We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic lodge in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
craign386
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic lodge in a fantastic location ”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed for five nights in Brekka in early October, and absolutely loved everything about it. Perfectly situated for both Reykjavik and the Golden Circle, with some utterly jaw-dropping views out of the living room/kitchen windows.

The weather wasn’t the best while we were there, but we still made good use of the hot tub and cosy furniture after our long days exploring Iceland.

Jon was fantastic communicating throughout the booking process, and if anything, the place actually looked better in the flesh (wood?) than it did in the photographs.

One thing I will say is that it’s fairly difficult to find, especially if you’re arriving after dark, but Jon’s instructions went a long way towards minimising our confusion.

A thoroughly enjoyable week, and we honestly can’t recommend Brekka enough to fellow travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Wow!
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy N
1 review
“Great cozy & remote cabin”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Incredibly happy with my stay at the Brekka lodge! Amazing morning views and super cozy on the inside. Myself and the rest of the group (5 totall) had an awesome 3 nights.

The entrance view was a bit tough to see but we were also coming in late at night. Unfortunately no northern lights for us, but that is no fault of the cabins... we enjoyed the hot tub without them.

Thanks Jon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
Many thanks for these cherishing words. -Next time I'll manage the Northern Lights for you, given you wont be up here in the summer time:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Don't think twice, this place was by far the best part of our entire trip. It's AMAZING!!!!

The hot tub is key and we spent every night in there. We cooked dinner on the patio with the grill. I can't say enough about this spot....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Our highest aim is to make our customers happy. Many thanks for this pleasant review -it convinces us, that we're on the right track:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleP...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Staying at the Brekka was one of the highlights of our trip, as this very comfortable, clean and spacy lodge provided us with all the comforts we could have wished for after roaming around all day in the countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Very nice to hear. We're grateful for this review, which tells us that we're meeting the standards our customers wish to see and have!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted to split our 9 nine day trip up a bit and came across the Brekka VRBO on Conde Nast Traveller. We booked a 3 night stay and used this as a base for sightseeing on the Snaefellsnes Peninsula and along Hvalfjordur. The location is perfect. You're a comfortable 45-50 min from Reykjavik, but you have this incredible view down the entire fjord, both east and west. The changing cloud patterns were mesmerizing. A quick drive east takes you to the Glymur Falls hike.

The accommodations were outstanding. The cottage is newer and the place was spotless. It was the perfect size for our family of 4. Great modern bathroom with a rain shower head for the shower. Three good sized bedrooms and nice 2nd floor loft offered plenty of space. The large deck was great for hanging out. Excellent wifi service. Just a wonderful place to kick back and relax in a peaceful setting. The hot tub was perfect for the cool evenings...we used it every day.

We bought some supplies from the grocery store to prepare our breakfast/lunch which worked out well. There is a great town about 15 minutes west, Akranes, which has 2 sensational restaurants (Galito and Gamla Kaupfelagid).

Jon was great to work with. Booking was straightforward. He emailed us great detailed information regarding the cottage, location, directions and places to eat. Any subsequent questions we had regarding our upcoming stay were promptly answered by him. I thought Iceland was a once in a lifetime trip for our family. After our wonderful stay, we decided we will be returning and staying longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
We feel ourselves honoured by your review. Be our guests anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegW18
Hadley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brekka”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The view from this cabin is astounding and the cabin is like a home away from home. Clean and comfortable. Love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review, thank you for taking such a good care of Brekka. You'll always be welcome at any of our houses!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysbur...
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing location and view, but not without issues”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed in Brekka for 7 nights. It is a modern cabin with a superb view of Iceland. The view really is quite exceptional; it took my breath away when I first stepped inside and looked out the windows. Sitting in a hot tub while watching clouds change over snow-capped mountains is not something I will soon forget. The property is located a convenient distance from some of the best areas in Iceland, yet is in a remote area such that it is hard to believe that Reykjavik is only 45 minutes away. Although I only spoke to the owner via email, he was extraordinarily friendly, and the online description of the cabin was completely accurate. Everything was very clean and ready for our stay. My wife and I now have some very nice memories of Iceland thanks to this place.

However, reviewing the cabin itself, with respect to other rental properties that we have stayed in both inside and outside of Iceland, we found this cabin to be about average. I hope the owner will not be insulted, and take my review for what it is: an honest attempt to provide useful feedback about the property. We had five issues, outlined below. At the end, I have some recommendations to address some of these.

First, there is an outdoor privacy issue. The cabin is indeed in a remote area, but it is situated with a few other cabins on a hillside. From the main room in the cabin, there are blinds covering most of the windows, but one door is uncovered, and there is a straight view from one cabin into Brekka's main room. Especially at night, we felt exposed to the other cabin. By the hot tub, there is a privacy wall, but two other cabins can still see people in the hot tub. We were so excited about the remoteness of the cabin, only to be disappointed that others could see us (and that we could see them), especially when some minor alterations to the cabin during construction would have fixed this problem. To be clear - we are not complaining about other cabins nearby. We are complaining about the fact that they could easily be blocked from view, but they are not.

Second, there is a floor space contention issue. The cabin has many small bedrooms that are suitable only really for sleeping, plus a bathroom. All of the other space, including the loft, is essentially one big room. However, the floor space is arranged in such a way that the amount of useful area is limited. The entryway space is only good for leaving/exiting. The main area (shared by a couch, kitchen table, and kitchen) is cramped a bit by the stairs. The loft space has a low sloped ceiling with a couch in the highest space, so one can only really use a small part of the floor, unless sleeping. We were only there for a day when we tried to do yoga indoors and we realized that it was remarkably difficult to find a spot that worked for both of us.

Third, there is a bed comfort issue. None of the beds were comfortable at all to us, and after two nights, we took the mattress covers of two other beds and moved them to our beds in an attempt to soften them up. We still had a lot of problems sleeping. My wife and I travel quite a bit, and the worst beds we have ever encountered have never caused this much of a problem. We also just came from another Icelandic rental with beds that were very comfortable and caused no problems, so this did not seem like some sort of cultural issue. It just seemed like not-so-great beds.

Fourth, there was a heat issue. The cabin has radiant heating, and when we were arrived, the floor was nice and warm for our feet, and we thought "This is great!" However, halfway through the trip, with three nights to go, our bedroom became very hot, and it was hard to sleep. The next night, we turned the heat down in the evening for all rooms, and opened a window, yet our room seemed even hotter. The last night, we had the heat set to low all day, and we opened even more windows, and our room was even hotter! I don't know if this was a quirk of the weather, the wind, the heating system, or all three, but I'm just reporting what happened.

Fifth, there's a occupant capacity / indoor privacy issue. This was big for us - for others, I guess it depends on how well you can stand being in close quarters around friends and family. We originally planed for more people to join us on our trip, but they could not. When we first arrived, we were sad that our family couldn't make it, but by the end of the trip, we determined, at least for us, that we wouldn't have been able to handle our family in the cabin, and possibly not even another couple. Here's why: we would spend all day close together driving all over Iceland, and be exhausted in the evening, and want some space to ourselves. But there isn't really any place anyone can go to be private. As mentioned before, the bedrooms are really only suitable for sleeping, floor space is limited, and everything is essentially one big room. I would have the tv on, and the sound would overlap with my wife watching Netflix in the bedroom. The kitchen table is small, and the coffee table is even smaller, so if even one person sets out a bunch of maps, or wants to play a board game or card game, it's going to interfere with someone else wanting to eat, or use the table for something else, etc.

Here are my suggestions for the owners to address some of the issues:
- Put blinds on door facing other cabin. Build new privacy wall near hot tub. Make it so both of these block views to other cabins.
- Have more bedding options. Provide thick pillow top pads that could be optionally placed on hard beds to make them softer and/or consider buying new beds.

Again, I hope this feedback is helpful. We really appreciate the hospitality and we had a wonderful time in Iceland!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you very much for the time you've spent for to write this detailed and reasonable review. I appreciate it, constructive critics do give us the possibility to improve our service.

There's though one thing we have to bear in mind reg. the very most of the vacation cottages in Iceland: they're originally not built to be rented out in tourism, but to being privately used in the personal leisure time. Therefore most of them may not fulfill the utmost tourism standards, just the personal ones. And reg the size of our house (which is approx. 50% bigger than many of the cabins for rent), we believe we're doing quite well there. This is the reality in Iceland, we really don't have the american sizes in Iceland, and we try to take notice of this fact by the price, which is reasonable compared to the prices of hotel accommodations , but of course totally uncompetitive in matter of such prices in other countries, like so many other things here in Iceland...

Still, what we'll do right on is to fix the blinds on the door and since it's a summer now up here, finally, we'll turn the heat of the whole house manually down so that the floor heating will react quicker, other wise it can take up to 24 hours to react. What I'm though wondering about, are the beds. We have reg 4 of the 6 beds downstairs just bought new quality beds from a specialized Icelandic company. They score high in the tourism here in Iceland, and have always done. But the somewhat more exclusive double bed in the biggest room, there the mattress may be getting a bit tired. We'll check this out, simply try this out, "we'll sleep on it" by other means! I will not replace the privacy wall for the tub, but may consider extending it. Nobody has made this remark on it hitherto, probably also because there are very rarely any people in the other cottages, all owned by foreigners.

Again, I'm grateful for your effort and the push you've given us to improve our facility (facilities), and I'll start working on it very soon -to let these exceed the common Icelandic standards:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing