We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, superb service and a beautiful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great hotel, superb service and a beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Laxnes during a business trip to Iceland for 6 days and really enjoyed it. I had a suite which had vaulted ceilings and a sliding glass door to a private deck looking out over the mountains. There was a skylight as well and gave great light and good air circulation. The bed was comfortable and there were two couches with a coffee table and extra chairs along with a desk. There was a closet as well and a spacious bathroom. The staff are amazing and the breakfast is Euro style and tasty with options from oatmeal, cereal and toast to hard boiled eggs, meats, tuna and cheese. There is a quaint little bar there ewith a large screen tv and nice sound system for watching the games or Eurovision and a great little lounge with pool table. The hot tub on the deck tops it all off! There are restaurants, groceries and bars all within walking distance as well as hiking int he local mountains. A great place just outside Reykjavik!

Room Tip: I had a suite with a great deck looking out over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    304
    97
    14
    7
See reviews for
214
513
62
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Laxnes for week in the beginning of may. For us the location was perfect, really easy to access Reykjavik and all the local attractions around Southern Iceland. Amazing Shaun helped us a lot to find the best places to see and things to do during our stay. Also really nice hot tub on the backyard:) Breakfast was okey not too many fresh ingredients.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I returned to Mosfellsbaer for my second time as this area is perfect for relax and easy to use the rental car from and to the airport within convenient connection to Reykjavik or other local attractions when staying for an extended visit on the island. From the hot pot you have the most magnificent view of the surrounding mountains and the quietness make the perfect relaxations.
The friendly staff make your stay even better as they make you feel like you at home. I defiantly can recommend others to experience the same when visiting Iceland in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackUK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here in April and were satisfied with the hotel. It is very minimalistic, including the breakfast. The manager was friendly and helpful, but the rest of the staff were neither rude or friendly. It seems a bit overrated from other reviews and is off the beaten path in regards to Reykjavik. Rooms were clean and sparse.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firemarshallbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are unhappy to hear that our Hotel was not up to standard with your expectations and would appreciate you email me your comments and suggestions how we could have done better for you.
Yes i agree we are off the beaten track far enough from Reykjavik and the noise and traffic polution which is a blessing for us to be in a remote enough area .There is a bus service which takes 20 minutes into the City and by car its 12 minutes so not so far .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the lexnes twice, first time years ago as the downtown was fully booked and had the chance to discover another side of the city. it's a very nice hotel with very big rooms and wonderful view of the northern lights. Very helpful staff, the manager gave me a lift few times to the downtown. I had returned 2 years later and enjoyed the hot tube outside that is just an amazing experience!!!!!
will definitely return
Riccardo

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riccardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was my third trip to Iceland and second stay the the hotel laxnes near near Reykjavik loved my stay at this hotel once again...the hot tubs are just off the radar and the staff generally all amazing..till next year guys !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

No fame, no shame. It’s an acceptable option just off the main road heading to the golden circle from Rejkjavik. We found it overrated by other reviews especially for views/surroundings.

Money-wise, the EUR 95 we paid scored rather low in terms of value for money compared to other hotels both in Rejkjavik itself and in other places in Iceland. In hindsight having travelled around 85-80 would have been a fairer range in our opinion. Served us well though as a stop & go option to rest on the way, with the feeling of a clean motel on the road.

Good scores in cleanliness and in courtesy of the staff. Scored low in terms of breakfast which did not offer many options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Average and a 3 star review in my eyes is meaning bad ,a 4 star would be more average so I guess we have to improve on a few things .
I would appreciate your suggestions for the breakfast as there is plenty of it ,maybe not the most in selection but we can change this .Location wise we can not change and are both lucky and happy to have such a lovely Mountain view ,close to nature and all the hiking trails and beaches and river. the very best of both worlds as we are only a 12 minute car drive from Reykjavik City Center .When it comes to value Euro95 for a double room including breakfast is as standard as you get .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing