We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
GlosFoodi...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Weekend!”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Couldn't recommend The Smithy highly enough!

If you are looking for somewhere to 'get away', relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside this is definitely the place.

The Smithy is immaculate, comfortable and has all of the essentials (TV, WiFi, Board Games, fully stocked kitchen etc) as well as a beautiful little log burner.

We couldn't fault a thing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review - so pleased you found the cottage relaxing and equipped with all the things you needed. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
1 review
“Beautiful setting and great amenities.”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Tamar Valley is perfectly central for exploring the north and south coats of Cornwall and Dartmoor. Cosy accommodation and would recommend to others looking for a dog friendly holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kewal S
1 review
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Beautiful location and well kept accommodation in a very friendly and quiet area. A true hidden gem! Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review and recommendation - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christiec...
Dursley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Total peace and quiet”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

If you want total peace and quiet by day and darkness and quiet by night you could not find anywhere better. The views are amazing, the cottage is compact and bijou but has everything you need. You will be so relaxed and chilled you may never want to go home! It has done both of us a world of good to do almost nothing for a week in the midst of a busy a busy life style. I cannot imagine not coming back in the future. C.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you loved the cottage and its views and had a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob2907
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never fails me”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

When I was asked where I would like to celebrate my 50th birthday there was no competition!! I've been going to Okel Tor on and off for around 17 years although this was my first time in the Smithy. The area is beautiful and peaceful. Every season takes your breath away, be it the wildlife on your doorstep, the cacophony of colour in Autumn or just the relaxing atmosphere of the place. It's a great base for exploring the surrounding countryside and only a short 30 minutes to the coast. Calstock itself is only a 10 minute walk away with two good pubs serving excellent food. The village shop has recently closed but there are supermarkets in Callington and Tavistock, and a couple of convenience stores in Gunnislake, plus Tavistock has some great outlets for local produce. The Smithy itself is clean, plenty of room and has very good amenities. There's a very comfortable bed sofa in the living area, which we used on a couple of evenings when we wanted to laze and watch TV. Views across the Tamar valley are breathtaking and my favourite part of the day here has always been to have breakfast on the porch. The two things I would recommend you do when you go here are (1) when you've arrived and unpacked just stop and listen ... The silence is amazing; and (2) if you get a cloud free night look at the stars. Can't wait to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Idyllic pet-friendly cottage in beautiful rural location”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage had all that we needed, including log-burning stove to brighten a rainy evening. It was comfortable and clean. Nick (the owner) was friendly and helpful. The cottage is on the site of an old mine, with lovely woodland walks along the river Tamar and an interesting history. There was peace and quiet with a postcard view over the river and wooded valley. And the surrounding area in Cornwall (fabulous coastal walks) and Devon (dartmoor especially) is easily accessible and great for those holidaying with dogs. But be prepared for rain. And for heavy traffic to get in and out of South-West England.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniecat2...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Smithy at Okel Tor”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our stay in the Smithy at Okel Tor was excellent in all respects.
It's something to which we look forward to doing again. Many thanks.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing