We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, exceptional service”
Review of Hotel Laxnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laxnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, exceptional service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at hotel laxnes in July. We loved our stay at this Beautiful hotel. The view from the room was spectacular. Nunu & Shaun at reception were very helpful & recommended & booked some amazing tours for us. Would love to come back & stay here again. Vik & Jules Sydney, Australia

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vrangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    311
    105
    15
    7
See reviews for
223
533
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Laxnes recently, the room was comfortable, reasonably priced, but the thing that will keep us going back is the customer service we received from the manager Shaun. It was amazing. He organised some incredible tours for us. He is a asset to the company. Thanks Shaun, and thanks to the young guy who works the bar. He was awesome too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissHurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Myself and my sister stayed at the Hotel Laxnes for 5 night in early March.
Room: we had a large spacious room, two beds, 3 door wardrobe, desk with kettle and complimentary tea and coffee, coffee table and sofas (which was a nice touch), TV with mainly news channels which was fine as we weren't in the room too often, bathroom was spacious with a bath tub, a balcony overlooking the mount Esja - amazing views and fresh clean towels provided everyday. The rooms were always very nice and warm when we came back from a excursions. Overall had a nice comfortable sleep on all days.
Hotel Staff & facilities: breakfast was provided with the usual tea, coffee, juice, yoghurt, porridge, toast, cheese, salads and fruit. Not your full English breakfast so would be great if fried eggs, veg sausages, hash browns could be introduced. The area where breakfast is served is very nice and on some days where there are sports showing a projector is put up on the wall. Their is a little lounge area where you can sit on the sofas and a pool table as well (at a cost). It's very cosy there and gave me a very nostalgic feel to when I went on a countryside trip in the UK. The staff were all very friendly! They helped us with sorting out any excursions and also kindly put out notices of when the Northern Lights tour would be running.
Local area: Their is a KFC and dominos pizza nearby which we went to a couple of times. Also two local supermarkets in the area too, one is called krona and the other has a pink pig sign (can't remember the name) but it's basically the equivalent of our Tesco etc. in the UK. It was helpful as we brought some snacks over to the room to keep us going. We had a few days off so we asked the hotel manager if there was anything to do in the local area. He gave us a few walking trails which led us to a mini hot spring and also to the Alafoss village which had a very nice café/restaurant there and as the name suggests, a gorgeous waterfall just outside it. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes you to downtown Reykjavik (city centre) in about 20-30mins. You do need exact change though for the bus, I believe it was about 5 Icelandic kronas.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room facing the mountain, it's absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss_SB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Large room and bathroom with an actual bath, which is unusual in Iceland. Plenty of local facilities nearby - shops, food outlets, bakery, filling station. Free parking. Close to Reykjavik.
We totally failed to understand why this hotel has such good ratings. It was nothing more than OK in every way, certainly nowhere I would return. Located in a commercial area by a busy road, so noisy that it was impossible to keep the windows open. Hotel details show guests enjoying the hot tub - this did not seem to be in use while we were there. Breakfast was served in the bar which was a bit smelly and seedy. Breakfast options limited and lacking in fruit and decent bread. Could not get wifi to work at all.

Room Tip: We had a very large, light room on the first floor.. I do not know how this compares to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi eewatts, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you didn´t have a better stay with us and make use of the hot tub and the wifi, which if asked, we could of assisted you. We will certainly learn from your comments re. the breakfast and see what we can do to improve. We are here to make your stay better, it´s unfortunate we missed that opportunity. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I recently got back from a stay in Iceland.I stayed at hotel Laxnes in Mossfellsbaer near Reykjavik.In a small town with plenty of places to eat nearby,some fast food like KFC and subway but also a wonderful cafe/restaurant at Alafoss which is also an art gallery a few minutes away.The hotel is very comfortable with a cosy bar where you can mingle with other guests in the evening.Also they show sports on a big screen which brings in the locals,it was the world cup while i was there.The staff are friendly and Shaun the manager is very helpful,he will give directions and maps,will give trip advice and arrange it for you,bus times and trasport advice etc.All in all i had a fantastic time and even had a couple of sunny days!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is about a half hour north of Reyjavik center city and is a reasonably priced ($200 USD/night) small tourist class hotel. Iceland is a very expensive location by N. American standards.

The location has several restaurant and shopping choices close by, as the hotel has no restauran only a bar. A breakfast buffet is provided in the room charge.

The self-serve buffet offered dry and hot cereal, yogurt, toast, cold cuts and cheese, hot coffee or tea. There was an orange drink from a machine, more like a punch not orange juice. The hot cereal and toast were the best features.

The rooms are clean, but on weekends do not get daily cleaning or laundry changes. The common areas need to be re-freshed, and overall the hotel appears to be past the replacement cycle on painting, and furnishings. The very helpful staff is the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel Laxnes, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thanks for the compliments for our Hotel Staff as we do our best to please you all .
Our prices are more on the lower scale compared to other 3 star Hotels in the City centre.
Yes our Rooms are not serviced over the weekends but as per notice you can get everything you need by asking the Hotel reception.Not sure which common areas you are referring to as the whole Hotel had been painted recently and yes we could do with some new furniture .
Best Regards
Shaun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mosfellsbær
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I came, I stayed, and went without hitch. Laxness Hotel is very conveniently placed for access to Reykjavik and the north and well priced compared to the city. The rooms and hotel facilities were excellent and staff warm, friendly and multilingual. The locale also has everything one could want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
582 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laxnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laxnes

Property: Hotel Laxnes
Address: Haholt 7, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 270, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laxnes 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE RETREAT MINUTES AWAY FROM THE CITY CENTER OF REYKJAVIK.Hotel Laxnes is overlooking Mountain Esja and located opposite a river,we offer the best of both worlds. Great for Hiking and seeing the Northernlights.Our Village is like stepping back in time into a fairytale world !10 mins from Reykjavik City!We are next to rivers,waterfalls,mountains,sea ,a beautiful lake and close to Reykjavik city !The Hotel Laxnes is a modern country style hotel lodge with a mountain view in the greater Reykjavik in Mosfellsbaer close to the country and near to the City ! Only within a 10 minute drive into the Reykjavik city centre offering a country feeling to it, located close to the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, a Golf course, a fishing lake and on route to the famous Golden Circle trip. On-site parking is free for guests.Why stay in the city centre if you can experience both country and city life staying at the laxnes Hotel.We offer both Car and Mountain bike rental at great prices ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laxnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laxnes Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing