We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was OK. Sandwiches nice, scones and cream fine, shame no homemade jam, cake adequate. In a poky dark corner when the Resturaunt was empty. No choice of tea was offered and with loud 'background' music.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StitchyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    191
    49
    23
    4
See reviews for
57
295
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a 2 night stay at this lovely little hotel. When we arrived we found our room to be above a very noisy outside extractor fan. It wasn't too bad when the windows were closed but when open it was intolerable. We went to reception and have to say Sandra could not have been more helpful. She had no problem changing our room for that night but did not have a room available for 2 nights. Eventually after some jiggery pokery she was able to move things around and found us a lovely room for the 2 nights. We had dinner both nights and the food was excellent. Portions were extremely generous. Great hotel No complaints. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: not all rooms had a strong wi fi signal. And don't have a room close to the noisy extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We called in for dinner here the other evening because they were advertizing "Moules and Frites" for £10. We found the atmosphere in the dining room sadly bland and , dare I say it, a bit "package-deal pub-ish (that is, very decent, unoffensive, a bit "colourless" and...BO-ring).

Food? OK....(my husband enjoyed his moules. My salmon, unobjectionable, was totally forgettable--Although the various puddings dished up for the party of 6 at the next table DID look rather extravagant!) However, £20 for a bottle of nice Prosecco was quite a decent price.

The staff, though, were very efficient and nice (when asked if we needed any sauces, etc.--I had the salmon--and my husband cheekily asked for mayonnaise for the frites --as they serve in Belgium--, and the waiter came back apologetically claiming that they "had run out of mayonnaise; another waiter (perhaps the dining room manager??) , however, having overheard this, shortly appearred with-- a small dish of mayonnaise!

Would I return to the Deddington Arms for a drink at one of the tables outside along the road? Yes, certainly. For another meal?? Probably not (sigh.!)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at Deddington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Barbara - as a Deddingtonian of many years you have seen the Deddington Arms grow from a village pub when my wife Sue ran it to a 27 bedroompub/hotel/restaurant. I'm delighted the Moules were enjoyed - I don't think we would have received an AA Rosette or a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence if our staff were not working very hard to please. You don't have to resort to Tripadvisor reviews to voice your critisisms - talk to us - we have known each other for 23 years plus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our group of three couples booked a Thursday, Friday night deal half board and could find no fault.
The staff were friendly, courteous and on the ball. The room was big, clean and well furnished with a view of the market square.
All of our meals were excellent, in a nice air conditioned restaurant and the menu changed each evening.
The village is a gem, with very friendly local people.
All in all a great find.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely hotel over the weekend & found it great. The room we had was large with a new bathroom as far as I could tell. Towels changed each day & wonderfully fluffy. Usual tea & coffee & the reception girl said we could have more if we wanted them.
Only downside was the extractor fan for the kitchens was whirring away until quite late at night. I recommend the hotel get a new silent version.
We also had breakfast & evening meals. Both were of superb quality.
On the whole only the extractor fan stopped them getting 5 stars - however we would still book to come back again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here, (8 of us) on a 4 night special with free attraction tickets included. We found the hotel clean and welcoming. As it was bed breakfast and evening meal included, for the price we did have concerns about the quality and quantity of the food supplied. We were all pleasantly surprised, the food was well presented, tasteful and a good selection, all of our parties tastes were catered for, with good humor from staff who were very accommodating to our needs.
The one problem albeit a small one was that at times because of the popularity of the hotel they did seem stretched at times when it became busy. This did not spoil our stay as it was a leisurely stay and we were in no mood to be rushed. All in all a wonderful place and I am sure that a return visit is certainly on the cards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here recently for 4 nights on a deal which included Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. We upgraded to a superior room as we were there for a longer stay and the room, which was in the main part of the inn, was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also a good size with some basic toiletries provided. There was a kettle, hairdryer and trouser press and a good size flat screen television. The only negative point to be aware of is the road noise and the church clock chiming every hour but the road was fairly quiet between midnight and 6am. The rooms in the main block are reached up a steep flight of stairs so would not be suitable for someone with limited mobility but the receptionist did mention this when I booked. I presume the rooms at the back of the hotel around the courtyards are much quieter.

The staff were very friendly and polite and we were never kept waiting to be served. The bar has a small sitting area with comfortable sofas and a more 'pub' area with big screen for the football etc. There is no garden but there are a few tables outside on the pavement. Free Wi-fi was available and worked pretty well.

Breakfasts were very good though we were amused about the varying amounts we were given each morning. Would we have one rasher of bacon or two? was it half a piece of black pudding or a whole piece? Half a plateful of scrambled egg or a spoonful? All very nice whatever we did have! The only thing was having to make your own toast so it was a timing game waiting for our breakfast to arrive and then running up to put the toast on to go with the eggs. I understand though it must save a lot of waste and the waiter's time.

Dinner was enjoyable, either a three course meal off a set menu or a dinner allowance towards the a la carte menu. Or you could mix and match the menus though that got a little complicated when working out the cost! The only small criticism would be that as we were there 4 nights there was very little change in the table d hote menu, particularly the main course. Saying that the food was really hot and tasty and the veg was delicious.

This place is an excellent centre for touring the Cotswolds and we were able to visit many places without having to drive for hours. An added bonus were the free tickets to Blenheim Palace included in our deal (or several other options if you preferred). We had a very enjoyable day there. I would also recommend Upton House with its amazing garden and Broughton Castle, all near the Hotel.

One other place to visit in Deddington itself if you like antiques and collectables is the Antiques Centre, two minutes from the Hotel. It is one of the most unusual shops I have ever been in, be careful walking around the rooms is my advice! I will say no more, just go and visit!

Overall this is a very good Hotel, particularly the staff and the cleanliness and very good value for money on a deal. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Superior rooms may be noisier, rooms at the back by the car park would be quieter but smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
24.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
427 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Property: Deddington Arms Hotel
Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing