We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MAY BANK HOLIDAY”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BillieWhi...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MAY BANK HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd stay and we thouroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay. The cottage is in a great location and beautiful views across the banks and river Tamar. This river runs past Calstock.

The cottage is in a very good location if you wish to travel to Plymouth, Tavistock,Looe,Polperro and St Austell if you fancy a good walk around the Market at Par...I would highly reccommmend. However no dogs are allowed in the indoor market.
National Trust sites are close also to the cottage. You have Lydford Gorge and Cothele.
Tavistock Pannier Market and Farmers Market is a wonder of crafts and usual and unusual market stalls.
Morewellam Quay is an interesting visit and you can take your dogs around the site.

The cottage is equipped with everything you may need.

The cottage is very cosy and the log burner makes the cottage glow on a chilly eveing.
The folder with all sorts of information in is a good indication that the owners have thought of their guests in mind. The walk around the property is steep which you would expect sitting on the hillside of the Tamar Valley.
We will be back again with our dog Layla in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor rating, comments and suggestions - we're delighted you had another enjoyable holiday at Okel Tor Mine and look forward to seeing you and Layla again next year!

Just to clarify for anyone else reading, the garden adjacent to the cottage is level and cut into the hillside, and it's possible to explore much of the mine using the public footpaths, most of which are reasonably level, and the bridlepath down to the village is not very steep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beasley6
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This really is a most wonderful place. So quiet and peaceful with amazing views across the valley and lovely walks around the old mine and amongst the trees. It feels like it's away from everything and yet the small town of Calstock , which has a couple of great pubs and a few small shops, is just a 10 minute walk down the track.
I could have stayed forever!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility and views at Okel Tor, and the convenience of Calstock. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe v
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, rural getaway”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at the cottage for a weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. Nick & Greg were fantastic hosts and were very helpful from booking through to making us feel welcome when we were staying there! The cottage itself was lovely, it had everything you needed for the stay and the view from the decking was breathtaking. The lovely village of Calstock was a close walk with everything you needed. We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend at The Count House and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstarara...
West Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wow is really all I can say, after returning from a few nights in the Count House. This really is a perfect place for some time away from everything. We spent each morning eating breakfast outside on the deck and watching the world go by. And you really can watch that view for hours. Perfect. All that tranquility, yet with a couple of pubs within walking distance (both dog friendly) and loads of fabulous walks right on the doorstep. The Count House has everything you need and Nick makes you feel very welcome. Anyway, off to plan the next visit....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the views and tranquility at Okel Tor and the local walks and pubs. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
243Maria2...
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful hideaway.”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband, myself and our 2 dogs, had a wonderful stay in The Count House, at Oke Tor Mine. What a lovely, peaceful, place, both Greg and Nick were great hosts, Greg for the ease of the booking and Nick for the meeting and greeting side. We have 2 big dogs, (one poorly one) however just a little walk down the path was ideal for them. The cottage is so warm and clean we definately felt like we hid away from the world. Although there wasnt much do to because we went out of season, we have been told its great in the summer with festivals and live music...we will definately consider going back. Xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and views.
Liked least: 20 min walk to the local shop.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to hear you had a peaceful stay with your 2 dogs and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob2907
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic break”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

from the moment you drive past the parish church you feel like you're in a different world, free from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Once down at the mine the 'wow' factor just hits you. Take time to stop and listen ... And you can't hear a thing! Accommodation is just right, nice a cosy with the fire burning. Views are stunning, and if you take some bird food or even just put out stale bread, then you're rewarded by constant visits from robin, blue tit, grey tit and jays. 10 minute walk down to the Boot Inn (booking advised) for lunch. Can't wait to book to go back later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire and views
Liked least: Small shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you felt the magic of Okel Tor and enjoyed the tranquility and wildlife. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and no mobile signal!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted that you had anther enjoyable birthday at Okel Tor and look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing