We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at Laxnes”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
RAUNDS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stay at Laxnes”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Laxnes as part of a Groupon deal, as I hadn't wanted to stay in town (as that hotel offered had bad reviews and I thought if it were anything like London it would be rowdy...needless to say, i've since learnt Icelanders have far better manners than the English and staying in town would probably have been fine!)
Reception staff (and I'd better point out eveyrone in the hotel speaks excellent English, in fact the whole of Iceland seems to!) were lovely and helpful throughout, and act as a mini tourist information centre - they have lots of leaflets and advice about where to go or stay, can liaise with the trip operator for you and have a small shop for postcards, stamps and souvenirs. Icelandic Excursions/Grayline pick up from the hotel - very handy, and the drivers were always helpful and polite - though you do have to transfer to the centre of Reykjavik to join the main tour bus (do check, though, as they can drop you off on the way back, depending on where you've been.)
We were given a much bigger room than anticipated - plenty of wardrobe space, ensuite bathroom with a window that opened (Helpful when we got a bit warm) and best of all mini kitchen facilities - kettle, microwave, sink, cutlery etc. Handy when we didn't want to go out or got back late. TV has CNN, the Icelandic channel occasionally shows TV shows made in ENgland. We did have a good mountain view, too, but didn't see the lights (they'd had excellent views just last Saturday, however!) Room is very warm but as other shave said you can't control it yourself, but we didn't find that a problem at all - rather be warm in a blizzard than cold! Excellent (free) wifi connection, too, which meant we could research/check details of places we were going to visit.
Breakfast - we didn't know why other people had complained on this website! Tea/Coffee/fruit squash, porridge with sugar/cinnamon/raisins as you wish, yoghurt, cereals, orange slices, ham, boiled egg, tomato, brown or white bread, toasters, fresh butter, tuna/onion/mayo spread as well as bacon/egg/mayo spread and jam/marmalade. Help yourself buffet style, so as alittle or much as you want, and always plenty of room in the restaurant/bar area. (nicely decorated for CHristmas, we thought!) There were some people who seemed surprised that there wasn't a "cooked English" - either they hadn't done their research properly, or else are not used to travelling abroad. There's plenty there if you have normal "British" food for Breakfast, and some more Scandinavian things to try too.
The bar is open from 6pm, there was Gull and Tuborg on tap (both nice to try), and we were offered a taste of shark and Brennivin if we'd wanted it. We played darts and pool, too - a handly little area to relax and chat to other guests.
Buses into town are every 30 minutes, from right outside the hotel; 350 IKR as a flat fee (get the printed ticket however if you will need to transfer; they are valid for 60 minutes anywhere in the Reykjavik area, and not all drivers will give you it if they assume you're just going into the town centre at Hlemmur.) 15 is the main one, but you can get the 18 too if you wanted the BSI terminal (I think!)
There's a nice and handy KFC over the road, along with a petrol station which has a mini shop for milk/coffee/hot dogs, Subway, Domino's, and there's a bakery (selling hand made chocolate) and sports bar just a minute further down. Pizza Rizzo's is past the shopping mall, but there is a Bonus supermarket if you want to get tea/coffee etc to use in the kitchen. The restaurant at Alafoss was recommended to us, as it's only a 15 minute walk, but we just didn't fancy it in the snow - if you go there (and several others), you get a 10% discount because you're staying at Hotel Laxnes. THe hotel also serve meat soup some nights (it's not everynight, so check)
There's also a geothermal swimming pool we'd planned to visit in Mosfellsbaer that we'd planned to visit, it's on the 15 bus route or cetainly within walking distance, just didn't get time to go.
If you had a car, I can imagine it would give you a bit more freedom - Laxnes horse farm is near (though they can pick up from the hotel) as is the Laxnes Museum.
Right I think that's it! Certainly a better standard of hotel than we'd perhaps expected from Groupon, so very pleased. Yes, the rooms are a little worn in places - so if you're used to 5* American hotels you probably wouldn't enjoy it- our sofa had a tear in it, and there was a persistent smell in the bathroom - but it didn't bother us, housekeeping cleaned/checked the room for us every day and in fact the imperfections made it seem more lived in and normal, not like a 'tourist' trap at all. Thank you, Laxnes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Kim M, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. Your very detailed review I am sure will be useful for many future guests! Seasons Greetings to you and your family, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    309
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
532
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay in October, room was fairly basic but clean, decent selection of food for breakfast. A few restaurants and shops nearby, not far to get into Reykjavik and good location for excursions though better if you've got a hire car. Staff at the hotel very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi AndrewM, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October with your family. Short and sweet review! Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Very warm rooms (no fridges in rooms but cold windowsills!). Staff very helpful and efficient. It is 3* but for a short visit that's all you need. Rooms a bit spartan but warm and comfortable. Beds comfortable. Breakfast basic but I like porridge so fine with me! Tours collect from hotel, nearby facilities for snacks/coffee & cake. Food in sports bar next to bakery opposite hotel excellent with impressive pizza menu too and kids meals as well. Fish was cooked perfectly - didnt expect this standard of food from outside. Bus stop outside goes into reykjavic, cheap and efficient. Didnt see northern lights but will try again, no worries. Made everything easy but you also got mountain views too. I personally wouldnt hire a car this time of year (unless its a massive 4x4)

Room Tip: room 1 next to stairs and opposite entrance was noisy but Shaun moved us without trouble to room 6 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Edie4444, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. A nice read of best tips you discovered during your stay. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. The place is 3* and that is reflected, but the hotel is new, the staff are great, and there are a few local amenities nearby. There is a good bus service to reykjavik downtown about every 30 mins I believe, and most excursion providers will pick up from the hotel which is handy! Simple but cosy rooms, really nice after a long day in the cold! Staff will assist you with any bookings, making a short break here a great option for those who want to blitz the best Iceland has to offer in 3 or 4 days. The hotels location would mean that it is perfect is you have your own car, hire a car, or for groups with a coach.

Room Tip: Top tip - room 8 has a small balcony - ask the staff to show you how to set up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdcw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi cdcw77, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December. Even though you were on business, it seems like you were able to get in a bit of Iceland, and yes ideal for the short breaks! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We returned to this hotel after having stayed in Dec 2011.
Love this place! Views from rooms are amazing.
For the location, you do need a hire car. It's approx 15-20 min drive from central Reykjavik, 50 mins-1 hour from airport.
Staff very friendly and helpful, especially with regards to advising about trips!
Hotel has everything you need for a great stay in Iceland. The hotel is so quaint - would recommend to you all and will definitely return here if we come back to Iceland!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Keely0207, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December. Thanks for returning to the hotel after visiting us in 2011, we really appreciate it. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for the first week in December 2012 and 2013. Just a lovely, warm, clean and value for money hotel, set in a great location, with friendly staff and friendly locals who frequent the bar.
We give a score of 5 for value for money, rather than for facilities and amenities. You get more than what you pay for, but don't expect 4/5 star amenities for 2/3 star prices.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel directly. Room 10 or 13, with sky lights that open into balconies, and overlook Mt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi Andy N, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December. Thanks again for staying with us the 2nd time around during this time of year, we really appreciate it. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The staff of this hotel make the place. They provided a very warm welcome and were helpful in booking excursions on our behalf. The rooms had been refurbished and were adequate and clean, albeit a little too hot at times with no air conditioning available. The bar has a traditional feel with a good selection of beverages although the place had more of a 'hostel' feel to it with a broken pool table and darts board. They could do with offering a wider range of evening meals - particularly as the hotel is around 15-20minutes outside of Reykjavik. The breakfast is fairly basic with no staff around to assist. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thanks for your comments and it seems you were very happy with our service and most things but you still give us a poor 3 star based on a pool table which you thought was broken which is not and no assistance with breakfast which again is incorrect .In regards to evening meals we only have a small kitchen and only stock an Icelandic Lamb Soup as there are plenty places nearby for dinner, as in a sports bar ,Alafoss Bistro and a number of hamburger fast food places .
Best Regards
Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
988 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,561 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing