We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's better than you can imagine”
other travellers have booked this property
View over the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the lake
Terrace and view over the lake Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View over the lake
Terrace and view over the lake
Kitchen
Dining, main house
Main house living room
Bedroom main house
Extra bed in living room, main house
Guest house, bedroom 1
Guest house, bedroom 2
Guest house, bedroom 2
Guest house, living room
Guest house, living room, couch
Main house
The cottages, main house and the guest house, close to each other
Hot tub at main house
medalfellsvatn cottage samsett breid.JPG
Medalfellsvatn
Reflections at Medalfellsvatn
Northern lights at cottage Oct 2013
Hvalfjörður refelctions close to cottage
Vegetation
Icelandic sheeps
Horses by the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ADT_16
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's better than you can imagine”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from an truly memorable trip here to celebrate my 30th birthday. The photos don't do this place justice. You have to go to really appreciate it. Haukur and Lisa were so helpful before and during our stay, even going as far as alerting us to when the Northern Lights made an appearance, which we were fortunate enough to see, and what a sight, they were incredible, especially viewed from the cottage surroundings as you could see them so clearly as there is very little light pollution and the snow covered mountains just added to the magic.
The cottage itself is just lovely, very cosy and containing everything you may need. It overlooks a beautiful lake and mountains, which are just breathtaking. We hired a 4x4 which was needed as it snowed whilst we were there and the roads became covered in snow and ice and quickly, but this just made the surroundings where we stayed look even more beautiful.
The hot tub was great and gave us something to look forward to after a day out travelling seeing the sights.
We travelled South and visited waterfalls and then went snowmobiling on a glacier which was exhilarating but also terrifying for someone not so adventurous! We then had a 3.5 hour journey back to the cottage as we got caught in a snow storm, but we made it back safely and it was lovely to come back to a calm and cosy cottage, where we could unwind in the hot tub taking in the surroundings.
We also did the golden circle which took us to some amazing sights.
Then on our last night we saw the Northern Lights which really was the cherry on top. Just incredible and we feel very lucky to have seen them in such stunning surroundings.
We couldn't have wished for a better holiday. Everything about it was even better than we imagined. We were both so pleased we chose to stay in the cottage and not in a hotel in Reykjavik as this gave us the opportunity to see some amazing sights and see and experience a lot more of what Iceland has to offer. I couldn't recommend staying here enough, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much Haukur and Lisa.
Amy and Dan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steglas
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing views and peaceful location”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Haukur and Lisa’s cottage is a convenient 45 minute drive north of Reykjavik.
The cottage is clean, cosy and obviously a much-loved family holiday home, and we had four extremely relaxing nights here.
The views from the cottage are spectacular, overlooking as it does the tranquil Medalfellsvatn lake. There are other holiday cottages along the same road but they are nicely spaced out and we had complete privacy here, and with very little light pollution on one night we got lucky and had good views of the Northern lights.
The location is handy for the Golden Circle, although routes 461 and 48 which were the most direct route to Thingvellir were a little rougher than I’m used to in the UK!
The WIFI was a bonus and useful for researching our activities, and of course posting photos on Facebook.
Cooking facilities are what you would expect for a holiday home, but we found there were plenty of essentials in the pantry, and the dishwasher is very handy for afterwards.
There were 3 of us – my wife, grown-up stepson and myself – and although we could have used the annex, we all stayed in the main cottage, with my stepson sleeping on the sofa.
If you want to get away from it all, this is a great place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Really cannot think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda A
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday cottage!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for one week in May with our children aged 10 and 12. The location is about a 35 minute drive to the main shops (and Reykjavic) and it is an easy and beautiful drive. The cottage is just perfect - with spectacular views of the lake, mountains and Icelandic horses (who, we found out, like to be social and come up asking for treats!) A perfect spot for bird watchers too - sitting in the hot tub or standing on the deck it felt like being in a wildlife documentary; the different type of bird calls were amazing. The cottage is really cozy - all the comforts of home and a great place to come home to after a day of activities - the fireplace is a real winner - even in summertime we found it terrific in the evening. The hosts very friendly too and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely recommend this cottage - one of the nicest places we've stayed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elana Z
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean cabin in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Perfect place for my husband and I as we toured the west coast of Iceland. The owner was easy to communicate with and generous. The place was perfect for a couple and we woke up every morning in awe of our surroundings. Great kitchen, comfy bed, central and heated floors. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect place. The only small detail that bothered me was all the drinking/washing water was sulfer water, which meant even brushing your teeth with it. Not sure if this is typical but its not so bad once you get used to it or use bottled water to wash up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Sulfer water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrElmo
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Calm, peaceful and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Spent an extended weekend at the cottage with family and we were more than happy. Only really accessible with a good rental car (I'd absolutely suggest a 4x4) it's a little difficult to find and a GPS is a must. Driving there at night in a snow storm was an experience both terrifying and fun and in the pitch dark we were a little lucky to find it even with maps and GPS. The property is split between a main bungalow and a separate annex with 2 further bedrooms and an on-suite. It was warm and cosy throughout and the open fire at night was great. It's situated where there is easy access to the golden circle route; Thingvellir, Geysir and Gullfoss are a drive away but not too far. Whalefjord is also close for some stunning views. Situated by the lake it would be great for fishing in the warmer months with Salmon and Char apparently quite plentiful. There's also a decent walking route through the fields and mountains and opportunity to say hello to the resident horses along the way. If you're looking for a calmer more peaceful (and romantic) alternative to Reykjavik it's a great option. Reykjavik itself is about a 30 minute drive away and easy to get to.
The only comments I would make would be to have a few more utensils for cooking in the kitchen and a bit of a clear out of the food in storage some of which is quite past it's best before dates. The TV is useful for nights when you want it but I only managed to get one channel on the night we decided to put it on. I also unclogged the shower when there because I got worried it was going to overflow. The toilet in the annex was also not flushing due to frozen water pipes I think. These are little things that didn't detract from the experience at all but which stop me from giving a five star review. It was very good value, Haukur and Lisa were very helpful and I'd certainly recommend it for those looking for a more secluded Iceland experience outside the main town.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CathyT3
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a group of 7 stay comfortably in this gorgeous cottage. The location is perfect to see sites such as Geysir and Gullfoss and the drive to Reykjavik is stunning. We saw the northern lights twice on our visit. Thankyou Haukar and Anna Lisa for the use of your lovely cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing