We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had booked our entire stay in Iceland here...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mosfellsbaer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Mosfellsbaer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we had booked our entire stay in Iceland here...”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sad to leave this lovely guesthouse after two days, and wished we were basing our whole trip around this being our home base. Not only does it have everything you need with outstanding views in a location convenient to the city, the hosts are wonderful and extremely helpful. We came as a family of five (2 kids and my mother in law) and it was perfect for us. I highly recommend this and will be back with family again. My only caveat, don't come on a diet, it will be impossible to resist Gudrun's freshly baked loaves of grain-filled bread!

Room Tip: We booked all three rooms upstairs and it was much nicer than having separate rooms in a hotel as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrzdrmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Your review pleased us very much and we are glad that you had a enjoyable experience with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back with us before to long!
Kindest regards from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
93
201
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this guesthouse for two nights and it was an ideal place to stay! The owners were so pleasant and engaging…very helpful in figuring out what to see in the area. The baked goods each afternoon were delicious. We were traveling with older parents and being able to cook dinner at the guesthouse was a plus. Gudrun and Valur spent time with us each evening and shared some of the history of the valley…we had a great time and would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Iceland.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are outstanding…very clean and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write your nice review about your stay with us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a nice stay and have liked what we have to offer.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind comments and we hope you will come again soon!

Best regards from us at Minna-mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived a little early to the guest house and Gudrun was gracious and spent time with us planning some hiking in the area for the afternoon. After a couple of hours of hiking we went back and there was a special treat waiting for us. I was traveling with my adult daughter and she looked forward to the special baked goods each day.
Gudrun also made arrangements for my daughter to take a short horse riding trip the next morning. The array of maps and resources is amazing and the wealth of knowledge of Gudrun and Valur is truly special. They helped make our trip east so much easier with suggestions for stops and places to stay and they take into consideration what you want to do and your personal interests rather than just generic advice. The personal touch is greatly appreciated. Thanks for making our first trip to Iceland so special!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review!

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have had a nice stay with us and it is equally important to us to know what we are doing right and where we can improve.

Thank you for your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Iceland!

Warmest regards from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our hosts Gudrun and Valur were awesome! Every morning there were freshly homemade bread, pancake, jams and other treats for breakfast. Gudrun sat with us every day to help us plan the best routes to take and things to see and thanks to her we ended up in some really special places. By the end of the day there were more treats and Valur made sure the hot tub was primly perfect for us!

Everything else was equally perfect. Beautiful quiet farm setting with great view from the many windows in the house, clean and spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen, picnic baskets and pool towels always available... It was also relatively close to supermarkets, road 1 and those touristic attractions on the Golden Circle.
Reservation had no fuss and the communication with Gudrun previous to arrival was always clear and, of course, friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pips188669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your positive review!

We are very glad you had a good experience with us and we are very pleased to hear it.
Thank you again for your stay and your kind comments and we hope you will come again soon!

Best regards from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great place just outside the hustle and bustle of Reykjavik. The hosts were great. More than happy to help you with sightseeing arrangements and always had fresh baked goods for the guests! We stayed for a couple nights, but could see this being a great base point for an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFields907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your kind review of guesthouse. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Kindest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'm a bit sad to be leaving Minna-Mosfell but our 4 nite stay here was great. Gudrun and her husband Valur take good care of you as others describe. Each day Gudrun would spend time with us planning our itinerary. She knows the special places to go that not everyone knows about! Ask her about the natural hot pool that was first used to bath Sheep! Now its a hidden gem to take a soak in during your trip around the Golden Circle. These are nice people and I have to say it may be the best B&B experience ever for us. Accessible to everything in the Reyjkavik area and whole southwest of Iceland. Use some of their farm fresh eggs and home made bread to make a nice breakfast for yourself...all is provided! Thanks to you both for making our stay memorable! Almost forgot, their hot tub is geo-thermally heated and Valur will fill it up for you if you ask...its wonderful and warm and very environmentally friendly!!!

Room Tip: All are fine. Its a shared bathroom but it works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSeattle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor .
We are delighted to see that we reached your expectations and that you enjoyed your time in our house.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you soon back at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
Warmest regards from both of us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent two nights at Minna-Mosfell last week, and were quite comfortable. The hosts are delightful--so helpful with advice on what to do and see, providing anything you might need, and supplying you with fresh-baked bread/treats twice a day! Gudrun spent so much time chatting with us and answering our questions; even though our visit was short, we feel like we learned a lot about life in Iceland through talking with her. The setting is idyllic, and we wished we had been able to stay longer to do more walking right in the local area. It is also close to Reykjavik, so if you want more city activities you aren't far away. The shared bath wasn't a problem, even with all three rooms full (the sink in the room helps with that), and everything was spotlessly clean. If you want to visit Iceland, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairieescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,
We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at our guesthouse. Thank you very much for your kind review. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back when you visit Iceland again!
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#4 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Blue House
#6 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse

Property: Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Address: Minna-Mosfell, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 271, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern lights dance above Minna-Mosfell Gesthouse located on a quiet family farm in the countryside, few minutes away from Reykjavik city center. Five minutes away is an outstanding geothermal swimmingpool, Álafoss store, Laxnes museum, horse back riding and a golf course. Enjoy the experience of watching the northern lights in the evenings in our outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing