We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only the UK did municipal pools like this”

Varmarlaug Swimming Pool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If only the UK did municipal pools like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We visited here one day when the weather was too bad to travel too far, and for the cost which was equivalent to about £2, it was great value. The changing rooms were nice and clean - with underfloor heating! Indoors there was a family pool, and outdoors a lane pool for doing lengths, a small children's pool, a water slide (which was unfortunately closed when we visited), three hot tubs of varying temperatures, the coolest one of which had lovely massage jets for your back. There was also a dry sauna room and a wet sauna room. Even at the end of December when we visited, it was absolutely fine outside as the water was all geothermal heated. The thing I really loved (sad!) was the swimming costume dryer in the changing rooms which worked on centrifugal force which meant that you didn't have to take your cossie home dripping wet - and it was free! If it was in this country, I'm sure someone would have put a coin slot on it and charged you 50p for the pleasure.
All in all, well worth a visit for a cheap morning or afternoon of splashing around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Zebedeecat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, warm pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

a very quiet swimming pool with jacuzzi and hot tub. excellent value at 550ISK per person. the swimming pool is warm and deep. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Location was good, offers choice to swimming pools, overall good family fun. Not much of a choice when it comes to food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KamLndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Loved this place - 5 mins walk from Hotel Laxnes - perfect! Very quiet when we went - we were the only ones in the pool. Freezing cold outside but lovely hot swimming pool - it was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“snowing and in a swimming pool fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

the weather was getting worse and we thought it would not be open how wrong we were open and in full swing! snowball fights a hoy! luch in the hot 40dc water 500 K to get in bargain.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varmarlaug Swimming Pool also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
 

Been to Varmarlaug Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing