We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My college-aged daughter and I spent 5 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a little studio which was perfect for us. The hotel's very friendly and helpful manager, Shaun, and a driver, met us at the Flybus station and brought us back there at the end of our stay. In between, Shaun was a wealth of information, arranging for a rental car for us, giving us wonderful advice on places to visit and how to get there. Our room was quiet, spotlessly clean and large, overlooking the snow-capped mountain range. The breakfasts were huge and kept us filled for hours. Although there are not a lot of restaurants in the area, there are grocery stores and a couple of fast-food places right outside the door. Shaun told us about the Alafoss bistro, a great place where we ate dinner 2 nights - the food was great, the price was right, the atmosphere friendly and it was a very pleasant 10-minute walk from our hotel door. It's very easy to get into the city center on the bus right across the street, so you really don't have to have a car. We rented one for a couple of days to take day trips and the rest of the time we used the bus to get into the city. All in all, this hotel is a real bargain and if you want to avoid the noise and bustle of the city center hotels, go to this one!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed for three days on total, at the beginning and end of our trip in Iceland. Hotel Laxnes is in a great location, 20 mins drive from downtown and close to many natural sites. The rooms are spacious, clean and with an amazing mountain view where you can also see northern lights at night (if you are lucky with the weather!). You also get free wi-fi connection. They offer breakfast but no restaurant. The manager was really nice and helpful, he also suggested us an amazing day trip off the main tourist routes. Definitely a place to stay if you plan to explore Reykjavik and neighbouring areas but also a strategic place to start/end your on the road trip in Iceland

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picchio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed at the Laxnes for one night at the end of my trip around Iceland, wish I'd come across this place sooner. Great value for money. Every room has brilliant view of the mountains with a French balcony. A very peaceful atmosphere and Reykjavik, Keflavik and Alafoss are all nearby.

There is a large car park on site and also a bar with music & sports. The bathroom has a shower and a bath. Staff here are very friendly and helpful and good selection of breakfast is also provided.

A fantastic place to stay, I will be returning!

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank olitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This hotel was very clean, the rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The price was good and the location is perfect for visiting Thingvillir or the Alafoss mill. The only downside is that there is no restaurant yet (they do serve a nice breakfast though).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10102011o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The village is a bit out of Reyjkavic but it's a quick 10 mins if you have a rental car. Area is quiet and very pleasant. Close to Laxnes riding stables. The hotel was wonderful. Big rooms with skylights and very stylish and modern. Nothing to fault at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwriterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

After not being able to find a suitable hotel in Reykjavik (they were either too expensive or the reviews said they were noisy), we decided to look further out and came across Hotel Laxnes. If you are going to hire a car then this location is ideal, as it is only a 15min drive into the capital and you end up in a clean and quiet hotel.

The room was modern, clean and comfortable. Our only criticism was that it was so hot – we couldn’t see how the room was heated to turn it down! We opened the window but as it is near the N1 we had to shut it at night to keep the road noise out.

Breakfast was simple but plentiful and the guys who ran the place were friendly and helpful.

Near the hotel there are two supermarkets, a bakery, petrol station, Subway and KFC, should you require them.

If we were to come back to Iceland we would definitely stay here again.

In terms of recommendations for food, do go and try the Nautholl restaurant, at the thermal beach as the food and staff were lovely. We also went to Prir Frikkar, but we were disappointed as we were crammed in and the service was quick as they wanted the table – there were 3 tables of people waiting when we came out at 9.15 (we had booked in advance but no table was reserved for us, so we just jumped the queue outside as a result). The food was not as special as we had expected.

Go whale watching with Elding (this was my second trip with them as when I went last August we didn’t see any whales and I got a free return trip!) and make sure you go on the free walking tour from one of the tourist offices (just off the square) as the guy had lots to tell and was funny too!

We also went to some of the public swimming baths to go in the hot tubs (it costs less than £2 versus about £25 for the Blue Lagoon – I did the Blue lagoon last time and while it was an experience I enjoyed relaxing in the poolsat the public baths just as much) – there is a lovely one at the other end of Mossfelsbaer (Reykjavik side) where you can see the mountains from the tubs (it is the one with the water slides).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

A modern hotel situated just off the main Route 1 ring road with ample parking and adjacent to the commercial centre. Good sized rooms with views to the mountains. The staff were friendly, helpful, and gave advice about the area. There is also a bar to have a drink and relax in. This is a relatively cheap hotel (internet special rate through Active Hotels booking) but doesn't feel it. If you don't need or want to be in the centre of Reykjavik this is worth considering.
Down side is the lack of a restaurant. You wont starve as there are many fast food places around, but I didn't fly to Iceland to have KFC as my culinary experience, even if Icelanders do queue up for it. Did find an inconspicuous Kaffi nearby with decent cooked to order food - standing with your back to the reception door, look 45 degrees left to a red burger joint on the corner, and just left is the Draumakaffi.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Travelling_Tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing