We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family get together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just had a wonderful two night stay with my wife, step children and their partners, our room was beautiful, clean, comfortable, and well lit.The staff are very friendly polite and professional.
The evening meals were excellent with good choices and the waiting staff very good. The breakfast was also very good plenty of options and of course the happy friendly staff.
The bar is very good also, good choice of wine and beer well served by helpful Paul

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    185
    46
    23
    4
See reviews for
51
289
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Bucks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We met friends here for a catch up on news along with an evening meal. We are frequent visitors to this small group of hotels however we found this meal to be totally lacking in flavour. My soup had all the right ingredients but .......can't quite put my finger on it, it just wasn't 'right'. Three of the four of us had the mushroom risotto which was so bland, it prompted one of our party to comment to the waiting staff. It was passed to the kitchen and an alternative offered but we declined, possibly a mistake on our part. This was a very busy night for the restaurant and we found the noise level in the dining room to be almost unbearable, so much for hearing all the news! On the plus side, the wine was very good!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Haveyougotthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel with another couple and a deal through Travelzoo, at a very reasonable price for two nights bed, breakfast, evening meal and tickets to Blenheim Palace. Meals were excellent, choice of breakfasts including full English. The evening meal menu provided was the same each night but with plenty of choices. I had the salmon both nights as it was so good and the chicken was decided on for my companions after it was deemed delicious on the first night. We had problems with both rooms, number 7 leaked throughout the rainy night, which the room maid was well aware of as our companions didn't even have to mention their room number on complaining. Bad lighting for hair and make up. Room 1 was noisy throughout night one, creaky stairs, banging fire door and shouting until 3am, a wedding party we were told. To be fair we were offered new rooms but decided to stay put because of the charm of our existing rooms and the angst of moving for one night. Drinks in the bar expensive. Staff very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We recently had lunch in the Deddington Arms. They have a really reasonably priced 2-course lunch which was really nice. Staff were all very friendly but it was quite quiet on the weekday we went. They also have a really rustic bar area as well as the bistro style restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was OK. Sandwiches nice, scones and cream fine, shame no homemade jam, cake adequate. In a poky dark corner when the Resturaunt was empty. No choice of tea was offered and with loud 'background' music.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StitchyGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a 2 night stay at this lovely little hotel. When we arrived we found our room to be above a very noisy outside extractor fan. It wasn't too bad when the windows were closed but when open it was intolerable. We went to reception and have to say Sandra could not have been more helpful. She had no problem changing our room for that night but did not have a room available for 2 nights. Eventually after some jiggery pokery she was able to move things around and found us a lovely room for the 2 nights. We had dinner both nights and the food was excellent. Portions were extremely generous. Great hotel No complaints. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: not all rooms had a strong wi fi signal. And don't have a room close to the noisy extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We called in for dinner here the other evening because they were advertizing "Moules and Frites" for £10. We found the atmosphere in the dining room sadly bland and , dare I say it, a bit "package-deal pub-ish (that is, very decent, unoffensive, a bit "colourless" and...BO-ring).

Food? OK....(my husband enjoyed his moules. My salmon, unobjectionable, was totally forgettable--Although the various puddings dished up for the party of 6 at the next table DID look rather extravagant!) However, £20 for a bottle of nice Prosecco was quite a decent price.

The staff, though, were very efficient and nice (when asked if we needed any sauces, etc.--I had the salmon--and my husband cheekily asked for mayonnaise for the frites --as they serve in Belgium--, and the waiter came back apologetically claiming that they "had run out of mayonnaise; another waiter (perhaps the dining room manager??) , however, having overheard this, shortly appearred with-- a small dish of mayonnaise!

Would I return to the Deddington Arms for a drink at one of the tables outside along the road? Yes, certainly. For another meal?? Probably not (sigh.!)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Owner at Deddington Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Barbara - as a Deddingtonian of many years you have seen the Deddington Arms grow from a village pub when my wife Sue ran it to a 27 bedroompub/hotel/restaurant. I'm delighted the Moules were enjoyed - I don't think we would have received an AA Rosette or a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence if our staff were not working very hard to please. You don't have to resort to Tripadvisor reviews to voice your critisisms - talk to us - we have known each other for 23 years plus!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
24.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Property: Deddington Arms Hotel
Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury
Deddington Arms Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing