We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find.”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Had a great time in hotel Laxnes. The staff were friendly and happy to help with recommendations for excursions and restaurants in the city centre. The location is perfect, with excellent views of the countryside. Reykjavik is a small place, so the city centre is easily reached either on foot or by taxi. This is an ideal hotel for any visit to the city.

Room Tip: Speak to Shaun - he's the man!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    310
    104
    15
    7
See reviews for
220
533
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkenes, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Decided to visit Iceland again, this time with my girlfriend, for the easter. In addition to the room the reception managed a rental car and a adventure trip with a super jeep. Everything was as expected and a unforgettable evening in the jacuzzi underneath a starlighted aurora sky was a big once in a lifetime experience. For me the staff is what makes this just above averege accomodation to a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Laxnes last year our first time to Iceland. Was a great experience, good value very comfortable and fantastic staff ~ thanks guys wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope to return soon. Location is to die for, views amazing.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We decided to stay our last two nights here to have the best chance of seeing the Northern Lights - no luck.

Our hotel room was very large and roomy. The bathroom is also very large. The hotel is a bit dated.... faded carpet, mismatched window drapes etc. Space appeared to be very clean, but we got a strange odor from the bathroom - a bit like sour disinfectant.

Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was standard - toast, eggs, cereal, oatmeal etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Yes our rooms are large and i agree not everything blends in the room but its clean and all works .This is not a boutique hotel and we are not trying to make any fashion statements .
The room you were in is a lovely room with a small Balconette on the upper floor with the most amazing view overlooking the Esja Mountain.I would think the bathroom smelled of the cleaning liquid as the room had just been freshly cleaned before you came into it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here there reception staff were very helpful and it was good to not be staying in the city centre, You can get to the centre by bus it takes about 30mins. There is a KFC, Dominos and a Subway but not much in the way of local cuisine but you can task a trip into Reykjavik for dinner and there is two supermarkets to get food for lunch etc. The view form the rooms is amazing and well worth being out of the city for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

From booking the hotel through to arriving and leaving, my wife and I had a really good experience.

Shaun, the hotel manager was very friendly and helpful, and the staff who worked there very approachable, talkative and eager to assist with whatever; like borrowing a uk-eu adapter plug :o)

The room was fantastic, super comfortable and with a wonderful panoramic view of the mountainous scenery.

We could have stayed in Reykjavik, but we were both glad we ended up staying about 15/20 minutes outside. The views look perfect for seeing the aurora; alas we couldn't even see the sky due to too many clouds so the aurora was out of question, but what can you do, maybe an added reason to return.

We did go on a couple excursions, which Shaun kindly booked for us in advance.

Overall, Iceland was amazing - we definitely want to go again. The hotel was brilliant; one which we would like to stay at again.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 9 was a very nice suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had the most amazing holiday staying at the Hotel Laxnes.

We booked one of the suites. This was a very large room with sitting area and a balcony that looked out towards the mountains. We had a four year old with us and knew we wouldn't be able to do any of the late night Northern Lights trips, so we hoped we could put him to bed and keep watch. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast, that is included in the price, is basic…but the porridge is delicious!

Shaun, the manager, and all the staff at the hotel are lovely, knowledgeable and helpful. We stayed for a week and hired a car, which enabled us to visit the sights at our leisure. And what sights there were! We say geysers, stunning waterfalls, boiling rivers and mud, huge volcanic craters, hump backed whales breaching and spy hopping... it seemed as though it was a never ending list of must see experiences. After six nights of keeping watch on the balcony and giving up hope seeing the Northern Lights we got a grand finale of them lighting up two nights running.

Thank you Hotel Laxnes, you contributed to such a great holiday and memories.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
519 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing