We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb for a weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
BeeWee49
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb for a weekend break”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

There are two cottages at Okel Tor. We stayed in The Smithy - two of us and a dog. The owner (who lives in another cottage nearby) was forewarned about the dog and provided towels for drying and cleaning her off after walks; and a throw to cover the sofa. This is very off the beaten track, but the cottage is well equipped, superbly insulated and staying here is not roughing it. We agree with everything the previous reviewer has said. Would only add that the Okel Tor Mine area is fascinating; and the walks from the cottage are superb. Would strongly recommend.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your dog and found the mine fascinating. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and kind recommendation. We're pleased to hear that you had everything you needed for an enjoyable and peaceful stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stylish comfort
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and lovely comments about The Smithy. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with your dog Eric and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna T
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautiful, romantic - but enough about me!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has everything you'd want (except maybe wifi but that's a bonus for many) and is really picturesque. The decor is stunning - beautifully simple and the bathroom is kept at a tropical temperature! The bed linen is gorgeous (I suspect White Company) and the bed is really comfortable. Calstock is a lovely walk away (please note the random decorations in the wall at the bottom of the track) and a perfect place for a complete rest.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and kind remarks about the cottage. In view of recent improvements to the local exchange we hope to be able to offer WiFi in both cottages very soon! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen N
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

If you need to recharge batteries, this is the perfect place. Its stepping back in time but with all the modern day comforts, a wonderful ambience to the cottage and so peaceful, (unfortunately for the week we spent there, only when the water board stopped work close by but obviously not the fault of Nick the owner) The drive down to the cottage is a little daunting first time and we were concerned about leaving the car in the the parking available for the cottage, especially as we were not made aware that the parking was not next to cottage until after booking. The car came to no harm but I still would prefer it not to have been left by the side of the track.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Ambience and cleanliness of cottage
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
A belated thank you for your Trip Advisor review and comments. We're sorry that SW water happened to be working nearby during your visit but glad that you still had a peaceful stay. We apologise that the website did not mention that the parking space for The Smithy is about 50 metres from the cottage, although it is of course OK to park in front of the cottage to load and unload. The parking for The Count House is adjacent. We will put this information on our new website which we are currently working on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
A belated thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear that your friends enjoyed their stay too, and we look forward to seeing you again in November!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chloe_r81
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A totally relaxing break. We both really enjoyed the no hassle stay in the smithy.

The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area.

Very short walk into the village.

Drive from the main road is shall we say interesting! But manageable. And if it had been closer to the main road the tranquility just wouldn't have been there.

Fully equipped kitchen. Loved having the log burner to keep us all toasty. (Just to note, there is also fully functioning heating in the smithy, but we decided to turn it off to take full advantage of the burner).

Only downside we found was that the sofa and bed weren't massively comfortable. But like many things it's a personal preference and so is an uphill battle to please all on this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you had a relaxing stay at The Smithy, enjoyed the tranquility and made good use of log burner! Following your comments, which were appreciated, we have replaced the mattress and repaired the base of the sofa, so both should now be much more comfortable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing