We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great quiet location and friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a lovely time in Iceland with my partner and was a great stay at Hotel Laxnes which is only about 20-30min bus ride from the main city Reykjavik, bus stop is located outside the hotel which is really handy.
Staff Shaun and his colleague were really friendly, informative and provided great customer service and attention from making sure our excursion bus was on time to giving us info about life in Iceland.
Loved that there was a pool table to play, which my partner and I took full advantage of and it was free.
Rooms were nice, spacious and clean but basic and practical.
Transit to and from the hotel is very good via bus if booked all inclusive as you don't need to worry about running late.
There is a nice, quaint village 10min walk down the river from the hotel, offering a homely bistro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanella2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Samanella2013, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October.
We appreciate your comments on our location and our service. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the extremely helpful staff who booked us in without any hassle then shown to our family rooms, which have ensuite bathrooms any plenty of space for our belongings. Although the hotel is located close to a main road the traffic noise was barely audible. The location of the hotel is very well situated away from the hustle and bustle of Reykjavik but close enough to pop in and do some shopping and visit museums in the Reykjavik area. It is also very well situated for accessing all the main routes to other areas of Iceland.
The breakfasts were a fairly typical continental style but I can highly recommend the yoghurt with muesli.
The staff are all very helpful and will do just about anything to meet your requirements, including giving us a wake up call in the middle of the night to view the aurora borealis (Northern Lights).
We will certainly be returning in the near future, fantastic hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Geofee, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in November. We would really enjoy you staying again at the hotel in the near future. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Arrived before check in to be greeted by Shaun who said that our room was ready for us as we arrived a good time before check-in. We stayed in room 12 and found the room to be very clean and spacious. Shaun advised us that trips could be booked through the hotel itself which was very convienent as whatever trips we would like to go on he would arrange it for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff especially Shaun.

The hotel is a good distance from Reykjavik itself but has decent transport links via the local bus (350 ISK) each. The area itself is quiet and relaxing which was ideal if you want to chill out. It has a supermarket and food outlets a stones throw away. The bar area has a lot of character and on our second evening we met a little lab puppy called Laxnes.

Overall if you would like peace and an relaxing time in Iceland with a chance to see the northern lights from your window visit the Laxnes Hotel. Could not recommend it highly enough.

Thanks to all the staff.


Craig & Jen

Room Tip: Any of the rooms that overlook the mountains to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Craig & Jen, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October. We're always honored to have honeymoon couples stay at the hotel, so thank you. Especially that we could make your stay feel so welcoming. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel Laxnes is set in beautiful surroundings and we had an excellent stay there in October 2013! The staff is very kind and helpful, hotel was very clean with an excellent service! It feels homely and it is beautifully decorated! Very close to all local amenities! Would highly recommend it! Thanks to all staff for making our holiday so amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with mountain view, it's absolutely amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hi Georgina L, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October. We're pleased to hear it was your "Best Holiday ever!" All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here in September 2013.

Hotel was clean and comfortable as well as having more personality than many of the more modern hotels in which I've stayed. Whilst not in the centre of Reykjavic it has great transport links into the city and offers a much quieter location for relaxing.

Staff were excellent, one should mention Shaun in particular who was extremely friendly and helpful in advising us where to go, what to see and in booking excursions to make it happen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan_Traffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On arrival at hotel Laxnes we were welcomed by Shaun who was very helpful throughout our holiday and with the planning of excursions.Our first night was to Northern lights (or not!) this is a most miserable trip when you dont see them, my advice would be to go as early in your holiday as possible to get as many chances as possible to see them. We spent the next day in Reykjavik it takes local bus about 20 mins but you need correct fare. We then did Golden Circle by Super Jeep including 1 hour snowmobile ride a great day out though I wont deny I was petrified on snow mobile but husband thought he was James Bond! Spent the next day at Blue Lagoon lovely and relaxing but be careful what package you choose we took our own towel and paid for the cheapest package including coach this was £100 for the two of us.Back to the Northern Lights again with a bit better sucess this time! Back to the hotel.. our room was lovely probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in and very clean the breakfast was substantial and the bar on your doorstep. We had most of our meals at the White Knight sports bar our favourite meal was fish of the day. All in all a great place to stay and a great place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KVR61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
163 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you want a good chance of seeing the Northern Lights, this is a good place for you. There is too much light pollution in the centre of town so you won't see much, so it's good to be out somewhere a bit darker. You can get a bus easily to the town centre in about 20 minutes. The rooms were basic but clean with decent, fast Wi-Fi.

Staff were friendly and helpful and there were a couple of restaurants nearby in walking distance, and a very good bakery! There's also a Bonus supermarket directly across the road...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
990 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,562 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing