We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm host in Iceland”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Studio apartment Studio apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Entrance
Studio apartment
Studio apartment
Studio apartment
Studio apartment
House at front
Nice for children
Northern Lights - Mosfellsbær 2/2 2013 by © strefa-obrazu.pl
Northern Lights - Mosfellsbær 2/2 2013 by © strefa-obrazu.pl
Family-friendly garden with outside grill at summer time.
Family-friendly garden
New look from the house from februar 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
nigel1000...
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm host in Iceland”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Guðrún is a perfectly lovely welcome to Iceland. She had us happily snuggled in one of her cosy apartments and couldn't have done more for us to make our stay better. She even went the extra mile to shuttle us to the top of Bláfjöll for a magic mountain bike ride. Thanks heaps Guðrun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylene P
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We have never felt so welcome!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a warm, clean and cosy studio apartment. Our host Gudrun has much knowledge of her country that she is willing to share and a great ability in knowing how to help her guests to be comfortable. We found the situation a excellent base right on No 1. Highway and with all shopping conveniences close by. We were sorry to leave. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, host and position
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moniaandt...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“like at home”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent there one week. It's unforgettable time. The owner Gudrun make this place home. It's 15min drive from Reykjavik city! People from the capital come there to see northern lights, because it's perfect place - mountains around and no city lights. You can see the northern light straight from the studio. Studio for two people is big enough, there's a kitchen (with all utensils), bedroom and bathroom with a shower, fridge and freezer, tv and wardrobe. It's very clean, cleaner than in hotels.
In Mosfelsbear you can find the coffee shop/bar, Domino's Pizza (delicious), bank and groceries shop. There are two warm swimming pools and bus stop to Reykjavik. There is everything what you need.
This is the perfect place to start your adventure with Iceland :) If you don't know something or need, don't forget to ask Gudrun. She will make your holidays perfect.
We definitely recommend this place!!!!!
Thank you Gudrun :)
Usciski i calusy,
M+T

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: every single part of this place, mostly owner and Northern Lights
Liked least: nothing to talk about :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prof-C-Be...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL LITTLE APARTMENT IN MOSFELLSBAER”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner stayed here at the end of September into October in the 20m sqr apartment and it was more than adequate. The place is just the right size for two adults and has everything you need, and if it doesn't the very hospitable owner Gudrun will get it for you. The beds are very very comfy, there is a little table to have breakfast on, the shower is very powerful and very warm, perfect for when you have been out in an Icelandic day. The kitchen has all the utensils you need to make breakfasts and other big meals, and the oven is great, we made cakes in it perfectly. The surrounding area is very picturesque with the mountains behind you and views out to the sea in front, and no noise at night. The distance to Reykjavik was perfect for us as we had a hire-car, the capital was only a 15 drive along the coast road, but if you don't have a car, there is a bus-stop too a 5 min walk away from the apartment that can take you to Reykjavic and drops you off on the docks right where the City Centre begins and where all the tour buses and excursions start from.

As much as the apartment is amazing the best thing about this place is Gudrun the Owner and her husband Jan and Family. They will do anything for you to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Even before we arrived she emails you asking if you have any questions or need help with travel arrangements, she is truly a gracious host. I told her I was wanting to try the native delicacy Hákarl, little did I know she was an expert and she went out and got me some to try! Gudrun is also well known in the locality and can get you money off at the local Alafoss Café, she also has in-depth knowledge of Mosfelbear and can give you any advice you need be it supermarkets, swimming pool or even where to see Icelandic Ponies!

All in all our stay in Iceland was made perfect by Gudrun and her apartment, and if you have transport to get out of Reykjavik then this is the place for you, plus it is the cheapest in the Capital Area by a long way! I couldn't recommend this more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owner
Liked least: Not seeing the Northern Lights :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandyvigi...
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a lovely, cozy apartment. Great price and so close to Reykjavik! We couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot. Thank you so much!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldprune
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“She will make sure you have good stay!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We did not have trouble finding this place since we had GPS computer program. There is road construction going on, changing road... so be aware.
The location is perfect to explore major attractions- the roard to Golden circle is just up the street, Reykjavic is less than 20 min. Away. Grocery store, liquor (you can not buy alchohol at grocery store) and bank (Bannkin). The house is built into a hill- the owner family live upper floor and there are 2 rental units with separate entrances. We stayed in a small studio with shower and tiny but well equipped kitchen. Go take a look before you shop-no need to buy and waste salt and pepper. Gudrun (one of owner) is so sweet and kind, she will make sure you will have a fantastic stay! She even baked us a delicious bread to take along.
The place is still in "progress" but her kindness will fill in whateved is missing.
The WiFi worked good so not having English TV did not bother us. Thank you, Gudrun, so nice to meet you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kind owner ho is happy to have you as a house guest.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Courbevoie, France
1 review
“A great stay !”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A great great stay near Reykjavik.
We stayed two weeks.

The studio is very quiet and clean.
Everything needed is there, and if something is missing, it's possible to ask Gudrun, the owner.

The kitchen is well equiped.
The bathroom is large and clean.
The beds are nice and comfortable.
The wifi access works perfectly everywhere, even in the garden where you can relax.
There are a lot of supermarkets and stores at less than 5 minutes by car and it's about 15km away from Reykjavik.

Gudrun is a very very smiling and kind person, she shared a lot of information about what to do and where to go with us.

A great great stay at a reasonnable price, we highly recommand this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The studio is very quiet, well located and Gudrun is so kind
Liked least: Having to leave :--(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing