We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we stayed in during our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avista B&B at Penrose
Ranked #1 of 3 Crich B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best we stayed in during our trip”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Suite 1, we didn't want to leave. The location is just so peaceful it was tempting to just sit in the gorgeous garden with a book. Darryl & Keith are delightful hosts & very attentive. As a couple & a single lady the 2 bedroom suite was perfect for us & excellent value. We had everything we needed & it was lovely to sit in the lounge together for a glass of wine in the evening instead of squashing into one of our B&B rooms. I would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Suite 1 is perfect for just a couple or people wanting 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Two wonderful hosts and a lovely setting make the excellent facilities a perfect place to spend several nights!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is our second stay at this fabulous place but this time we stayed in the cottage. This little cottage reflects the care, pride and attention given by the owners to their premises. Hidden away down its own little driveway with private parking you will not be disappointed. The range of equipment is superb everything you could want in the kitchen including a dishwasher and washer. The cottage is spacoius well decorated and every attention to detail has been given to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.The beds are comfy with lovely crisp clean bedding both are ensuite one with a shower room and one with a huge corner bath to have a lovely soak in at the end of the day. A very warm welcome from Keith & Daryl awaits along with a welcoming cuppa and biscuits. If you want to feel even more pampered you could have a first class breakfast cooked for you up at the house , a treat not to be missed. See you next year folks !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindabenjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a very nice stay at this B&B, and we also got lucky. Because there were no other visitors we got the bigger room with no extra charge. The Full English Breakfeast was great and the couple that run te B&B are very nice. They even taxied us from the station and back to and from their B&B. And we chatted a long time. The rooms were cosey and comfortable, the surrounding gardens and the sights were beautiful.

We would recommend this B&B to everyone who visits the area,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HvH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

A superb setting, a warm friendly welcome complimented with tea and chocolate biscuits. Our rooms were both beautifully decorated clean and fresh with expensive crisp clean bedding. Rooms have been thoughtfully accessorised with quality items to use during your stay.
Breakfast again is served personally by the owners with the accent being on quality produce, locally sourced Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay a memorable one and we will definetly be returning. Thank you Keith & Daryl

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabenjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We have both stayed in a number of hotels and bed and breakfasts throughout the years and have to say this is up there with the best. The welcome was warm and friendly after a very long journey. Not only was the accommodation cosy and clean but the original pieces of art on the walls gave it a very boutique feel. The milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and a barrell of chocolate biscuits was a welcome and personal touch that set this a cut above most other bed and breakfasts.

As we are two men of large proportions the breakfast did not dissapoint not only was it healthy (although it didn't feel it) the fruit and home grown/made raspberry sauce set us up for a day in the outdoors.

If you are travelling in Derbyshire please give this place a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearmanandcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I chose the Penrose as a birthday treat for my partner so we could visit Alton Towers and the Tramway museum and booked the suite. We have stayed in many B&Bs before and this one was very reasonable so I was expecting the usual comfortable but frilly furnishings and overheated rooms. But the Penrose was a wonderful surprise. It is a lovely old building set in beautiful grounds with a pond and lawns and places to sit and little arbours, not overdone but with wild flowers and traditional cottage garden plants mingling in a very friendly way. The view over rolling Derbyshire hills is spectacular. We didn't see the other rooms but the suite is just fantastic. A huge, light lounge with high ceiling, wooden beams, woodburning stove and TV, DVD etc, 2 comfortable sofas and large original artwork by local artists. There are 2 bedrooms, a wet room and well equipped kitchen. And there were lovely careful touches like the box of local Thornton's chocolates. The owners, Darryl and Keith couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and really made us comfortable and welcome. They provided us with information on where to go to eat, drink or visit and even booked the best and very reasonable local pub for our evening meal. Breakfasts were to die for. Darryl brought it to the suite with a little candle on David's birthday, aah, and we were served fresh fruit (raspberries picked from the hedge that morning!) yoghurt, cereal, cooked breakfast including Keith's perfect scrambled and poached eggs and smoked salmon, lovely coffee - I haven't had a better breakfast in a 5* hotel.
Penrose is conveniently sited for walking in the Matlock area and visiting lots of interesting places though it is about 40 mins from Alton Towers. Not that we minded as the drive is so pretty. We hadn't realised there was so much to do in Derbyshire and will come back for a week next time. We will certainly stay here and plan our visit around its availability. And if you are coming to the area, all I can say is - stay at Penrose if you can! Thank you, Darryl and Keith, for a perfect and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crich
3.6 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.0 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bridge Hill House
Bridge Hill House
#1 of 10 in Belper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.7 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#1 of 3 in Alfreton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avista B&B at Penrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avista B&B at Penrose

Property: Avista B&B at Penrose
Address: Penrose Sandy Lane | Sandy lane, Crich DE4 5DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Crich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B&B sits in acres of gardens and hundreds of acres of open fields which overlook the softly wooded Derwent Valley. We provide a range of rooms, private suites, and self catering cottages to suit every requirement. The accommodation is well placed for visiting all the attractions of the Peak District and the many museums and houses of the Derwent Valley. It is also situated only 30-50minutes from the major cities of Derby, Nottingham and Sheffield making it an ideal retreat for business related accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avista B&B At Penrose Crich, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing