We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday of my life”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Sheldon G
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Best holiday of my life”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I cannot praise the location, the lodge or Iceland enough. This holiday to Iceland truly was the best holiday of my life and one i'll never forget.

Myself and 5 other friends all stayed at Brekka for 4 nights. The location was amazing, the lodge was incredible and had all the things needed to live comfortably.

Jon supplied plenty of handy resources including a very good guide on how to get to Brekka. We were lucky enough to experience the northern lights while staying at Brekka, just by simply walking outside and viewing them straight from the balcony.

If you're staying here during winter I'd recommend a 4x4 as the road up to Brekka can be very icy.

I would recommend Brekka to everyone. This is how you truly experience Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the weather (which isnt Brekkas fault!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_T20...
Breierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Brekka, and it's neighbour (Langholt) are so amazing that it's hard to write this review - I want to keep it all to myself! We have stayed in both houses which are set a short way apart on the hillside. The setting and scenery are breath taking, in two separate visits of four nights, eight months apart, I haven't seen the same view twice. There is no light or noise pollution and there is the real feeling of isolation, although you are not really that far from civilisation - a vehicle is necessary though. Both houses are beautifully but simply decorated, with all the mod cons imaginable (better than home) and so much space, whilst being spotlessly clean yet homely. The hot tub is a real treat and to sit in piping hot water with cold beer (Icelandic, of course) to hand, watching the nightly display of the amazing Northern Lights is just a little piece of heaven on earth. Perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
We are grateful to hear how happy people are staying at our cottages. Also it's quite good to know how easy it now is to get to heaven -just book Brekka:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property and made our holiday perfect”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at the property at night, not hard to find, fantastic directions given by owner. The property was very clean and tidy and also warm - just what you want when arriving late on a winters evening. Very modern but natural feeling property, comfy beds, good size kitchen with everything you needed (pots, pans, plates, glasses etc).

TV, dishwasher, washing machine, everything was perfect. We didn't want TV opting to have the music system on (really good collection of Icelandic CD's which we all enjoyed listening to while getting ready in the mornings and relaxing at night).

Amazing hot tub, very easy to use. Sitting under the stars (and Northern Lights!!) in the hot tub was amazing. Could have spent all night sitting there.

Car essential but local little shops close by.

We had never rented before, always opting for package deals but I am so glad we rented this time and we will be doing it again. It makes you feel at home while you are on holiday.

We had a very busy 5 days, 3 nights in Iceland and this was the perfect base for our group. We all had a fantastic time and really want to go back again, and stay here. We could not have asked for a more helpful owner and perfect property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Well, there's an Icelandic saying: "Glöggt er gests augad". It means the guest has a clear and alert view on things that could be improved, things which the host might have got immune to. Following the experience we've made together with our guests we've tried to improve the descriptions of both how to get to the location and how to operate the house, the hot tub etc. The result is more time for our guests to enjoy being there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
2 reviews
“A wonderful house in an amazing location”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the end of October / early November, and I have to say that the house was excellent - very well equipped, warm, comfortable and with incredible views over the fjord and to the mountains beyond. JB was very helpful in providing directions and instructions (including for the wonderful hot tub) and we had no problems whatsoever during our stay - and if we had I am sure JB would have been able to help. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay, including a large fridge freezer to stock with provisions and a modern oven and hob. This is the perfect place from which to explore the area around Reykjavík, although a 4x4 is recommended to get the best from the gravel roads (there is some wonderful mountain scenery a very short drive from the house), and also to get to the house. We have stayed in a number of holiday houses, and this has to be among the best. We are already planning when to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality
Liked least: No complaints at all!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
We are very pleased for having such a positive review, happy that our customers feel the same about the view and surroundings of our house Brekka as we do. But above all we are happy to have got the opportunity through Holiday Lettings to share this wonderful site with people from abroad.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isadora H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house was just incredible. Very comfortable, clean, well equipped and the views are stunning, if you are really lucky you can even see the Northern Lights from there! We saw a glimpse of it. A great place to explore the countryside of Iceland, less than 2 hours away from Pingvellir, the Geyser and Gullfoss. Reykjavik is about 1 hour drive. The owner, Jon, was very helpful and thoughtful, he answered all our questions and even bought a cot for my 1 year old nephew. We had a wonderful time in this house, and I hope to get back to Iceland and Brekka soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: It was kind of difficult to find the place at night with no GPS
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie D
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Brekka!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Wonderful home from home for a week, Iceland is awesome, lots of great outdoor adventures to be had, horse riding, walking inside a volcano, waterfalls, rainbows and geysers, jet boat trips, browsing galleries and vintage shops in Reykjavik and a beautiful house to come back to every evening. We even saw the northern lights from the terrace, stunning!! Lovely owner, kind and helpful, very comfortable place to stay with an incredible ever changing view of the Icelandic landscape. Go there!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing