We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to get away from it all, this is...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy W
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you want to get away from it all, this is where to go . . .”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Almost monastic in it's isolation and seclusion, Okel Tor mine cottages provide peace, quiet and a totally relaxed stay - very relaxing. The view from our 19th Century Assay Office across the Tamar river valley was absolutely fantastic, with so little noise that you can hear the river flowing many feet below you - and sheep bleating the other side of the valley. At night it's so dark the stars look twice as bright, there's no man made light to spoil it. There's a twenty minute walk to the village, where there's a great pub with very good food (The Boot) and a 'corner shop'. Particularly recommended is the railway journey into Plymouth through wonderful countryside at very reasonable cost. Chloe's restaurant in Plymouth is also recommended. A good trip out is the underground rail trip through the old mine not far away. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're delighted that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility at Okel Tor and your trip on the mine train at Morwellham Quay! We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim m
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful place to be”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We wanted somewhere different, scenic and off the beaten track...this was all of those things.
We were made to feel very welcome and would love to go back again. There is so much to explore in this area and it is stunning.
What a view!
Calstock locals were very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review - we're pleased that the cottage and its location lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Spent the week in The Smithy which was wonderful! Nick, the owner lives in a neighbouring cottage and provided an extremely friendly, yet non-obtrusive point of contact. The positioning of the cottage means that it feels very private, despite the close proximity of The Count House. The views are spectacular whatever the weather, and the low levels of light pollution makes the night sky a real spectacle! The cottage is well equipped and the high quality towels and linen, complimentary fudge and handmade soap give the feel of a luxury hotel. The wood burner makes the evenings lovely and cosy, and the veranda allows you to enjoy the beautiful scenery even if its raining. Really enjoyed the stay, and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review of The Smithy - we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Count House. We're delighted to hear you liked the cottage, views and location and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D T
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
“warm fire, fantastic view, only the sound of the birds...and the rain”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Spent five serene days at Okel Tor. Weather was not great, but that's not the fault of Okel Tor. We stayed in one of the two cottages on site, stone-built, flagstone-floored, furnished with the requisite woodstove with lots of wood available. Bright, clean, well-appointed surroundings, lots of history, and a village (with pub and shop) within walking distance. Fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling of the cottage; location
Liked least: not much not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Count House at Okel Tor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay - Wish we could have provided better weather for you but hope the log burner kept you cosy and warm!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigwife
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

What a truly amazing place! We enjoyed our stay immensely despite the very inclement weather. A beautiful location, very comfortable and stylish accommodation and a very helpful owner.
It was a real treat not to be able to access a mobile phone signal and no computer in sight......bliss!
We would, unreservedly, recommend this accommodation and beautiful environment to anyone wanting to get away from it all and be woken by an abundance of birds busying themselves with best building.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Okel Tor Mine despite the weather and hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back! Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smoore6
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best rural cottage to truly get away from it all!”
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We have just got back from a fabulous stay at the beautiful Count House at Okel Tor Mine. It was by far the most fantastic cottage we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!) - not only because of its tucked away location down the best track ever, but also because of the lovely, relaxed welcome we received from Nick, who is one of the most charming people we've ever met. The cottage is perfect and we felt instantly relaxed even before we'd seen it - finding it is like an adventure as first you go through the most pretty village of Calstock with its narrow lanes and higgldy-piggldy building, then up a lovely long lane until you come to a fantastic track that leads down to the tin mine itself. There is a very special air about the place - like a secret hideaway. The cottage is just lovely with a great log burner and everything you need, including stunning views of the river. It's warm, cosy an the perfect place for a couple or for a lone person who wants to lock themselves away from the world for a while. We loved every minute so much, we hardly went out! We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being very remote without actually being very remote.
Liked least: There's nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you - We're delighted you had a relaxing stay and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing