We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,496)
Filter reviews
5,496 results
Traveller rating
2,280
2,585
489
93
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,280
2,585
489
93
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location south exit family mart narita airport rooms are small minute walk walking distance jr station standard twin room post office buffet breakfast tokyu hands coin laundry visit tokyo stayed here for nights convenience store definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
1,544 - 1,549 of 5,496 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Location couldn't be more convenient: right next to Tokyo's Shinjuku mega-hub. This is not a hotel for someone seeking personality and charm: it's big and the lobby is crowded. But it has everything you need and the staff is friendly. I chose a single room at the cheapest fee, which meant a view of an airshaft and little wiggle room, but it was totally adequate. The free wi-fi is maddeningly slow at peak hours. Lavish breakfast worth including in your room fee.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Choto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, 支配人 at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Dear guest

Thank you for staying at our hotel and we appreciate your warm comment heartily.
However we were sorry that you were not satisfied with our room and facility.
We will improve upon these problems.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I just checked out of this hotel this morning and was more than impressed with this hotel.
Firstly the location is beyond ideal, I had a lot of concerns when booking my trip because several people had warned me that Shinjuku was the red light district of Tokyo, however this was not a problem at all. The hotel is located on the other side of Shinjuku so it avoids all the flashing lights and noise when you do want to rest or sleep. However it is only a 5 minute walk to the main strip. The night life around Shinjuku is great - we were 3 females 20 years old, and never were we concerned about walking around late at night in this part of the city. The area and Tokyo for that matter is so safe/disciplined/respecting. Yes Shinjuku station is very confusing, but that is due to it's sheer size. Once we got the hang of it, the signs and layout is extremely well done. The main entrances to the stations are almost in sight from the hotel (so super convenient - and Yoyogi station is just as close). Super convenient staying at Shinjuku because basically every line comes through it.

Secondly, the staff at Sunroute were very helpful. We didn't get our room cleaned everyday, but each time that we did (over the 6 days of our stay) the room was flawless, amenities were replaced and beds/room immaculate. The reception staff spoke perfect english and were very helpful in sourcing detailed directions for the day trips I had personally planned for me and my friends. we didn't have much interaction with staff in comparison to other travellers, but when we did they were extremely polite and helpful.

The room itself was extremely clean, did not smell and very modern. One thing that was perfect was that there was already a powerpoint for USA and Australia (2 prong) built into the desk in our room!! Was a life saver honestly! Yes the room was small on Australian standards but quite comfortably fit all 3 of us girls and our luggage in the room. The bathroom/cupboard was larger than I expected, and the room comfortably fit 3 king single beds (one being a fold out).

I will definitely stay here again if I am fortunate enough to visit Tokyo again.

Room tip: Rooms are quite small so try to select a larger room (i.e. an extra person) if you want room.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseSamios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku this time and taking your time to share your experience during your stay in details on Tripadvisor.

It has been delightful to hear that we were able to make your stay more comfortable and satisfactory, and we are glad that you have liked our hotel.
If there is anything we can do for you, feel free to let us know anytime.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next trip.

Front Reception
Kosuke Oshima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I have stayed in this hotel many times in the past. It's a very well run hotel chain, 3 mins from the Shinjuku station south exit. The airport limousine brings you right to the hotel. Service is good and they have decent restaurants and breakfast. The rooms are small but most business hotels in japan are like that. it's clean, professionally run, with English speaking reception staff.

Room tip: Most rooms are fine.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce3382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku this time,
and we would like to appreciate your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are all looking forward to greeting you again soon on your next visit.

Front Reception
Kosuke Oshima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

This place is the perfect location for those visiting Tokyo for the first time. Close to shopping, walking distance to some sights (Tokyo Government Building and Meiji Shrine) and most importantly the train station.

Rooms were slightly smaller than Western standards (typical of Tokyo) but very clean with comfortable beds and essential amenities.

Staff was also very nice, friendly, and help.

Would highly recommend this to Tokyo first-timers.

How to locate hotel: Once exiting the Shinjuku station facing the Lumine mall, turn left and walk a few meters. Turn another left once you reach the stop light. Walk a few more meters, and hotel would be on your right.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Arabella78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for staying and precious comment with us.
We're very happy to hear you satisfied while you were staying here.
Our hotel is good location and easy to go shopping.Therefore,many of guests are asking where you can go shopping.
Shinjuku area is getting bigger and improving.
We'll continue to practice diligence for provide good services.
If you have any chance to come to Tokyo, we hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The room is slightly smaller than the usual price range as compared with other similar hotels, but the location is super close to the JR station (5 min), shops and restaurant. It will fit those who shops, eats and looks all the day. The room is clean and neat. It is always full and need to book very early.

Date of stay: March 2015
Thank yangm560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, front desk at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2016

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you so much for your stay and your comment.
We really appreciate for your kindly comment.
Our hotel locates just 5 min from the Shinjuku main terminal and very convenient for sightseeing too.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

with regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews