We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, breakfast erratic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great deal through Travelzoo, staff friendly and helpful, Room 21 small and very warm(noisy air-con). Breakfast Saturday took 40 minutes to arrive, apology given, Sunday due to staff holidays tea and coffee stored in flasks - was given a pot when complained, less choice of juice, fruit etc., scrambled eggs with smoked salmon served as a lump of cold fish next to a small spoonful of eggs - thought this was cooked together? Dinner was good but limited choices on the "Market Menu" more variety on main menu, generous portions, well presented.

Room Tip: Go for a premier room as standard quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane-journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Six of us had a champagne afternoon tea here. The food was good, but not great. The variety of cakes was disappointing and the sandwiches were nothing special. The waiter who served us was efficient without being particularly friendly. We liked the decor of the restaurant and the champagne was delicious. We enjoyed it but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at Deddington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback - our Champagne Afternoon Teas are very popular. A choice of tea or coffee, three rounds of sandwiches (smoked salmon, egg mayo, and ham), two scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, two brownies and two slices of fruit cake plus a glass of good quality champagne each. Normally £22pp - but only £12 with your Amazon vouchers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in the heart of a beautiful Oxfordshire village. The food at breakfast and at dinner was excellent and the menu changed each night. We were impressed ! The location is great for lots of local attractions. We went to Bicester shopping village and Blenheim Palace which were a short drive away. The staff were friendly and efficient and when we had a problem with our room , it was promptly changed the next day without any hassle. Both rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. In Room 27 there is a sloping ceiling in the bathroom which meant it was hard to stand under the shower and there was a loud dripping sound, however we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 27. Suite 18 was excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feather57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

just recently come back from staying at the Deddington Arms, this is the second time I have stayed here & would not hesitate to recommend it. Its a good base for a few days in Oxford, about 20 minutes away from the park & ride, also close to Blenheim Place & all the lovely market towns & villages in the Cotswold's.We had a deal that included bed, breakfast & evening meal, also a free ticket to various attractions (we choose Blenheim Palace) The food is good, definitely better than just normal pub grub, also has some nice wines. The re good, comfy beds, clean & large fluffy towels. have stayed in the new bit & the Inn, the rooms in the inn are quirky & quiet nice, Staff are very friendly & helpful

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spainshdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here courtesy of a Travel Zoo offer. Two nights bed, breakfast and 3 course evening meal on both evenings. Room was very clean with a lovely en-suite. It had tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board and hair dryer with flat screen tv; what more could you want. It was at the back of the main building in a courtyard which was quiet, apart from the nearby church which chimed on the hour, every hour, so if this could be a problem bring some ear plugs. There is plenty of parking available at no extra charge. The four of us had a variety of meals which were all cooked well and came as ordered without too much of a delay even though the restaurant was full. The deal included a choice of different dishes from their market menu but you could choose from the a la carte menu if you fancied something different. If this put you over the allotted value for the basic menu then they charged you the difference. This we did but the extra charge was minimal. The staff all seemed to be of eastern european origin from the receptionists to the bar and restaurant staff and they were all excellent and very attentive. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The wine menu was good but maybe a little expensive - a bottle of Fleurie was £30 and Chianti Classico £26 but this did not distract from a very good experience. The cost also included free entry to a local attraction - we did Blenheim Palace and the Heritage Motor Museum. All in all a very good weekend at a very reasonable price for good accommodation and good food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard at the back of the property are away from the main building and therefore are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Two nights dinner, bed and breakfast for two plus entry to Blenheim Palace (Worth £21.50 each) for less than £200! Nice room, good food, great Beer! Not far from Bicester Shopping Village for those inclined.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jipper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Only dropped in here for a snack whilst touring the area.
Found staff friendly, with excellent snacks.
My 'fish-finger' sandwich was top notch.
Pity we did not have more time as a very pleasant small town,
with good castle site nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Owain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#30 of 44 in Oxford
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range: £81 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing