We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice clean cottage in a wonderful, peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lou B
Alpnach, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice clean cottage in a wonderful, peaceful location”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

one of the nicest trips to the UK we have ever had. Cottage very authentically redone and very well kept. Pleasue meeting Nick and Jess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your recent review. We're very pleased to hear that your holiday at Okel Tor Mine was one of the nicest you have had!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne606...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece heaven”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful stay in this idilic setting and wow what a beautiful little cottage The Count House is.
Nick the owner made us feel welcome with lots of info on walks, pubs etc.
Would recommend this for anyone looking for a get away from it all break.
Oh and Jess was just adorable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. Delighted you loved the cottage, the setting and Jess! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor F
Charlbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have stayed at the count house many times over the years, the accommodation is always clean and tidy. The count house has benefitted from having central heating and an improved kitchen in recent times

It's location is in a secluded and private spot and has great views, added to this the village of Calstock has good amenities; two pubs, corner shop, it has good transport with bus to Tavistock and even better the lovely scenic railway line which goes to Plymouth, also the National Trust cotehele house and Gardens are close bye & can be walked too

If you are single or a couple, like to experience peace, tranquillity, great views then this is one I recommend to stay at

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thanks for your Trip Advisor review and recommendation of The Count House.

It's always lovely to welcome returning guests who appreciate the magic of Okel Tor. We look forward to seeing you again in October and December!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, Quiet and Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're delighted to hear that the cottage exceeded your expectations, you felt welcome and comfortable and enjoyed the local walks and pubs. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shane D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived recently stayed for 7 days in The Smithy and had a brilliant time. The location and view are simply stunning. The Smithy isn't too far from the owner's property or the other cottage, but it still offers fantastic privacy. Inside the decor was rustic, charming and impeccably clean.

The owner, Nick, is extremely welcoming and keeps himself to himself. Lovely gentleman who made the stay all the more enjoyable.

Our only criticism would be that the sign to enter the property wasn't the easiest to see, but other than that it was a flawless holiday.

Can not recommend it highly enough. Amazing property, fantastic owner and a charming little village within walking distance.

P.s - Next time we backgammon, Nick!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not a thing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thanks for your review, kind words and recommendation. We're delighted you had a great time and liked the cottage and village. We look forward to welcoming you back, and Nick is looking forward to backgammon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve197512
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely accommodation, secluded and peaceful! Highly recommend! Just what we were looking for. Local pub very good. Would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and recommendation. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillieWhi...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MAY BANK HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd stay and we thouroughly enjoyed our 7 night stay. The cottage is in a great location and beautiful views across the banks and river Tamar. This river runs past Calstock.

The cottage is in a very good location if you wish to travel to Plymouth, Tavistock,Looe,Polperro and St Austell if you fancy a good walk around the Market at Par...I would highly reccommmend. However no dogs are allowed in the indoor market.
National Trust sites are close also to the cottage. You have Lydford Gorge and Cothele.
Tavistock Pannier Market and Farmers Market is a wonder of crafts and usual and unusual market stalls.
Morewellam Quay is an interesting visit and you can take your dogs around the site.

The cottage is equipped with everything you may need.

The cottage is very cosy and the log burner makes the cottage glow on a chilly eveing.
The folder with all sorts of information in is a good indication that the owners have thought of their guests in mind. The walk around the property is steep which you would expect sitting on the hillside of the Tamar Valley.
We will be back again with our dog Layla in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor rating, comments and suggestions - we're delighted you had another enjoyable holiday at Okel Tor Mine and look forward to seeing you and Layla again next year!

Just to clarify for anyone else reading, the garden adjacent to the cottage is level and cut into the hillside, and it's possible to explore much of the mine using the public footpaths, most of which are reasonably level, and the bridlepath down to the village is not very steep.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing