We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mid week break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our group of three couples booked a Thursday, Friday night deal half board and could find no fault.
The staff were friendly, courteous and on the ball. The room was big, clean and well furnished with a view of the market square.
All of our meals were excellent, in a nice air conditioned restaurant and the menu changed each evening.
The village is a gem, with very friendly local people.
All in all a great find.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    182
    45
    23
    4
See reviews for
49
284
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel over the weekend & found it great. The room we had was large with a new bathroom as far as I could tell. Towels changed each day & wonderfully fluffy. Usual tea & coffee & the reception girl said we could have more if we wanted them.
Only downside was the extractor fan for the kitchens was whirring away until quite late at night. I recommend the hotel get a new silent version.
We also had breakfast & evening meals. Both were of superb quality.
On the whole only the extractor fan stopped them getting 5 stars - however we would still book to come back again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here, (8 of us) on a 4 night special with free attraction tickets included. We found the hotel clean and welcoming. As it was bed breakfast and evening meal included, for the price we did have concerns about the quality and quantity of the food supplied. We were all pleasantly surprised, the food was well presented, tasteful and a good selection, all of our parties tastes were catered for, with good humor from staff who were very accommodating to our needs.
The one problem albeit a small one was that at times because of the popularity of the hotel they did seem stretched at times when it became busy. This did not spoil our stay as it was a leisurely stay and we were in no mood to be rushed. All in all a wonderful place and I am sure that a return visit is certainly on the cards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here recently for 4 nights on a deal which included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. We upgraded to a superior room as we were there for a longer stay and the room, which was in the main part of the inn, was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also a good size with some basic toiletries provided. There was a kettle, hairdryer and trouser press and a good size flat screen television. The only negative point to be aware of is the road noise and the church clock chiming every hour but the road was fairly quiet between midnight and 6am. The rooms in the main block are reached up a steep flight of stairs so would not be suitable for someone with limited mobility but the receptionist did mention this when I booked. I presume the rooms at the back of the hotel around the courtyards are much quieter.

The staff were very friendly and polite and we were never kept waiting to be served. The bar has a small sitting area with comfortable sofas and a more 'pub' area with big screen for the football etc. There is no garden but there are a few tables outside on the pavement. Free Wi-fi was available and worked pretty well.

Breakfasts were very good though we were amused about the varying amounts we were given each morning. Would we have one rasher of bacon or two? was it half a piece of black pudding or a whole piece? Half a plateful of scrambled egg or a spoonful? All very nice whatever we did have! The only thing was having to make your own toast so it was a timing game waiting for our breakfast to arrive and then running up to put the toast on to go with the eggs. I understand though it must save a lot of waste and the waiter's time.

Dinner was enjoyable, either a three course meal off a set menu or a dinner allowance towards the a la carte menu. Or you could mix and match the menus though that got a little complicated when working out the cost! The only small criticism would be that as we were there 4 nights there was very little change in the table d hote menu, particularly the main course. Saying that the food was really hot and tasty and the veg was delicious.

This place is an excellent centre for touring the Cotswolds and we were able to visit many places without having to drive for hours. An added bonus were the free tickets to Blenheim Palace included in our deal (or several other options if you preferred). We had a very enjoyable day there. I would also recommend Upton House with its amazing garden and Broughton Castle, all near the Hotel.

One other place to visit in Deddington itself if you like antiques and collectables is the Antiques Centre, two minutes from the Hotel. It is one of the most unusual shops I have ever been in, be careful walking around the rooms is my advice! I will say no more, just go and visit!

Overall this is a very good Hotel, particularly the staff and the cleanliness and very good value for money on a deal. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms may be noisier, rooms at the back by the car park would be quieter but smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A very enjoyable two night stay. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner on both days which we found to be of a high standard. Excellent evening menu, good choice and tremendous value for money.
The bar had a very welcoming atmosphere being a mixture of locals and residents being served by friendly staff.
Well done to all at the Deddington. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our second visit to The Deddington Arms in Oxfordshire. It was so good last time, I re-booked as soon as we got home. The staff are all so well trained,nothing is too much trouble & their smiles are genuine! The rooms are modern & cosy,& the bed is so comfortable. The restaurant serves beautiful food for breakfast & dinner. This place is very well run & it's a pleasure to stay there. It's tucked away in the stunning Oxfordshire village of Deddington, a friendly, beautiful English gem. We would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but in the summer nights,the ground floor rooms will be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Could not find any fault with our stay at the Deddington Arms. Fantastic value we stayed three nights, everything perfect. Would recommend for a short break, room 19 lovely and quiet, food delicious, staff friendly and welcoming.Try the local walk, beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Choose room away from main buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
24.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Property: Deddington Arms Hotel
Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing