We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Awesome service”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Awesome service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My family of four (kids 12 and 9) made our first trip to Iceland earlier this month and spent seven nights at Hotel Laxnes. We chose this hotel based on several recommendations on this website and we were not disappointed. Through their website we were able to arrange transfers from the airport. We also were able to arrange multiple excursions. Shaun, the hotel manager, was extremely helpful not only helping us to arrange our stay, but also helping us out with directions and managing the city bus schedule. It was an easy trip to the city using the city buses and the busstop is located right near the hotel. He helped us also with local restaurant suggestions. The hotel itself is very clean and offers a nice continental breakfast and an awesome lamb soup in the evenings. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice Iceland visit, while staying just outside the city itself.

Room Tip: Our room had a college-size fridge with a cooktop which helped us save some money. There are 2 gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottk5789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Let me start by saying I knew absolutely nothing about Iceland when I started looking into student group travel. I contacted Max at Hotel Laxnes and from the very first email he was so helpful and friendly that I never searched for another hotel. I can guesstimate that Max and I exchanged over 100 emails over the course of months - and he was so very very patient with my requests, changes, questions, etc.... He helped arrange for the rooms and all of the tours for this group. I was able to pay for everything through Laxnes and all at a very reasonable rate. We ended up with an itinerary that was flawless and in the words of the chaperone who traveled with the students, " The six day excursion was a tremendous mix of sightseeing, learning opportunities, and "holy cow!" experiences! We could not have been more pleased with the results." Shaun was wonderful arranging meals at various locations, finding us discounts and sharing menus with me. Between the three of us, we had the itinerary down to the minute. It was a wonderful experience for the students. As my review title said, Laxnes is more than a hotel - it is a true treasure. If like me, you know very little about Iceland and want to stay in a clean, well managed, wonderfully located hotel and have the bonus of a helpful, courteous, respectful and knowledgeable staff then please go with Laxnes. And if you are a seasoned Icelandic traveler I would suggest trying them also - I am certain through conversations Max and Shaun will come up with an adventure you never expected. I am posting a photo of the hotel with the majestic mountain in the background. Thanks for reading! Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have been in hotel Laxnes in the last days of June and the first days of August 2013. I have travelled around the world for business and have experienced good and bad. This hotel and its staff exceed good. Cosy, friendly, well located, just next to the highway. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Breakfast is simple, but all you need is there.

Iceland gives you the possibility to go back to "human roots". People in this hotel know where to find these roots. Not pushing for commission on tours, honest advice to make you stay "carved in mind forever".

We as a family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) would highly recommend this hotel !!

Shaun, thanks for making our stay so good. (Dankie)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Me and my partner came here in July to celebrate our anniversary, and its safe to say we could not have picked a better destination than Iceland and no better hotel than Hotel Laxnes!.. It was only a 20 minute drive from Reykjavik, which although was 10 minutes longer than we'd expected, was close enough to Reykjavik but also far enough out into the country to give us the peacefulness that we were after. The town of Mosfellsbaer is small and not exactly buzzing nightlife but it had everything we needed and lots of choices for meals out, i would definitely say go to the Alafoss for tea one evening the food was amazing!! In the daytime we went on many different walks around and about the town and down to the beach one day these were kindly pointed out by the hotel manager Shaun who was very helpful!.. As for the rooms.. these were just nice, comfortable and clean and had good blackout blinds which we needed as it was 24 hour daylight!.. A huge highlight for us was celebrating our anniversary in the hot tub overlooking the mountains with a glass of wine from the bar! Beautiful!..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yesterday we returned from a trip to Iceland. Hotel Laxnes was our starting point. I would like to mention a very convenient location, comfortable rooms and a good breakfast. Shaun, the hotel manager was very kind and help us to organize whole trip. I hope to return again to Iceland and to this hotel. Many thanks to them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for a week. Great room, breakfast was good. Somewhat happy with the service. There was one guy in particular who seemed to work at the bar who wasn't the nicest to us but everyone at the front desk was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great holiday. Very nice small hotel. Good location. Good local facilities.Very good bus service into city. Staff very friendly and especially helpful in booking excursions. Would certainly consider going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlisleSlowcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,558 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing