We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Guesthouse and Beautiful Country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mosfellsbaer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Mosfellsbaer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Guesthouse and Beautiful Country”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our family had a wonderful time visiting Iceland. We were welcomed by such friendly host/hostess who gave us valuable information on places to see. They also made every effort to assure we were comfortable and well fed in their lovely guesthouse. We look forward to another visit to Iceland where we will definitely stay at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse with Gudrun and Valur.
Zabel Family, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta Canada

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna Dayton Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind review of our guesthouse. It is a pleasure reading positive feedback which gives us the confirmation that our efforts are bearing fruits!
We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
91
199
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was very fortunate that we stayed at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse for two days at the beginning of our Iceland trip. There are many reasons why it is the number one Trip Advisor guesthouse in Iceland. We are very grateful to host-owner Gudrun for graciously spending time telling us a bit about Icelandic customs, special places to see, what roads to take and where to eat, not only in West and Central Iceland, but in all of Iceland. Her husband Valur was also very gracious and welcoming. After we left and e-mailed Gudrun about encountering dangerously thick fog on main Highway 1 between Reykjavik and Selfoss in the South, she even e-mailed a safe route for our return to the West.
Our very comfortable room faced idyllic pasture land, hauntingly beautiful Icelandic horses and mountains. Minna-Mosfell is in rolling country on HIghway 36, less than a half hour from Reykjavik and a few minutes east off main Highway 1 North. We had just completed a lovely group tour of Norway, but had looked forward to being on our own. So we got up when we wanted, enjoyed her home baked breads, coffee and juices, fried eggs in the guest kitchen and then started our Icelandic wanderings. The sun was in our favor because it never gets dark in the summer. So we could leave at 11, sight see for 8 hours and then go to one of the lovely places she recommended for dinner.
We had thought of Iceland as a once-in-a-lifetime trip, but we loved beautiful Iceland so much, and in particular Gudrun and Valur at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse that we're looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: We loved the view from our east-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review of guesthouse. It is a pleasure reading your positive feedback and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.
Warmest greetings to you from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed one night here. It is convenient to Reyjkavik and Keflavik airport. This is a lovely place to stay, When I return to Iceland, I hope to be able to stay here again. Gudrun and her husband are warm and welcoming. I had a nice chat with her husband about Icelandic immigrants to northern Wisconsin where I used to vacation as a child. Gudrun was helpful about what to see and do in the area. I enjoyed talking with her about the history of their farm. The rooms are absolutely top-notch. Facilities are the same.

Mary Ellen, New Jersey

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest
Your positive write-up is much appreciated and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time sharing your experience and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Best greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great stay here in early July 2014. It was one of best we found in our 4 weeks in Iceland. Fantastic amenities, lovely hosts and very close to Reykjavik. The room was big, lots of space to spread out, extremely comfortable and clean, delicious food - including freshly made bread and pancakes. We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Greetings from Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay and your kind words are much appreciated. We are happy that your stay has been a pleasant one and we are looking forward to your next visit, in hopefully not too distant future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were in Iceland in September 2012. This time, we wanted to experience the midnight sun so we went in July. We had a car, which is necessary to get to Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse. They have remodeled and added some amenities since we were there before. The shared area of the guesthouse has been enlarged and sliding glass doors and balcony have been added. There is also a hottub. The flowers were lovely and everything was welcoming and friendly. Last time, we said we would stay here again... and we did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest
Your positive write-up is much appreciated and we are happy that you have enjoyed your second stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Iceland.
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Having travelled in Iceland in July 2014, we had the opportunity to compare some B&B, guesthouses and hotels. Here the review of Minna-Mosfell GH.
- Style: an apartment with a nice living room + kitchen, communicating with 3 bedrooms and a shared bathroom
- Surroundings, quietness: very nice view on the hills, very quiet
- Breakfast: all is in the kitchen and fridge, you cook yourself
- Dinner: restaurants at 5 km
- Welcoming: the most wonderful we had, many thanks to Gudrun and her husband for their attentions (we saw them very often, helping us for the accommodation and giving guidance for our journey)
- Beds, room and cleanness: perfect
- Facilities: wifi, hot-tub, TV
- Location for excursions: at 22 km from Reykjavik center, 30 km from Thingvellir
Overall conclusion: perfect for a family or friends sharing the 3 rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our guesthouse. It is a pleasure reading positive feedback which gives us the confirmation that our efforts are bearing fruits. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.
Warmest greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, ON
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was, by far, our favourite place we stayed in Iceland. We were travelling as a family of 4, with two boys. The beds were very comfortable and the homebaked treats were lovely. Gudrun really helped us with our touring plans and mapped out a different, more picturesque route than what we had planned. We were able to visit an amazing swimming spot in Fludr, thanks to her recommendations that we would have not have known about otherwise. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. The guesthouse was centrally located for people looking to do the Golden Circle route and wasn't too far from Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GudrunSigurdardottir, Owner at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest
Your positive write-up is much appreciated and we are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Iceland.
Best greetings from us at Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosfellsbaer
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,028 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#3 of 107 in Reykjavik
313 reviews
Blue House
#7 of 107 in Reykjavik
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse

Property: Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse
Address: Minna-Mosfell, Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik 271, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Mosfellsbaer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mosfellsbaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern lights dance above Minna-Mosfell Gesthouse located on a quiet family farm in the countryside, few minutes away from Reykjavik city center. Five minutes away is an outstanding geothermal swimmingpool, Álafoss store, Laxnes museum, horse back riding and a golf course. Enjoy the experience of watching the northern lights in the evenings in our outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Minna-Mosfell Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Mosfellsbaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing