We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place to stay when in the Peak District.”
Review of Mount Tabor House

Mount Tabor House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Tabor House
Ranked #1 of 3 Crich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Set in the Peak District is the village of Crich which has a long and interesting history . Mount Tabor House is no exception. Built as a church by the local quarry workers in their free time and has been converted over time to a house and now a excellent place to stay and to get the atmosphere of a histroic village.
We have now been staying at Mount Tabor House when in Derbyshire for the last 3 years and visit the area about every six weeks.
We have always had a frendly welcome and find the accommodation to a very high and comfortable standard. The food is excellent also. My wife who is disabled and walks with cruches finds the place very easy to get around.
I could say more about Mount Tabor House but it rates as our No1 from a long list of places that we have stayed at over the years.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorWesternIsles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2009

Staying at Mount Tabor has been a great experience for both me and my 34Yr old son. I truly enjoyed the feeling I got in this re-vamped old chaple. And what a delight was The owener Fay , who in every way added to our comfort and satisfaction. Rooms , clean and inviting. Food, excellent. It was my second visit . Why would I go anywhere else? It's all here.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at Mount Tabor two nights. The room was decorated nicely with a wet room with very modern fittings, although one of the first things i noticed was the cheap white very stained rag rugs. Which I felt In my own house would have been in the dustbin. The room was cleanish, the window ledges were very dusty along with the toiletries provided in the bathroom and the leaflets had all seen better days. We were welcomed with a swift 'your room is downstairs', we later got more assistance with directions for a local walk.
One constant companion of the stay was their dog, who did not seem to respond well to any instruction. At breakfast it was constantly up at the table, although other guests as well as ourselves made it clear that this was not welcome when we were eating.
The breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and a cooked option, although as another guest commented 'A good breakfast takes all day', which it seemed to.
Car parking was difficult as there was hardly room for two cars, although you could choose to park on the roadside.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrieNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

This converted chapel is a fascinating place to stay. The bedroom was as good if not better then some 4* hotels I've stayed in (wet room en suite!). We had a traditional breakfast of high qualty fresh local produce in an impressive open plan communal area where we could relate to other guests. Visit the National Tramway Museam nearby!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Stayed two nights with bed, breakfast and evening meal. Very comfortable downstairs room with king-sized bed and en suite bath. Hospitality tray. Friendly welcome. Evening meal was delicious three course home cooked meal to very high standard, which meant really good food without the hassle of a restaurant. Wine available, and coffee or tea afterwards. Full English cooked breakfast was so good I could not eat it all, and there was a choice of cereals, etc, as well as fruit. Extremely quiet and peaceful. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Lovely building with fab open plan living, breakfast area on first floor. Breakfast taken at shared table and quality of food was excellent. We had a large ground floor room with very comfy bed and excellent shower room. Check out seemed to be whenever you were ready which was much nicer than being turfed out by 10am like most larger hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Er is een kamer met douche (heerlijk!) en er zijn 2 kamers met bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bkr00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Tabor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Tabor House

Address: Mount Tabor House Bowns Hill | Crich, Crich DE4 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Crich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crich
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mount Tabor House Hotel Crich
Mount Tabor House Crich, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing