We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deddington Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
US$129
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Aston House(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
268
211
56
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
211
56
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblenheim palacetravelzoo dealmarket menubletchley parkmain buildingpremium roomevening mealboth nightsshort breaklovely villagelog fireunderfloor heatingoxfordshire villagelocal attractionsfree ticketstrouser presslovely food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Apologies am a little late filing this review ! My wife and I stayed on a Travelzoo break at the end of April for two nights. Paid extra for a superior room which was what we wanted but was all they had for the dates. The evening meals were excellent on both days, far better than we had expected. Breakfast was very good too.

The bedroom (in an annexe) was reasonably well appointed but there was an entrance hall, a rather useless sitting area and the bathroom downstairs with the bedroom upstairs which meant going downstairs to the loo during the night. Not a good arrangement. There was no mirror in the bedroom.

The Travelzoo deal included admission tickets to one of various nearby attractions. We chose Blenheim Palace as we'd been wanting to go for many years. We converted the day tickets into annual ones for no charge and now have to find time to go again !

A good conversion from village pub to medium sized hotel, excellent food but didn't like the bedroom/bathroom arrangement.

Room Tip: If you don't want the downstairs bathroom arrangement that we ended up with suggest you check on booking
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A truly fantastic stay. Food was amazing, staff were very polite and the hotel was excellent.
Already looking to go back again.
The food in the restaurant was honestly the best I have ever tasted. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.
The room had everything we needed, except air con but it's a 16th century inn and the room had windows. However the weather this week had been particularly hot!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dnhwishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights dinner, b&b and we took the option of bus tour around Oxford. Really couldn't fault the place. Staff were good and friendly. Breakfast on one day was a little slow but couldn't fault the food and waitress apologised for the delay. Seems to be well used by the locals in the village which is always a good sign, nice real ales and had a good craic in the bar watching football and rugby this weekend. Overall a good base to explore the surrounding area. Wouldn't hesitate to stop there again

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 at the rear of the hotel which was quiet and we got a good nights sleep. No ac though so it was hot in June
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaranTrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for two nights on a fantastic deal through Travel Zoo. We had a premium room at the front which was excellent. The evening meals were well prepared and well cooked, no complaints there, complemented by some excellent wine, at a reasonable price. However breakfast was not up to standard, the chef seemed incapable of doing poached eggs that came from the kitchen virtually hard boiled. I agree with Jane S regarding the restricted choice, and the lack of some sort of outdoor seating area, away from the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights with friends as part of aTravel Zoo offer. I'd phoned and booked a few weeks before and asked for a confirmation e mail. After 10 days and no e mail I phoned and was assured they had our booking and they would send an e mail. We went to France for 2 weeks and on our return, when there was still no confirmation, I phoned yet again. I was promised an e mail would be sent that day. It was! For the wrong dates! We were booked for friday10th June till sunday11th June. The 10th June wasn't a Friday and which date was the Saturday meant to be!? After what must have been about the 4th call the correct e mail was sent.
We duly arrived on Monday 10 th June and of course the receptionist couldn't find our booking. She disappeared and came back saying they had us booked in for 28th August! Eventually things were sorted and we were allocated our rooms which were next to each other at the back of the hotel. Reception is a less than inspiring area just opposite a very ugly ,large and noisy air conditioning unit.
We were very fortunate in that it was a beautiful day so after a 3hour drive we went in search of a garden or somewhere outside where we could sit and relax-comfortably. How sad that the whole of the outside has been given over to car parking. The only outside seats were 3 picnic tables in the road at the front of the hotel.
Dinner that night was quite pleasant and a very nice and efficient waitress explained that we could choose from either the market menu or the a la carte and pay the difference. My husband and I asked for some bread to go with our starter and were given rolls which had been microwaved as they were absolutely red hot and went rock hard before we had finished them. We didn't complain as the goujons of plaice were actually very nice.The wines were reasonable prices and the men enjoyed their beers. Breakfast was ok but there wasn't a lot of choice apart from the cooked items. The juices were pretty tasteless and there was only brown or white bread / or toast.
Dinner the second evening was also ok but none of us thought that any of the food was up to rosette standard.
The second breakfast was poor, hard bacon which had been left on the hot plate a tasteless sausage and not well presented. One of our party had the haddock and poached eggs which didn't look very appetising and the eggs were over cooked.
As the whole deal was good value especially with a choice of days out included we still had a good time, but I'm afraid that we won't be returning and wouldn't recommend either. We love this area and there are many more far better hotels to choose from.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at Deddington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay this week. During the booking process in March we had 2 bookings of 2 rooms under the name of Sutcliffe - both different groups booked on the same dates. We could not find your booking because the wrong Sutcliffe group had been moved to another date in August. We are sorry this caused confusion on arrival after a long drive to the hotel. I am pleased to hear that the restaurant staff looked after your needs - I have passed on your comments to the head chef regarding aspects of your meal and the experience you had during breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews