We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tasty.....”
Review of Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Unicorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Deddington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Being a local I know that The Unicorn Inn has had its fair share of temporary managers/staff over the last few years but at last the permanent Landlord/Lady and bar staff are in place at what a difference. My family and I ate there yesterday, we had the fish and chips, red thai curry, nachos and beef etc and it was stunning. The food was absolutely delicious, the presentation amazing and the Chef was charming - as are the bar staff.

My husband and I are regular bar-flies here but will definitely, definitely be working our way through the well thought out menu over the next few months.

Well done!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Unicorn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

At the last minute I decided to stay in Deddington to catch up with a friend whilst enroute for Yorkshire. What a find, great value, and this is a a real village pub, not a bland gastro chain pub. The room was large and even had two double beds (RM 1) and the staff and locals could not have been better. On a cold Wednesday night in Oxfordshire this place really was the ticket. Marti and Lucy were just the best host and hostess you could have wished for and the atmosphere was fantastic. Both my friend and I had a brilliant time and will be back for sure. With new owners in place, and a new and intersting menu on the cards I'm sure this place will soon pick up the pace and get back on track. As for the sound of the church bells, come on people, it's quaint, it's the English countryside and it's what these beautiful old villages are all about. As someone who travels all over the world for business it was a breath of fresh air to be in a proper village pub with some real characters. I wish all the best of success and thanks for showing us such a good time. Regards Sue.

Room Tip: RM 1 - large and two double beds.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have considered staying here before however not for £80 a night so when a 2-night B&B ‘deal’ came up I booked it straightaway. The deal specified breakfast included however we found out the first morning that this consisted of juice, cereal and toast. On the second morning my husband asked if a cooked breakfast was available and following a sharp intake of breath was informed there was an extra charge (apparently this is specified on web site but I specifically looked and couldnt find it) however he was offered a bacon and egg sandwich. As a non-meat eater I declined. Apart from this the room was so cold we had to borrow a duvet from my daughter (luckily she lived near enough). We were in a ‘superior’ double – hate to think what a standard double was like. The shower was just a mixer tap over the bath. On Saturday morning we were woken up at just gone 6 a.m. by the farmers market being set up. In their defence Marty the chef seemed pleasant enough and he did say ‘they’ had just taken over the business and had improvements planned. He was trying to run everything himself and had been let down by staff not turning up so as well as being host he was also the cleaner. He did take my comments on board and did agree with them. Before staying again I would ‘drop in’ whilst passing to see if improvements had been made.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if there is a farmers market planned
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandG8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Unicorn overnight. The bar area is lovely, the rooms clean and comfortable (but a bit on the small side). The breakfast was basic (toast, jam and cereals). I wouldn't make a habit of staying here but perfect as somewhere to crash (we were going to a party being held in the village). Apparently a new managers is starting there w/c 25/02 so things may improve , so keep an open mind

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I wasn't able to refer to Tripadvisor before this, my first visit for lunch. The barman was polite and welcoming but the food disappointing. My companion was supposed to have a baguette with cheese and onion marmalade; no marmalade, no acceptable alternative so, he settled for plain cheese - which came in a pannini. My soup was essentially tarted-up chopped tomatoes in juice served with a baguette (!) and spread, no offer of butter. The first choice of beer was unavailable as the barrel needed changing but the second was OK. According to staff the premises will be changing hands (again?) so let's hope a fresh pair of eyes will see the deficiencies. There's plenty of choice in Deddington; I'd need some persuading not to go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forgergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Still no full time landlord , current male rather rude, empty bar and radio one blaring in the background. I have eaten here when other staff are serving and the atmosphere and service were much better, you begin to wonder what the brewery is thinking if when they put relief managers in who seem to want the other staff to do all the work. The next time I am in the area I will go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCamper36953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

After reading some reviews on this site I was a bit insecure. But after our stay we have to quash them. Under new management and a new chef who clearly knows how to cook fine food. Ok menu usually pub food but specials were fantastic a seafood rissotto which would more than match any foody place in the uk and a breakfast which was fantastic. As ffor the room nice cosy andfull off caracter not a built up holiday inn same room every time place but just like a cottage feel. And as they both charge the same this wins hand down. Free parking shop close by so ideal stay thank u and your staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo123f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
0.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
528 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Middle Aston House
Middle Aston House
#34 of 44 in Oxford
105 reviews
5.2 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicorn Inn

Address: The Unicorn Market Place, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Deddington
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicorn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly refurbished Unicorn Inn in Deddington. The Unicorn is a stunning 17th century country inn oozing with character that has an incredibly diverse offering. Not only does the Unicorn have a charming bar area and snug both complete with open fire places, it also has a contemporary restaurant, large garden, function room, relaxing coffee area and six mythical bedrooms. Johnny Parke (head chef and co proprietor) has assembled an exciting menu combining the best of traditional English and European cuisine with modern cooking techniques. All the food is locally sourced where possible and everything prepared onsite. Chris Brewster (manager and co proprietor) prides himself on his well-kept cellar. Providing great quality traditional ales and bespoke international lagers. The wine list has been assembled to cater for those who like the odd glass in the evening and for those foodies who like to match wine with their favorite dish. The Unicorn aspires to bounce back at the heart of the local community and be a warm and welcoming public house catering for families, couples and corporate trade alike. Chris, Johnny and the team look forward to welcoming you here at the Unicorn soon. Within easy distance of historic England's Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick as well as the Cotswolds, Bicester Village and Silverstone. Advanced bookings are recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Deddington
Unicorn Inn Deddington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing