We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location - Hotel Laxnes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Location - Hotel Laxnes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed mid-dec. Before going they were very helpful in booking actives and learning about the area. Only over the road was a supermarket and ATM's.

We arrived late on a Friday and wanted something to eat. We was advised a local restaurant which was about 10-15mins away. The service and food was great and if you show them your key you get 10% of the bill.

We were very lucky to see the northern lights. The location of the hotel helped seeing the lights too.

We hope to visit Iceland again and would happily stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KLowe602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi KLowe602, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your partner. So pleased that you got to see the northern lights while you were here! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    306
    99
    14
    7
See reviews for
218
521
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Greetings travellers!

I stayed at hotel laxnes during my first ever trip to Iceland, and I must say I was far from disappointed.

Helpful, friendly staff
Bus links to Reykjavik
AURORA BOREALIS VIEWS
mountain views
Clean, fresh environment
Breakfast room/Minibar

That plus more, I could not have planned a better vacation if I had tried. Any problems encountered or queries, Shaun the manager did not waste time in assisting, very helpful and knowledgeable.

I highly, highly recommend hotel laxnes and it's warm welcome and comfort, and I will be booking again for further excursions.

Ps you won't be cold, the radiators are awesome.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank firstpassport_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi firstpassport_13, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December. Your review certainly says it all, thanks! We look forward to your return. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff (especially Shaun and Nunu) were so helpful and friendly, and booked all of our trips and tours for us. The breakfast is very good and fills you up until dinner. The rooms were warm and cosy and the beds very comfortable!

On our first night we walked over to the Sports Bar accross the road. The food here is really good, the portions are huge so be careful when ordering a starter! We ate here again on our 2nd night, and joined in the local game of bingo!

Make sure to do the Golden Circle trip with the snowmobiles, this trip was fantastic and takes you to the geysers, Gulfoss waterfall and accross a glacier where you do the snowmobiling. We also did the quadbiking trip with the blue lagoon, this was also very good and worth doing before heading over to the lagoon.

On our last night we took a trip with Amazing Tours to hunt for the Northern Lights. We took the SuperJeep tour, which we would recommend. It's a private tour so was just the 7 of us plus the driver. He drove us up the mountains and off road down to a beach to find the lights. We were lucky enough to have chosen a good night to hunt for them - the KP was at an unusally high 6 - meaning the lights were very active. On top of the mountain we saw an amazing bright show of the lights, which our driver said was a beauty and is only this good 2-3 times per year! Around half an hour after returning to the hotel, we looked out of the window and saw the sky lit up again! We got a really good show again from outside the hotel, and later on (around 2am) saw the lights again outside the hotel!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody and look forward to visiting again!!!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel before arriving to request a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hi Becki G, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes over the new year with your family. We´re pleased to read that you had a great time and experienced a local bingo! Even more so that you experienced the spectacular Aurora show. We look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This review is very overdue, but we really wanted to leave a review as this was our second time to the Hotel Laxnes and they really went out of there way to do everything they could for us. We were in a suite, which had loads of space and a lovely big balcony. The breakfast is similar to what you get in a lot of places in Iceland- cold meats, cheese, tomato, cucumber, bread. They were the only place we stayed to also have porridge. They also gave us lots of advice about our trip around Iceland and Northern light hunting etc. We rented a car from the hotel as well and we got a sat nav included in the price, which was a comfort to have as a back up on our journey. The hotel is an easy bus ride if about half an hour into the centre of Reykjavik (they only take exact money on the bus) and there are a couple of restaurants, takeaway pizza places, a KFC and a supermarket and bakery right there. We would definitely go back to this hotel again when we return to Iceland, which we hope to do soon. Many thanks to the staff at Laxnes, especially Shaun, for making us feel so welcome. Iceland is an absolutely amazing country- incredibly beautiful, clean, wild, remote and a country of true extremes. Everyone should go!

Room Tip: Top floor with a view towards the mountains. Suites are huge and also have a balcony, but the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank br88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi br88_13, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in October with your partner. It means a lot to us when return guests still appreciate what the hotel has to offer. We look forward to your return. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great location about 15 minute drive from Reykjavik, plenty to eat nearby within walking distance. Staff were friendly and welcoming, breakfast was traditional and filled a need until lunch or even dinner. Family room was a little snug but we got used to it and even had our room picnic on christmas eve!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrettg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hi barrettg41, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. Your Christmas Eve picnic sounds like fun, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. All the best, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We went to Iceland to celebrate my 60th Birthday and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Yes it's outside R,yvik but that's a plus as you have great views of the mountains and live with local people. Shaun is a perfect host and will ensure that your stay is enjoyable, and will help you in every regard. If you do the Golden Circle tour one advantage is that you get dropped of first on the way back in. Thanks for a great visit Shaun.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferengi528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hi GerryAirley, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. We're pleased you celebrated your 60th here at Hotel Laxnes! Many thanks for sharing your pictures. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

we chose to stay at Hotel Laxnes because if the Northern Lights were to be seen, we would be able to see it from the hotel. Unfortunately, the weather was not good when we were there in the evenings so we didn't manage to see them. The hotel is so cosy and friendly. the staff are exceptionally helpful and will suggest and book any tour you wish to go on. We did a lot of our trips through Icelandic excursions and they were very helpful. we took the local bus from Reykjavic to the hotel and that was extremely easy and very convenient. the room was very clean and well equipped for our requirements and warm too. The bar is very comfortable and the staff are very eager to please and chat to you also. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Maybe if a bowl of soup could be available early evening when you have come in from a trip and are starving hungry but don't want too much to spoil your appetite for later on. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and for finding and sending my daughter's favourite toy back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 315Wallaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hi 3115Wallaces, thank you for your review on your stay at Hotel Laxnes in December with your family. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your request for soup is noted: we serve soup some evenings after 18:00, but not all evenings. We're happy we could assist you daughter with reuniting her with her favorite teddy. :-) Thanks for the 5/5. Seasons Greetings, Hotel Laxnes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing