We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Moeraki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I have just had another special night with Ann and Gerry in their spectacular rainforest. We had just had rain at last and the birds were celebrating all around. Thanks to careful management by DOC and advocacy by Gerry we have an incredible refuge on the mainland for our forest species and our precious penguins. In my room I felt right in the forest and woke to a beautiful dawn chorus which is normally only to be heard on our offshore islands. I am particulary impressed with the interpretive folders in each room especially those about the geography and geology. It is really hard to come by this information and it is very well presented here. Gerry's scientific approach to all the aspects of South Westland is much appreciated by those wanting more than just a relaxing stay. Having said that this place is just as welcome for anyone wanting a peaceful retreat with luxury thrown in. The rooms are lovely and the food excellent. our hosts and their helpers are very attentive and obligeing and couldn't be kinder.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if it is the forest you are after go to the back of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphnekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed two nights wile on a bicycle trip. This gave us time to really enjoy the great foot, wonderful atmosphere, the lake, walks in the rain forest, seeing glow worms and Gerry's "long walk". Anne and Gerry have made this a really relaxing place to visit. We took several treks and the kayaks onto the lake to watch birds and sight see. Gerry's hikes were quite enjoyable with his terrific sense of humor. This is a must stop for all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrystauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights coming from the sister property at Arthurs' Pass. Magic location down to Lake Moeraki, and two canoe trips on the lake was wonderful, especially as we were blessed with the most beautiful weather. The lodge has access to some hard to-get-to places, we visited the fur seal beach with Gerry, and had a very memorable morning, and took lot of photos of these wonderful creatures. All the complementary walks are an added bonus. The internet access was so so, but of course we do not expect perfection on this point in a property like Wilderness Lodge. It is plain to see that owner operated properties like the 2 Wilderness Lodges has an advantage with very hands-on owners, and their support for conservation in NZ is a good example to all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Location is superb if traveling to Queenstown and need a place to stay between Franz Josef and there. Lodge is lovely and good chance to enjoy the environment. Food was so so but after all the great meals in New Zealand that was ok too. A little to much togetherness for my taste --- group nature walks and intros at cocktail hour but the other quests were nice. I just like when I am getting away given how hectic life is between vacations quiet time with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBettyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Anne and Gerry have created an amazing hotel / lodge / eco-friendly destination at Lake Moeraki. The hotel is in the rainforest about 1.5 hours south of Franz-Josef. The lodge caters to travelers who want to know more about nature, the Rain Forest, geology, wildlife, seacoast and even a bit about the stars. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with great rooms, privacy and seclusion if you want it. Gerry knows a lot about many things and his passion for conservation and the wilderness shines through! There is hiking, kayaking, canoeing as well as supervised and self-guided touring trails throughout the property and in the adjacent parkland. The food is fantastic and catered to Gluten-Free needs. This place is off the grid but provides its own power and even a little bit of satellite based internet if you need to send a few notes. Bravo!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This lodge, located in the middle of beautiful rain forest, near the ocean and on a lake. It couldn't be better. We hiked in the rain in the rainforest .. Fabulous! The host and hostess are "real people" who are truly passionate about what they do and the natural world around them. They take every opportunity to share their knowledge with every guest. Ann is a perfect hostess, pitching in help in the dining room when needed. Gerry is so knowledgable and his quirky sense of humor is so refreshing! This lodge is totally comfortable but not overdone. The historic feel of the place is just right. If you want to say in a stuffy Hilton don't come here! An added bonus is that Kayaks are available for your use and free activities such as rainforest walks, and night glow worm and star watching are included. Swimming in the river is available depending on weather conditions.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable. Rooms close to laundry room and lodge are a bonus...esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Over recent years of worldwide travelling this reviewer has managed to put into practice that well-worn maxim that "less is more" & has learnt that by trying to do and see more of any particular country or region will achieve relatively little, save for "ticking boxes" on one's travel C.V.

On our second visit to New Zealand last month my Wife and I committed to spending three weeks solely on South Island and in particular the Southern Alps and Fiordlands in order to hike, kayak and experience the flora, the fauna, the mountains, rivers and lakes of this very special part of the world.

It proved without doubt to be a very wise decision and an integral part of our itinerary was spent in separate three day stays at both Wilderness Lodges at Lake Moeraki and Arthur's Pass respectively.

In order to benefit from staying at these lodges it's simply not worth it in my opinion to treat them as mere overnight stops and in truth the owners would much prefer that you take the opportunity to experience not only the basic facilities on offer which are on the side of very adequate rather than luxurious , but more importantly the guided walks and hikes within their immediate spectacular environments.

Whilst the early morning, late afternoon and evening activities are complimentary the guided nature daytime activities are charged depending on the number of guests participating but roughly in the $120 - 150 range pp.

We had the very good fortune to spend successive days with the Owners' Son, Michael, and apart from being excellent company not only looked after us in every respect but gave us an in-depth understanding and appreciation of the environment and its ecology.
The "signature" activity of this particular Lodge is the coastal walk and was stunningly beautiful and spectacular culminating in our scrambling over volcanic boulders from where eventually we got up very up-close and personal with a colony of fur seals after which our fitness was well and truly tested by a 500 foot climb from the beach up the cliff all with the aid of ropes and of course our doughty guide, Michael.
By comparison on the other day at Lake Moeraki the river kayaking down to the Tasman Sea was rather tame by comparison but nonetheless extremely and equally enjoyable.

We have no hesitation in recommending this Lodge to anyone who wants to witness the joys of nature, from the feeding of the giant river eels to viewing the vast array of glow worms under the spectacular Southern night sky, with some of the friendliest and knowledgable folk you're likely to meet on your NZed journey!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Moeraki
16 mi away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#3 of 3 in Haast
49 reviews
14.9 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
16 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Haast River Motels & Holiday Park
16.6 mi away
Haast Beach Motel
Haast Beach Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
17 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mahitahi Lodge
Mahitahi Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mahitahi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki

Address: State Highway 6 | 30 km north of Haast, Lake Moeraki, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7842, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Lake Moeraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Moeraki
Price Range: £262 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wilderness in comfort and style at New Zealand's premier nature lodge. Established by dedicated conservationists, Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki offers an experience like no other. Walk from your room into a natural paradise of ancient rainforest, kayak pristine lakes and hike rugged beaches. Enjoy fresh local food, fine wine, and warm hospitality. Join naturalist guides to discover spectacular wild landscape and search for penguins, seals, and other rare wildlife in the heart of Te Wahipounamu World Heritage Area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki Hotel Lake Moeraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing