan at this moment, we adjust the temperature as ventilation or heating.
We are very sorry for the stability of the air conditioning that makes you feel inconvenient and sick.
Due to the structure of the room which unable to change, we provide electric fan or a one hour of windows kept open.
Moreover, we can change some guest room who have a problem if there is a availability day by day.
These are the least that we can do to solve the unintentional inconveniences at this moment.
We prefer to learn and improve under better conditions but sometimes some is just not possible.

For the rest, thank you for complimenting our staff with friendly attitude and we surely make an attempt to lessen some of our faults and build a great atmosphere to our guest.

Again,thank you for choosing our hotel around Tokyo.

Best Regards,

Maria Sotoya
Concierge Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Rooms are small and compact, great location, staff very helpful
Have to make sure you ask for non smoking room
Convenience store with atm that accepts foreign cards in the same building
Free water everyday

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank GT872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for staying and sharing your feedback with us.
This is how we keep learning and improving our services.
In our attempt to serve you better and retain you as one of our valuable customers, we will maintain friendly environment so as to make the guest feel comfortable to ask any questions about their anxiety in or outside of the hotel.
Furthermore, since our hotel has two buildings, we renovate the ground floor by creating signs that guest can easily find the access of the two buildings, airport bus stop and so on.

We hope that you consider our hotel to your next visit in Japan.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,

Maria Sotoya
Concierge Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We didn’t expect much as knowing that some hotels in Japan has very small space. It’s a squeeze to manoeuvre luggages into the room but it’s cozy enough. As we hardly stayed in the room other than to take a breather or to rest/sleep, it was sufficient. I love the fact that they use Shiseido for facial foam, shower foam, shampoo & conditioner. Who would hv thought! As always love the bidet in Japanese toilets. So definitely a thumbs up for me. Just a note that the main lobby is on Level 3 with no porters to assist with your luggages but still the frontdesk is helpful & nice. Hotel is just opposite of NS Building and very near to the Government Building & walking distance to Shinjuku Station.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ct H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for writing feedback about our hotel services.
We are delighted to hear that you liked our amenities and the designs of our rooms.
Our hotel is one of the oldest business hotels around Shinjuku so the size of the room was originally made for Japanese business people. However, since the number of foreign guest people has increased these past few years, we had renovated the hotel from the designs and size of the room etc. up to the lobby one year ago. We believe that the Main building has become stylish and lots of amenities that all the guests can enjoy.
As you mentioned above, we are really sorry for not having a porter who can carry your luggage to your room due to the lack of sufficient manpower.

With the rest, we are glad to hear that you found our hotel very convenient to stay.
We hope that we will be serving you again next time of your visit to Japan.

Thank you.

Respectfully Yours,

Maria Sotoya
Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The location of the hotel is good 15 min walk from Shinjuku station. The hotel is very new and the service is awesome. For the price I paid I did not expect the kind of service provided, top notch! I had a single ladies room and it was very clean with my own level or just ladies rooms. The room had all kinds of lovely ladies amenities. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank aim888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

We would to thank you for choosing to staying with us and we are glad to hear that you had a memorable one.
Our hotel is always continue to provide an excellent facilities and selected amenities for women guest as well as friendly staff members will provide you with everything you need.
It feels great when we are able to meet your expectations.
We hope to retain this relationship for the many coming years.

Again,thank you posting here about our service and your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope the we will see you again in the near future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Maria Sotoya
Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

This is a great hotel for tourists wanting to see the heart of Tokyo. The rooms are extremely small and the bathrooms are hard to maneuver. A taller European or American will need to duck to get through the six foot doors. Breakfast is served in several locations. Choose the 25th floor. The view is fantastic and the food is excellent. Go Japanese style. Their fish is excellent and soups are great.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubCPrairieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
新宿WH, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Shinjuku Washington Hotel Main, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

We thank you for your stay during your trip to Tokyo.
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience in our hotel.
As our hotel rooms were originally structured to Japanese business people, the room size is quite small to guest who are tall enough. However, we went through renovations one year ago so the room is a bit bigger that the earlier days.
Furthermore, we have different types of rooms, it is advisable to those guest who wish to have a big room to book a superior one.
Again, thank you for the compliments you mentioned above.
Your comments are essential to us and we will totally continue to do our best to improve our facilities and staff services.
We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Maria Sotoya
Concierge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews