We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real retreat from a chaotic world”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sazzle02
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A real retreat from a chaotic world”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our second stay at the Smithy,this time with a baby. The location is still fabulous. So peaceful and calming. We walked down to the village, which is lovely and has some nice pubs, then walked along the river to Cotehele. The Smithy is small but lovely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamM14
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“and yet another great stay!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was not our first stay at The Smithy and it certainly won't be our last. This is a perfect place to relax and unwind. Overlooking the Tamar in a tranquil location yet only a short walk to the nearest village with its two pubs , cafe and village shop. There is also a nice walk to Cotehele House and Quay. Our dogs love it here too and love to play with Jess the resident dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeccaan...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a beautiful quiet place perfect for time with you loved one or just relaxing. The location is great as the view is perfect this view can be seen from the lounge and bedroom. I would definitely be going back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okel Tor Mine”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had an amazing stay at the mine. The open fire was very welcoming on the cold nights but with central heating as a backup we we're never cold. The cabin was an excellent base for exploring the area. The people were friendly, the food in the local area was lovely and the cabin was very secluded in an idyllic setting with amazing views......just the place to unwind from the rat race.
A very warm welcome from Nick and Jess (his black lab) will be back again! 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidInDev...
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is our fourth year at Okel Tor and it's still just as wonderful. This time we were also blessed with fabulous weather to enjoy the local walks.
We have stayed in The Smithy and The Count House and they're both lovely, cosy, homely places. Full of character with the great log burners for keeping toasty on chilly winter evenings and super comfortable beds for a great nights sleep.
One of the things I love about Okel Tor is the peace and tranquility, it never fails to recharge my batteries. Thank you Nick and Greg for a great retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, log burner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welshprot...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty little get away”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our family have always raved about this place so we joined them for a couple of nights this year and its easy to see why! Such a gem nestled away in a beautiful part of the world. The cottage was beautifully presented surrounded by lovely trails and the nearby town. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing