We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lake Moeraki
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage Hotel(Mt. Cook Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
209
30
7
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
30
7
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilderness lodgenew zealandglow wormstwo nightssand fliessouth islandcrested penguinsother guestsarthur's passflora and faunabreakfast and dinnerdrying roomeel feedingtasman seacomfortable roomsbird lifenight walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Location is superb if traveling to Queenstown and need a place to stay between Franz Josef and there. Lodge is lovely and good chance to enjoy the environment. Food was so so but after all the great meals in New Zealand that was ok too. A little to much togetherness for my taste --- group nature walks and intros at cocktail hour but the other quests were nice. I just like when I am getting away given how hectic life is between vacations quiet time with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBettyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Anne and Gerry have created an amazing hotel / lodge / eco-friendly destination at Lake Moeraki. The hotel is in the rainforest about 1.5 hours south of Franz-Josef. The lodge caters to travelers who want to know more about nature, the Rain Forest, geology, wildlife, seacoast and even a bit about the stars. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with great rooms, privacy and seclusion if you want it. Gerry knows a lot about many things and his passion for conservation and the wilderness shines through! There is hiking, kayaking, canoeing as well as supervised and self-guided touring trails throughout the property and in the adjacent parkland. The food is fantastic and catered to Gluten-Free needs. This place is off the grid but provides its own power and even a little bit of satellite based internet if you need to send a few notes. Bravo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This lodge, located in the middle of beautiful rain forest, near the ocean and on a lake. It couldn't be better. We hiked in the rain in the rainforest .. Fabulous! The host and hostess are "real people" who are truly passionate about what they do and the natural world around them. They take every opportunity to share their knowledge with every guest. Ann is a perfect hostess, pitching in help in the dining room when needed. Gerry is so knowledgable and his quirky sense of humor is so refreshing! This lodge is totally comfortable but not overdone. The historic feel of the place is just right. If you want to say in a stuffy Hilton don't come here! An added bonus is that Kayaks are available for your use and free activities such as rainforest walks, and night glow worm and star watching are included. Swimming in the river is available depending on weather conditions.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. Rooms close to laundry room and lodge are a bonus...especially when it rains.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Over recent years of worldwide travelling this reviewer has managed to put into practice that well-worn maxim that "less is more" & has learnt that by trying to do and see more of any particular country or region will achieve relatively little, save for "ticking boxes" on one's travel C.V.

On our second visit to New Zealand last month my Wife and I committed to spending three weeks solely on South Island and in particular the Southern Alps and Fiordlands in order to hike, kayak and experience the flora, the fauna, the mountains, rivers and lakes of this very special part of the world.

It proved without doubt to be a very wise decision and an integral part of our itinerary was spent in separate three day stays at both Wilderness Lodges at Lake Moeraki and Arthur's Pass respectively.

In order to benefit from staying at these lodges it's simply not worth it in my opinion to treat them as mere overnight stops and in truth the owners would much prefer that you take the opportunity to experience not only the basic facilities on offer which are on the side of very adequate rather than luxurious , but more importantly the guided walks and hikes within their immediate spectacular environments.

Whilst the early morning, late afternoon and evening activities are complimentary the guided nature daytime activities are charged depending on the number of guests participating but roughly in the $120 - 150 range pp.

We had the very good fortune to spend successive days with the Owners' Son, Michael, and apart from being excellent company not only looked after us in every respect but gave us an in-depth understanding and appreciation of the environment and its ecology.
The "signature" activity of this particular Lodge is the coastal walk and was stunningly beautiful and spectacular culminating in our scrambling over volcanic boulders from where eventually we got up very up-close and personal with a colony of fur seals after which our fitness was well and truly tested by a 500 foot climb from the beach up the cliff all with the aid of ropes and of course our doughty guide, Michael.
By comparison on the other day at Lake Moeraki the river kayaking down to the Tasman Sea was rather tame by comparison but nonetheless extremely and equally enjoyable.

We have no hesitation in recommending this Lodge to anyone who wants to witness the joys of nature, from the feeding of the giant river eels to viewing the vast array of glow worms under the spectacular Southern night sky, with some of the friendliest and knowledgable folk you're likely to meet on your NZed journey!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were in residence for two nights in this most wonderful wilderness paradise. Very comfortable
lodgings, good food. A very personable Ann Saunders (co- director) who saw to every detail, including tasty short bread cookies.
The down side here is Dr. Gerry Mc Sweeney (actually PHD) who greeted us with: "Oh, Americans - use short words and speak slowly." One could forgive one transgression, however
he was mildly insulting to us at every opportunity. In short, he was not someone whom I would accuse of being a broad-minded internationalist.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thanks for your review. At the Wilderness Lodges we host visitors from throughout the world. We particularly enjoy our many American visitors to the Lodge who express their appreciation of what we offer with their comments in our Visitors Book, in their TripAdvisor reviews and in messages to us.

We also do our best to make nature discovery fun. This will include joking with our guests on our guided walks, kayak trips and adventure trips. Here we will get teased about our Kiwi accents, about our driving on the left, we get told “sheep jokes” about Kiwis and we do sometimes joke back. This is all done with a well-intentioned sense of fun. We are sorry you have taken in earnest something that was intended only as some light-hearted humour. For this we apologise.

Best wishes,
Gerry McSweeney & Anne Saunders
Owner-Mangers, Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews